We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #44 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my wife and it's safe to say that she was more than pleased.
I think the wow factor began as we turned into the hotel as the frontage is unique. You are made to feel special from the word go and this feeling continues throughout your stay.
There is sometimes a problem with 5 star hotels that you can feel uncomfortable in the surroundings but the staff at the Savoy are among the most genuinely friendly that I have ever encountered.
The location of the hotel was perfect for me as I love Covent Garden and this is within easy walking distance.
The food at both Kaspar's and the Savoy Grill was very good and the entertainment at the bar on Thursday night was an added bonus.
The Savoy Theatre next door is also very handy and we loved "Let it Be"

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room and join the Fairmont Club before you book for free WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryW21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Gary,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to see you back again to The Savoy very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,391
    597
    237
    106
    86
See reviews for
913
2,117
160
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is pure luxury at every level... I booked this hotel as a surprise birthday present for my partner for his 50th birthday. The hotel had made a cake for him and 'The Gordon Ramsay Grill' had also baked him a cake... We finished the evening in 'The American bar with cocktails...' Had breakfast this morning over looking the Thames...The staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you... The room was fantastic, even the television had a welcome message on it.. All the little touches made it all the more special for me and my partner... Would definitely go back again.... Absolutely fantastic experience...

Room Tip: Any room would be fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Kay,

We are glad that you chose The Savoy to celebrate such an unforgettable occasion.
Thank you for your review and kind words, which we will share with the team.
We look forward to creating memories with you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My friend and I enjoyed afternoon tea at the Savoy yesterday and it was an experience we will never forget. The service was first class but always friendly, the food unbelievable - especially the scones - and the tea seemingly never ending! All of the staff we met were friendly and could not do enough for us.

The Thames Foyer is beautiful and has a lovely atmosphere with a low hum of chatter that is not overpowering. Tables are situated far enough apart so there is a feeling of spaciousness.

We loved every minute of our visit and it could not be bettered in any way. Worth every penny - altogether a perfect day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexDeb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

where do you begin, location is good for river and covent garden, not so good for belgravia and mayfair, which are the area you want to dine out in and shop if staying at this fabulous hotel, covent garden is more an area for a travel loge, but i digress its just undergone a 200 million referb and it shows every were is exquisite my room or though a little small was the best art deco room ive ever stayed in spotless Egyptian 5000 thread cotton bedding everything is charming about this hotel, with out doubt the best hotel in london , better than anything in park lane except location

Room Tip: they do a special; price discounted at week ends this is really good value and ask for a river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I am a big fan of The Savoy hotel as it holds very good memories for me - we have held many a family event there and often pop in for afternoon tea. Therefore, it made perfect sense for my now husband-to-be to select this hotel to propose.

We arrived on 29th March and spent 2 nights. We upgraded to room 504 as our original room was tiny and without a view. Room 504 was bigger and was Edwardian which was my preference. Our stay was delightful! We spent many an hour in the American Bar, enjoyed dinner at Savoy Grill - the food was delicious - and adored Beaufort Bar.

My only disappointment was despite my husband-to-be informing the hotel of his intention to propose - he now had the ring - the hotel failed to acknowledge this is any way. This was very surprising of a hotel of this standard. A small thing, but due to the significance of this life event, I just thought that they might have contributed to making our stay more special.

An iconic hotel, with excellent levels of service and hence, I would not hesitate to recommend The Savoy. Have fun!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the American Bar, Beaufort Bar, and Savoy Grill.
Please rest assured that we are reviewing your feedback, and are sorry to hear of your disappointment on what should have been a celebratory occasion for you and your partner.
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Savoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Went there for a conference recently. The hotel is very well located and the conference room was very grand. We were meant to have a drinks and canape reception but unfortunately the canapes were few and far in between.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to The Savoy.
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment following your conference. Please rest assured that we have shared your feedback with the relevant department so that any issues may be addressed accordingly. We hope that a future visit to The Savoy will meet all expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Arrived mid morning, and surprisingly, our room was ready. We were given a brief orientation guide by the receptionist, then checked in and walked to our room.

The room was superb, not a thing to complain about. Everything about the hotel oozes class, and our stay completely exceeded expectations.

Superb.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#38 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#20 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#76 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Property: The Savoy
Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#43 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, LateRooms, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London
The Savoy London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing