We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class hotel with world class staff.”
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #41 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“World class hotel with world class staff.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

From the moment you arrive the staff make you feel very special and valued. We were greeted by the charming and professional Frederick who was aware we had stayed before and that it was my wife's birthday. He personally showed us to our room and checked us in without fuss and our bags were delivered within minutes.
Lunch at the Savoy Grill was excellent and we noted how relaxed and accomadating the staff were to families with children which created a lovely relaxed but attentive atmosphere. We were welcome latter into the American bar by a very friendly hostess who organised our shopping bags to be whisked off to our room whilst we enjoyed fantastic coctails and a buzzy atmosphere. room was beautiful and bathroom stylish with fantastic shower. We loved the quality Loew plasma TV, and room service was super efficient and we were very touched by the very thoughtful birthday cake for my wife's Birthday.
The highlight was the breakfast which was one of the finest we have ever had in the most beautiful setting served in the Atrium, welcomed by the amazing Jesica who was warm friendly and a credit to the management. The service and food was exceptional and special mention to the lovely waitress Jade who had only started a few days before and was super attentive and friendly.
This is a world class hotel with world class staff, who are a credit to the management...keep up the great work and thank you all for a very special stay.We will be back very soon!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,509
    609
    239
    107
    87
See reviews for
946
2,187
167
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

From the moment of our arrival to walking out the door, the hotel staff were extremely attentive, everything was dealt very slick and the hotel itself lived up to al expectations.

As a run through, we arrived in the afternoon with valet parking, all luggage was taken from the car, we were guided into the hotel, given an overview of the facilities, if we needed everything, etc. Then taken up to our room, luggage was delivered, along with tea and we were already enjoying our stay, no stranding around to check in or struggling to find where to go. We ate that night at Simpson in the Strand which was excellent and finished with a few drinks at the Americas bar, which had a great atmosphere and the service was just just as good. Swimming in the morning, which was very nice, enjoyed the pool and the complimentary juice & fruit before heading to breakfast later at Kaspers, which was excellent to say the least and that was it, check out time, but again no hassle here as the bill was prepared in advanced, so no messing around at the end! Car was loaded and ready to go and that was it. Overall we loved it here and would stay again!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

It's not often that I have nothing bad to say about a hotel, I have thought long and hard of something bad to say, but to no avail. In the whole it's perfect.wish all hotels were like this. The food was excellent, the rooms perfect, the staff more than helpful. There is nothing more I can say, other than everyone should stay there at least once.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in the Maria Callas Suite room 418 to celebrate a birthday. Our stay was very special from being picked up from home by the Hotel chauffeur. in an S class Mercedes - we were absoutely cossetted. The service is second to none that the person who took our breakfast order on the second day remembered the extras we had - extra soya milk with an extra bowl. From the bell boy to the butler all greeted us with our surnames. There was also a very extensive room service menu but you could also order whatever you wanted and they would try to accommodate you. The food arrived hot and plentiful and served on Wedgewood china. The huge Savoie bed was so comfortable that you floated to sleep. The bed however is high if you are a short person and you might need a foot stool as my companion did. The stay was expensive but you get a lot for your money - a special personality room (there are 9 suites stayed in by Winston Churchill, Charlie Chaplin amongst others), pick up from airport; free beverages from the mini bar but it was the service from our butlers, John and Simon that made our stay special. In the suite there was a library of books on Maria Callas, DVDs of her life and a framed guest card of her stay - she only stayed at the Savoy when she was singing at Covent Garden which is close by) If you are an opera buff this would be the suite for you. You cannot beat staying in an iconic hotel that has hosted royalty, statesmen and celebrities.for over a century.

Room Tip: The Maria Callas suite room 418 on the 4th floor or for that matter any room facing the River Thames...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soosoo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

If your in a position to get a stay at the savoy as a present (us) or have the £££'s to splash out here, this is the definition of a luxury hotel, everything is just right and the service is exceptional!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulcurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is breath taking, the refurb is exquisite, afternoon tea here was pure indulgence for my birthday and the pianist even played Happy Birthday on piano to my surprise, I felt so special.attentive staff.A wonderful experience,I want to go back, the hotel is out of this world!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Thought I would treat my Wife,Mother & Aunt
Booked a Limousine & Driver,Box at the Theater & Four for Afternoon Tea with Champagne at The Savoy,we could not get the car down as taxis etc blocking entrance decided to walk,Doorman did not welcome us nor did anyone else,walked into foyer not sure were to go etc.
Then met by hostess shown to table,introduced to Connor very charming young man things looking up,then Connor said he had other duties to perform and Trevor would be looking after us,then things took a turn for the worst seemed hurried the exact opposite of the Afternoon Tea experience,although the sandwiches were Delicious,the cakes & patisseries were not good asked if we would like some more of the same we asked for Mint Macaroons & Apple caramel brought one of each on side plate,scones were not warm seemed hard and quite stale.
Asked for the bill took ages, then the card machine would not work had to get another one,no warm or sincere goodbye,what should have been a Grand Finale to a memorable day ended quite flat,emailed Savoy with my comments thanked me and said on my next visit to contact the manager who will personally book our table etc ? Such a shame an Institution like The Savoy !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest, We are sorry to learn of your disappointment following a visit for Afternoon Tea. Please rest assured that we have shared your feedback with the relevant people so that any issues may be addressed accordingly. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and hope that a future visit to The Savoy will meet all expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#17 of 1,067 in London
2,458 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#43 of 1,067 in London
2,058 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#28 of 1,067 in London
3,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,654 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#68 of 1,067 in London
2,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Property: The Savoy
Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London
The Savoy London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing