We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay Despite Some Glitches”
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #40 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We were eager to return to the Savoy after enjoying a lovely stay last year. We had a nice visit this time around, but with some glitches as noted below.

The Good -- The Savoy is a sight to behold. The multi-million dollar renovation shows especially in the common areas. We were upgraded to a junior suite (see notes under The Bad for glitches). It was spacious and well-appointed despite a dismal view of AC units on the third-floor roof and a strange hole in the wall above the bed that maintenance had to patch up during our stay. We were offered another room, but none offered a good view so we chose to stay where we were. The junior suite came with butler service that included a number of personal services. The bathroom was heavenly with heated towel racks and a separate large shower with a rainfall feature. We had delicious breakfasts and a dinner at the French-themed River Restaurant. Also, the Savoy Tea gift boutique was a great place to get treats and gifts. The chocolates and tea biscuits were wonderful. The fitness center was small, but adequate. The concierge service was excellent for booking reservations and getting advance tickets to main attractions. The hotel is also conveniently located near several Underground stations within the Strand area and has a scenic view for some of the Thames River.

The Bad -- Checking in was not a breeze. Our room rate and booking information was bungled and it took awhile to sort out. As a result, we were given a room that had issues (bad view and newly imprinted hole in the wall above the bed that looked like someone threw a large, heavy bottle of water -- you could actually see the bottle cap imprint). We got a different butler every time we called for service, which led us to have to tip every single time versus a tip at the end of our stay. Also, since it was Easter Sunday, dinner options were limited. The hostess for the Thames Foyer was very snooty and tried to shoo us away to Simpson's on the Strand because we were still in our casual travelling clothes when we tried to book a reservation in person. Dinner at the Foyer was average. Cocktails were expensive and too strong.

The Ugly -- At the end of our stay, check out was ghastly. The bill was confusing and took a long time to sort out. The taxi was left waiting at the entrance because it took too long to get everything sorted out. Also, the exchange rate was horrid. One British pound was at this writing equal to $1.7 US dollars. When you see what you're actually paying in US dollars, find some smelling salts before you faint.

But, ah well, what can you do? Overall, we still managed to enjoy our quick visit. The staffing issues we mentioned, however, do need to be resolved soon or the well-heeled may start to look to stay somewhere else. They are far too many fine hotels in London like Claridges or The Goring for the Savoy to get too relaxed with its service standards.

Room Tip: Get a true river view if you can afford it. Otherwise, try to get a room where you don't see a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuxFirstTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear loyal Savoy guest, your detailed feedback is extremely valuable and we agree that we can never become complacent with the services we provide. The arrival and departure issues are disappointing and we apologise for the regrettable delays these caused. You also raise a very valid point about the consistency of the butler service and we will continue to monitor this situation with the team. We will try much harder in future to hopefully change your headings to The Good, The Very Good and The Best for next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,028 - 4,034 of 4,853 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

We spent Easter weekend at the Savoy and had THE most amazing experience.... Particularly as members of the Fairmont President's Club. We were able to use 2 free night certificates, paying then just for one night. In so doing, we expected a small room without frills. We had a lovely spot on the 7th floor with a view of the River. It was much larger than expected!

Upon arrival, the bellman asked our names and as soon as we made our way into the lobby, we were greeted by name by a hostess, and then by the president of the President's Club program.

You can not beat the location, handy to many attractions as well as the tube. I recommend signing up for the property's loyalty program (president's club) for in-room wifi.

It will be hard to return to London and stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacation-bugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Fairmont President's Club member, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the recommendation; the loyalty programme is so easy to sign up to and has many truly great benefits. We look forward to welcoming you both again to The Savoy in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is truly a 7 star experience, right from check in to when you leave. The room service menu could use a shake up. But other than that it's an absolutely fantastic experience.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank vinodgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thank you for posting a fantastic 7* review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

If you are seeking for a luxury hotel in London with a great history, this could be your choice.

The rooms, lobby, restaurant, bar, pool : everything you will find in this hotel is worth a 5 stars rating.

There are several 5 stars hotel in London with a great service, but none of them in the caliber of the Savoy. This hotel is perfect in every details.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Guest, your comments are praise indeed! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to warmly welcoming you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Just returned from a great trip to The Savoy, its a beautiful place, with great staff! Worth every penny!! Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is not the normal hotel for us! This was a once in a lifetime treat for my 40th. From the start we were treated like Royalty, received from the taxi superbly and personally greeted and conducted to our room. Very friendly and efficient. Bags were brought up to our room. Lovely bright room with a fantastic bathroom and very very comfortable bed. The attention to detail everywhere is fab. We had a drink in the American bar, gorgeous cocktails and great for people watching. We ate out, not at the hotel. They service your room during the day and at night they turn your bed down and put slippers by the side of the bed. I could def get used to how the other half live. The decor of the hotel is stunning. We ate breakfast in the Riverside Restaurant. A real treat and everything was beautifully done. The breakfast filled us up for the whole day. In short a fabulous place for a treat. We didn't want to leave!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzieloo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

We love your review and have shared your brilliant comments with everyone. Maybe we can tempt you back for a second treat of a lifetime very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel the receptionist wanted to do the check in, in my room. The room was located on the 9th floor... When I entered the room I really truly was shocked, never did I see such a small room in my life (especially when these rooms are GBP250.00 per night).... I immediately told receptionist I wanted another room, which I should say was fixed straight away, she brought us to a nicer room on the 3rd floor...

Hotel is really spotless but if not wearing a suit or cocktail dress all day long, you get some looks from the other guests in the hotel... Staff was al friendly but as I said way too formal for me... Every now and then I like to make a little chat with the staff, but not in this hotel...

Location is right on the strand, a short walk to Trafalgar Square and Covent Garden, great location!!



In terms of looks this hotel is absolutely the best there is, but not the best I stayed in...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobbertS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Should you have another opportunity to stay or visit The Savoy please do stop us for a chat, we really are very approachable and friendly! We will also make a note to give you as many options as we can with regard to the room, as we are in the enviable position of being able to offer our guests a large variety of different sizes, styles and outlooks of guest rooms and suites. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#29 of 1,077 in London
3,682 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,077 in London
2,594 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#13 of 1,077 in London
494 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $583 - $1,157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London
The Savoy London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing