We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning modern take on timeless grand hotel elegance”
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #37 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stunning modern take on timeless grand hotel elegance”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here for the first time for two nights as we had a party at The Dorchester but couldn’t get a room there… we were not disappointed. I have never stayed in such a beautiful, elegant hotel.

We arrived by cab and were immediately made to feel welcome by the charming ‘cockney’ door men... real London characters they are! We had a standard room but were given a lovely partial river view room (328) with a superb view of Waterloo Bridge, Southbank and the Thames. Our room was in the Edwardian part (there are two styles of rooms – Edwardian and Art Deco). The room has lovely quaint touches, like photo frames by the bed with some of the famous people who have stayed at the hotel.

We loved the stunning black and gold Beaufort Bar and every time we visited, the bar staff knew our names and drinks order…fabulous! The hotel, renovated at a cost of over £100m reopened in 2010 and has a very high quality, elegant design that feels both timeless but brand new throughout.

We thoroughly enjoyed the jazz singer in the Beaufort Bar who rounded off our Saturday night beautifully.

We even treated ourselves to a ride in the Savoy Rolls (the one perma-parked outside – the one with the reg S8 VOY on it) to take us to the party at The Dorchester… everyone looked and we felt like film stars – just fab and worth the £185 cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmsnowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed The Savoy experience, and indeed what better way to top that off than a trip in The Savoy Rolls Royce! I look forward to sharing your review with the team and hopefully welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,609
    621
    240
    108
    88
See reviews for
983
2,227
170
517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my sister for a joint birthday celebration. This is an amazing hotel, the staff were extremely attentive, friendly and made you feel so welcome. Dinner and breakfast were amazing; the American Bar serves a vast array of cocktails and has a lovely atmosphere. A truly wonderful experience which I'd definitely recommend. Did not want to leave and cannot wait to go back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

I was pleased to read that you chose The Savoy to celebrate such a special occasion.
Thank you for your kind words with regards to our dining outlets and American Bar, this is feedback which I will be delighted to share with the team. It’s always a good sign when a guest does not want to leave, and I do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has it all, great location, friendly staff, great bar and facilities. Of course, you are paying through the nose so there should be expectations. I particularly like the classic bathrooms, properly fitted and updated, lots of space.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bas666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I was very fortunate to arrange and attend a long service lunch ceremony hosted by the Savoy on 15th Nov 13.

21 colleagues and I (including board members) enjoyed a 3 course private dining experience with drinks.

On arrival we had pre lunch drinks in the American bar, which were lovely. The service was good especially as the bar was quite busy and we were a large party.

We made our way over to the Gondolier's room at 13:30 to begin lunch. The room was very nicely arranged and definitely got the wow factored I was specifically looking for.

Our starters arrived promptly and as promised (I had sent over a pre order to make things easier.)

The mains and desserts were served 15 minutes after the

Everybodies plates arrived hot and as ordered. The food was incredible, full of flavour, beautifully presented.

The only thing that let the day down slightly was the dedicated servers went missing twice, and on both occasions I had to enquire with another member of staff when they would be back.

All in all a very enjoyable and indulgent lunch!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jeyda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

I was thrilled to hear that you had the opportunity to experience private dining at The Savoy. It’s wonderful to hear that you all enjoyed some pre-lunch drinks at the American Bar, and I thank you for taking the time to mention the level of service experienced here. It was also heartening to read your comments with regards to the food. The kitchen team, led by Executive Chef, James Pare, work extremely hard to deliver word class cuisine and they will be pleased to hear efforts were appreciated. Thank you for your comment with regards to the service issue experienced during your lunch. Please rest assured we have taken your feedback on board, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I spent my first week in London there and I ubsolutely loved it..Its decorations fits me and I felt really cozy..Extremely clean and well situated..Excellent room service and friendly people..I didn't adore the food but it is still a lovely hotel for me...

Room Tip: top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggeliki g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at our iconic hotel. Whilst I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, it is a shame to hear the food was not to your taste.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed at the Savoy last week as a treat to myself as I live in London but have always wanted to stay here. I can definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to experience superb service in a beautiful hotel. Check in was done in my room - after receiving a free upgrade to the King Deluxe category which was a nice surprise. I was impressed by the bathroom amenities, they even include a travel sized bottle of mouthwash and bath salts which I took advantage of. The bathroom was amazing I have to say (I do like a nice bathroom in a hotel!) with a nice big bath and separate shower. I liked that on the turndown service they left a bottle of water and also refilled the amenities. Checkout was flawless. The bill was left under my door and I just called reception to confirm the details and left.

I didn't use any of the restaurants but did meet a friend for a drink in the American Bar which was a lovely experience. Great cocktails and a complimentary large bowl of mixed nuts was a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

It felt a bit intimidating at first when we pulled up outside the doors,but the door men were very down to earth and put us at ease.
The staff inside made you feel very special and so caring.the hotel is beautiful ,our room was luxurious . The bedding was perfect,the bathroom was fantastic.
Lovely pool area. Would love to stay again.
We only had one problem when our daughter burnt her hand on the breakfast plate.
However this was soon corrected and the staff were very attentive. They even gave her a cuddly toy cat from the savoy shop to make her feel better. The whole experience was fantastic .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read that our team made you feel welcome upon arrival, after all The Savoy should be like a home from home to all our guests. I was also pleased to hear that the team were able to create some wonderful memories for your family, despite the unfortunate incident during breakfast.

I look forward to sharing your kind words with the team and hopefully welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,069 in London
2,522 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#41 of 1,069 in London
2,141 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#33 of 1,069 in London
3,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,069 in London
797 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#15 of 1,069 in London
1,708 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Property: The Savoy
Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London
The Savoy London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing