We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claridge's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Claridge's
Ranked #49 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Every need is catered for by staff who are helpful but not at all stuffy or over attentive . A quiet place to stay and perfect location,only a short distance from the madness of Oxford St . I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenaNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear “karenaNorfolk”,

We would also love you to stay here again!

With our good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    192
    90
    50
    37
See reviews for
242
730
76
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is gorgeous, there's no argument about that. It is typically very expensive but I stayed there last week on 4 for the price of 3 and did not regret it for a second. The room I was in smelt musty but apart from that it is a really wonderful hotel in the best area of London. The location cant be beaten and service is sensational. I complained about the musty smells and immediately staff appeared with a deodorizing machine which was mildly humorous. The a hand written note from the desk manager and offers to move me etc. This hotel really cares about the comfort of their guests.
The charm of Claridges is enormous and while thet charge a 5% discretionary service charge which amused me no end they dont nickel and dime you on internet or newspapers. I am from England originally and the pleasure of going there will I trust never be diminished.
The hotel is owned by the Maybourne Group whose standards are unrelenting and despite arriving in jeans while dinner guests were arriving in black tie one can only feel welcomed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Brook Street or Davies Street to avoid the well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arsenal14_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear “Arsenal 14_12”

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We hope your travels will bring you back to London and Claridge’s soon.

With my good wishes and those of all the team,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We've spent last Christmas holidays at Claridge's and this was an absolutely magical stay. The hotel is lovely designed in art deco style. While entering the big foyer, you feel immediately on a glamourous party in the twenties. The atmosphere made me think of The Great Gatsby.

For Christmas, the hotel was embellished extra nicely with cosy Chrismas details and of course the big Christmas tree. Claridge's is famous for its huge christmas tree that raises along the stairs every December. This year, Dolce & Gabbana had the onour to decorate it.

The doormen helped immediately with our luggage and the receptionists were also available for a fast guidance trough the foyer, the bar, the fumer and our room. The concierge was helpful too and knew all good restaurants and places to be and to see. Although this wasn't necessary because of the perfect location of the hotel, close to Bond Street, Victoria Secret, Selfridge's, the Underground,.. .

Our room was surprising spacious and cosy furnished in that typical English style. Everything was tidy and sanitary and prepared for a nice stay. We had our own hallway, a classy bathroom, a huge bedroom with a dressoir, a good bed, a lavatory, many closets and even a dressing room connected with the bathroom, wich I appreciated very much. The little living room was really something, we've almost spent half of our time here because it was so comfortable with the fireplace and the cosy fauteuils.
I recommend a hot chocolat or an Earl Grey tea with some biscuits at 4 o'clock, the roomservice brings it in style to you in 5 minutes.

Eating at Claridge's is also a must when you stay there. You have different types of breakfasts, The European Breakfast, The English Breakfast,.. and you may choose every dish on top of this, like some pancakes, some toast, scones, some eggs,.. .
In the evening, it's even more chic to eat, there was live pianomusic on the background, wich is always lovely. The dining-place has style and grace and the service is quick and good. The food was very good, although the dishes on the menu were mostly very simpel. But we really enjoyed our meal.

I highly recommend Claridge's for a royal stay full of typical English elements.
Like already obvious I experienced a wonderful Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear “Julie D”,

It was lovely to read your super review and thank you for choosing Claridge’s at Christmas-time.

Please come back and see us again soon but, in the meantime, happy travels.

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife & I have been to Claridges twice now for to celebrate our wedding anniversaries. The first time we went we were given a tour of the hotel before we checked in followed by complimentary champagne welcome at the bar. There is so much history in this hotel, we were really impressed.
Our room and hotel facilities were as expected, superb! All the staff were extremely hospitable nothing was to much trouble through our three night stay. We will be back!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank meekumoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear “meekumoo”,

It is always a joy to welcome guests on their Wedding Anniversaries and we hope you will continue your tradition.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

After watching the documentary on BBC, and speaking with friends who had stayed previously, we were both looking forward to our first stay - it did not disappoint.

We've been to the bar at Clardige's and also ate at the Noma pop-up so knew what most of the lobby area etc. looked like. Upon arrival we checked-in and was advised that our room was not ready. We knew it wouldn't be and were meeting friends so went to the bar. Our friends joined us about 2 hours later and their room wasn't ready. We waited another 30 minutes to be advised that the rooms were still being prepared (we weren't sure what was happening with the prep - new paint perhaps!). The hotel apologised and gave us a free bottle of champagne.

We stayed in room 242 which was a pleasantly sized room and one which had been recently refurbished. Our friends took a look over and said it was better than the room they previously had, decor wise, as it was a lot lighter.

The shower in the bathroom was one of the best we've ever used, and the magic toilet which was heated and had a modern bidet built in. Room was very tidy and quiet.

A couple of minor points (which didn't affect our stay); TV wasn't HD and the signal was sometimes intermittent, only an FM radio - again signal was pretty poor (should be DAB!), when using the shower there was no de-mister on the bath mirror.

If you want to go somewhere and feel special, then Claridge's will hopefully make you feel special. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. It's not cheap, BUT, I've stayed at higher end Hilton's (which was probably about 50% of this cost) but the experience/room were not comparable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkBarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear “MarkBarefoot”,

I was so pleased that you chose to visit us for your first overnight stay and that you were not disappointed.

Your great review means so much to us all – a huge thank you!

With kind regards,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

After a recent, very happy stay at The Savoy, I looked forward to trying another London institution: Claridge’s. But alas, my stay there was disappointing for three reasons: desultory service, the somewhat tired decor of our room, and a lack of cleanliness.

Service: An early indication of what was to come was revealed by our check-in experience. There were only two members of staff working at the front desk -- despite a growing line of guests attempting to check in or out. My b/f and I waited in line for 10 minutes. Conditions were crowded and people jostled with suitcases to maneuver around the line.

Decor: Our room was pretty although arguably dated and dark (as I later found out, other parts of the hotel were being renovated or were soon to be renovated, and this area was last on the list). We had no view and just faced an inner “courtyard,” or more appropriately, “glorified airshaft.” Moreover, the elevator ride to our room took several minutes as only one elevator was functioning and the hotel seemed to be more or less at capacity.

Cleanliness: I was upset by Claridge’s apparent cavalier attitude toward cleanliness. Our bed sheets were creased, and other items were stained. Note my attached photograph: the robe in the bathroom – just like one of the towels – was covered with small stains, most probably blood that had gone through the washer (hopefully). I don’t understand why, if the articles had in fact been laundered, they passed inspection before being put out again for guests.

But what is perhaps most surprising and disappointing about Claridge’s is the attitude of management to my concerns and their unwillingness to honor the promise of a prior member of the management team. Upon my return to New York, I had communicated with the Hotel Operations Manager and several others about my stay (following a survey soliciting feedback). He was apologetic and encouraged me to “get in touch” with him prior to my next visit to England so that the hotel could try to “make amends,” and have an opportunity to correct the dismal impressions left by my previous stay. Fast forward to this month: I contact Claridge’s to inform them of an upcoming visit, but now it appears my earlier conversations with the hotel (despite the email chain included in my message) are at best a distant memory to them, and at worst, irrelevant. The assurances of the recently departed manager have been conveniently forgotten. I am obviously surprised by Claridge’s apparent refusal to honor a promise.

In conclusion, Claridge’s obviously remains a much-admired London institution; the many non-guests visiting the lobby and restaurants are testimony to this. But I found that the substance of the hotel did not match its superficial, public style. I had expected standards of service and room decor and cleanliness to be similar to other 5-star hotels I have visited (e.g. The Savoy in London, the Bristol or Le Meurice in Paris), but I was sadly disappointed. I shall not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NYEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear “NYEm”,

I was naturally very sorry to read your review which relates to a stay back in December, 2012.

Whilst my colleague, to whom you were in correspondence with following that visit, has now left Claridge’s our concern that you did not have the best experience has not diminished.

I have studied the on-line guest feedback you completed shortly after your stay which I would like to thank you for. This is an invaluable tool for us and I am pleased to inform you that since your last stay the room you occupied has now been fully refurbished.

It is clear from your review that there are matters that remain unsolved. I have looked at the exchange of correspondence and I would appreciate us liaising direct so I can clarify your belief that we are refusing to honour a promise.

My hope and intention is to make sure that you are a happy Claridge’s guest and I look forward to our corresponding direct.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great service and beautiful "cadre". Central yet calm... Could almost forget that you are here for work. Breakfast in the room delicious and well presented as was the dinner. Will definitely be back on our next visit to London.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zolou25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear “Zolou25”

We are all delighted that we can look forward to welcoming you back and would like to thank you for your kind words.

With the good wishes of all the team.

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#8 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#3 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Dorchester
The Dorchester
#40 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge's

Property: Claridge's
Address: Brook Street, London W1K 4HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in London
#48 Luxury Hotel in London
#79 Business Hotel in London
#124 Romantic Hotel in London
#136 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Claridge's 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of London’s Mayfair, Claridge’s embodies grand English style, timeless glamour and impeccable, intuitive and highly tailored service. It is London’s art deco jewel, and home to breathtaking rooms and suites. From London’s finest afternoon tea in the Foyer and Reading Room to vintage champagnes and rare spirits at Claridge’s Bar or after-dinner drinks in the Fumoir, all are part of the hotel’s unique splendour and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Claridge's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge`s Hotel London
Claridges London
Claridges Hotel London
Claridge's London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing