We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaufort Bar is excellent”
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #41 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beaufort Bar is excellent”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Having eaten at the Savoy previously and always favoured the American Bar, we thought we would try the newly refurbished Beaufort Bar just for a change. The service is superb and the choice of drink everything you might expect. There is even a piano complete with pianist. It would be churlish to find fault but compared with the American Bar but it does not have the same amount of nooks and crannies in which tables can be secreted that the American Bar has. Somehow it loses a very little atmosphere being a great big lounge with bar to one side. That is simply our preference and may appeal more to some people. The team spoil and pamper you during your stay and whichever bar you opt for, you will have an experience to remember.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smileyric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,509
    609
    239
    107
    87
See reviews for
946
2,187
167
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 1 night at The Savoy on Saturday 17th December 2011 to celebrate our wedding anniversay.
This hotel would not normally be within our budget so our expectations were high.
On arrival our taxi pulled up outside at about the same time as 2 other cars, because of this we were not met by the doorman who would have taken our bags and passed us onto a colleague to take us to our room, instead we wandered into reception and felt a bit lost (this is our only negative).
When we reported to the concierge things kicked into gear, we were taken to a check in area where a staff member greeted us and our luggage was taken - we were upgraded and congratulated on our anniversary before being shown to our room on the 8th floor with wonderful views up the Thames towards Westminster.
After a visit to the ballet, we returned to the hotel and decided to go for a pre dinner cocktail in The American Bar, there appeared to be a large queue to get in and a staff member was advising people of a 45 minute wait! Not for us though - as residents we got prioroty access and were taken through within 2 minutes - very impressed and felt very special to jump the queue.
The waiter discussed cocktails with us and made recommendations which were really informative and helpful.
When we returned to our room there was an anniversary cake and a card from The Savoy, a wonderful surprise!
Dinner for 8pm at The River Restaurant, we arrived at 8.05pm but the table was not ready (oh no!) we were sat in The Thames Foyer with complimentary Champagne for our 10 minute wait (very happy!)
Dinner was superb - scallops were perfect and roasted vension was wonderful as was my wife's salmon and crusted beef.
Next morning breakfast was also very good.
In summary, The Savoy is expensive (for the average person which includes us). However, what a treat! The hotel is superb and the staff were amazing - no snobbery, very very happy to help, offered to take a photograph of us, always said hello, smiled.
We said that this would be a one off treat - we are already saving to return.
10/10 - thank you for an amazing time!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Newmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Level Contributor
227 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

On the Themes and near the theater district. The Strand is a good location as many museums are nearby too.
Would stay again. The pick up at London City AP was flawless but VERY expensive' A new Mercedes and nice drive to the hotel but will take a cab in the future.

Room Tip: They are all good but ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blacklake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I'd like to congratulate the hotel for their workers which are all very nice and helpful, in concret i would like to point out one in particular. He is called Thiago and one of the best hotelworkers i've ever met! He is very good at his work!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristinacsanalosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Once again I was visiting my father who had decided to try the Savoy when having to suddenly his trip and found that a change in hotels was not a bad idea.. The suite was a little smaller than the one at the Ritz and instead of a view of the green park, we had a view of the thames albeit at a distance.. i tried both restaurants and nice meals which I shall review separately.. However in my opinion while the refurbishment has done a lot to improve the restaurants, bar and lobby there is much to be desired in the rooms.. However on another note the staff were extremely polite and in terms of service right from the checkin there is nothing left to be desired..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRamakrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

After their multi million dollar makeover I had high hopes of a fantastic luxury weekend in London, but was dismayed at what they have done to this once great hotel. Gone are the special touches and staff remembering your name. Gone is the traditional, almost regal atmosphere. Instead we were faced with over the top decor, edging on brash in some areas, together with snooty, young staff who looked like they were straight out of school. The guests it now attracts are loud, new rich, that think the world revolves around them, and that strut around the hotel making noise whoever they go. The food was nothing like it used to be but was expensive. My potatoes were hard and the steak overcooked. The whole meal was a waste of money, so beware when choosing where to dine. I requested a late check out due to a late flight I had, but was told that it was impossible. If this is the way they treat old clients, I hate to think how they treat new ones. Disillusioned, disappointed and definitely never returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kryspsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The hotel was booked by a friend, so I was not prepared for the Savoy experience. I have been places, but the Savoy is something completely different. It has the class and glamour of the old days, and at the same time feels fresh and new (it was reopenend quite recently). The very competent staff strive to give the best service and, eventhough the hotel is quite large, to remember your name and roomnumber.
The rooms are very comfortable, the beds are so good that they make you want to forget about shopping in London and just lounge in the room all day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanieC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#17 of 1,067 in London
2,458 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#43 of 1,067 in London
2,058 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#28 of 1,067 in London
3,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,657 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#68 of 1,067 in London
2,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Property: The Savoy
Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London
The Savoy London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing