We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star”
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #38 of 1,071 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

In case you arrive, wondering how The Savoy will distinguish itself from other hotels that question is answered in the first 5 minutes - the way you are checked in. There is no check-in counter at The Savoy; you are met as you enter the hotel by one of the hosts who greets you, seamlessly establishing your name, whilst carrying out the usual welcoming chat. He in turn is handed your check-in details by another host (who presumably has been listening to the conversation via radio or similar) who walks past handing over the information like an information exchange on a spy movie. This all happens without you realising that the process is underway. You then are invited to sit at a small table to complete the final formalities before you are escorted to your room.

Room Tip: Tip - ask for a room with a river view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,723)
There are newer reviews for The Savoy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,015 - 3,021 of 4,723 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed at the fabulous hotel for two nights in a one bedroom suite, it was fantastic loved every minute staff very friendly and polite there is not one single thing that has not been thought of to make this the best hotel ever
Breakfast was spot on everything food wise you could want, had dinner at the Gordon Ramsey restaurant , it was excellent
My husband treated me to the stay for my 62nd birthday I have already told him to start saving for next year
If I win the lottery I am booking in forever
Thanks to all at the Savoy

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SherryKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely feedback. I’m delighted that you were able to enjoy a celebratory stay at The Savoy, and look forward to sharing your kind words with the team. There cannot be better praise than planning a follow-up stay, and I look forward to welcoming you back next year.

In the meantime, do give us a call if you happen to win the lottery, as your butler will be on-hand to help you unpack.

Kindest regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We went to Savoy on 13th november to celebrate my Mums 80th birthday. There were 8 of us for afternoon tea. We were all made to feel so special and my mum especially enjoyed her day. The service was exceptional and the food was very gorgeous and plentiful. We all had a fantastic afternoon. Would highly recommend the afternoon tea

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We arrived here for our 25th wedding anniversary and I must say we were not disappointed. We drove up to the hotel itself which is just off the strand and were immediately met by a hotel doorman who whisked our vehicle away. The reception and professionalism of the staff were outstanding and what you would expect from such a lovely hotel. After booking in we were invited to a reception room/area where we could enjoy a coffee or champagne all gratis. I could go on about the interior decor and the rooms but suffice to say they were excellent. Just a couple of things, no coffee/tea making facilities in the room but that's not a huge issue or wasn't for us. The restaurant is fabulous and the food sublime. Be careful of the American Bar it can get quite expensive read the cocktail menu, just to be on the safe side.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

I’m delighted to read that you had such a memorable celebratory stay at The Savoy.
Thank you also for your kind words with regards to the team, which I look forward to sharing with them.

Kindest regards,

Managing Director
Kiaran MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were in London for 10 days and it was quite an experience at The Savoy. I can talk on and on about the hotel from its most outstanding interiors, to the amazing vegetarian food served at its seafood restaurant Kaspars overlooking the river Thames,the afternoon tea at The Thames Foyer, the rooms are quite spacious, it's pretty well connected with the city and above all it's extra delicious masala chai and chocolates which we get at The Savoy Tea. Staff is very nice and well mannered.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhilasha8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went here in August. I think everybody has already said everything I was going to say. I will say though, The service could be more with a smile. Otherwise, great experience. Would surely go back. I don't understand how it could have got "terrible" reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words following your Savoy experience. Whilst I’m happy to read that you enjoyed the stay and wouldn't hesitate to return, I am disappointed with your comment on the service. We usually receive such positive feedback on the quality of service here, so please be assured that your experience is not representative of our usual standards.

Kindest Regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We travelled to London as a couple for 9 days in October for the celebration of a 50th birthday. Were fortunate to have 3 nights at this hotel. Rooms were lovely, and the hotel is well situated for walks, as well as a nearby underground station for travels further afield. But frankly, why would you want to leave the hotel?? It's so gorgeous. The American bar was the highlight of our journey (we are aficionados of vintage cocktails), and we stayed there two of our three nights. The High Tea service was remarkable as well, and we enjoyed the Savoy Grill. The added surprise of birthday cake welcoming our arrival was a nice treat. We had a wonderful time, and would definitely stay there again! Many thanks again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redpoint511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,071 in London
2,545 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#42 of 1,071 in London
2,154 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#37 of 1,071 in London
3,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,071 in London
813 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#17 of 1,071 in London
1,751 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#21 of 1,071 in London
3,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
#72 Spa Hotel in London
#355 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $587 - $1,039 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London
The Savoy London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing