We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best in London”
Review of Claridge's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Claridge's
Ranked #45 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“one of the best in London”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Claridge's is a wonderful hotel. We would definitely stay there again. The services were very good in the main dining room as well as in the bar. Food is very good as well. Door men, housekeeping, reception, all very very good. Our room is the Mayfair suite (511/512) - well appointed, spacious, bed is very comfortable and I'm looking for the same sheets that the hotel uses. Two problems - one small and the second is really up to the individual to decide the degree of severity. The cushions on the sofas in the living should probably be changed because they kind of lumpy and saggy. This is the small issue. The second one was that the room smelled faintly of cigarette smoke. Previous guests must have smoked in this non smoking room. We did find a rather large ash tray with matches on the desk in the living room. For a non-smoking room, these two items really should not be provided. Is it a non- smoking room or a smoking room? I'm confused. Tea time was very good - it is rather filling - sandwiches, scones and sweets. Quite filling - you can probably skip dinner after having tea here. I liked the work out room - pretty well equipped and clean.

Room Tip: 511/512 is a corner suite - called the Mayfair Suite. There are other Mayfair suites but I'm no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hpmarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,297
    211
    95
    54
    41
See reviews for
280
822
92
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Claridges for one night to celebrate a special birthday and it was outstanding from start to finish. The room was beautiful, very authentically Art Deco style but with all the modern touches one could want. The bathroom was wonderful, with a TV on the wall of the bath and plenty of toiletries, large fluffy towells, bathrobes and slippers. iPod docking station, hair drier etc all provided and plenty of clothes hangers. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Afternoon tea was superb and plentiful-definitely goid value. Breakfast was delicious with an amazing choice. Both bars are lovely- the Fumoir was especially wonderful after dinner - dark,cosy and intimate. The staff and service level provided are what you would expect of a hotel of this standing and the little touches - a handwritten card to greet you from the manager, a birthday greeting iced onto a mini cake in your room-really made it perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband treated me to a night in Claridges on our way back from my 30th birthday trip to Las Vegas and from start to finish, it was so amazing that I had to keep pinching myself to make sure I wasn't asleep and just dreaming about my stay there! Ever since I had watched the Inside Claridges programme on BBC2, I had my heart set on visiting and my high expectations were matched - and then some! Check-in was smooth and professional and a lovely lady escorted us to our room, which was exactly as I had imagined it would be - old-school decor (which I love), giant bed with the most comfy pillows, huge marble bathroom with gorgeous toiletries and a nice view of the bustling street below. The hotel had provided a special birthday dessert and two glasses of champagne for us and this treat was waiting for us when we got to our room. We had a delightful welcome note from Michael (even though I was a little bit disappointed that it wasn't from Thomas, the utterly charming GM) and indeed, every member of staff that we met during our stay treated us like we were royalty. We are already planning our next visit and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A family member booked my husband and me into Claridges for a special birthday treat. It was magnificent. The staff are absolutely splendid, so well trained, skilled, friendly but never obsequious. The comfortable well designed room overlooked the main street with a glimpse of the GPO tower against the blue sky. Breakfast was delicious excellent scrambled eggs, well, it was all amazing. Nothing seemed too much trouble. I know it is very expensive and we could not have afforded to stay there but for a gift, however, there are similar establishments that are as pricey but do not offer the standards of Claridges.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunrisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast USA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Someone famous once said when he died he didn't want to go to heaven, he wanted to go to Claridge's. I understand that feeling now. I stayed for one Sunday night at a value price. My room had everything one could desire, but was not opulent. (The bath and especially the towels were, though!) What sets Claridge's apart from other so-called five star hotels is the level of service. Every staff member with whom I interacted seemed genuinely pleased that I was there. I had afternoon tea and that was a lovely experience. I also left a list of shopping items that I would like to take home, but ran out of time to obtain. The concierges have done it and already emailed me a receipt. My items will be picked up when I swing through London again on my way home. In a word, my experience at Claridge's was flawless, and I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel very highly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaf2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The only way to describe this hotel is 'out of this world', from the time you pull up outside to checking out it is pure luxury. The staff are all very friendly, the food is excellent, the atmosphere is the bar is amazing. Well worth the extra money to stay.Nothing it too much trouble. The rooms are very, very nice, and the bed is extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinabrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have stayed at Clardige's numerous times over the last several years. The staff is great from the front desk to the excellent bar. While I have not had the experience of a suite, other rooms are very large, top beds and bathrooms, and the varied room designs make the stay always unique. A tour of the many varied suites will make you want to stay in one! Looking forward to my next visit this Sept.. Check out the Inside Claridges video, 3 parts, to see the amazing things this hotel can do.

Room Tip: Go for suite if you want to splurge for a special visit. All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#10 of 1,068 in London
831 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#8 of 1,068 in London
391 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,068 in London
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Dorchester
The Dorchester
#43 of 1,068 in London
1,556 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#21 of 1,068 in London
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge's

Property: Claridge's
Address: Brook Street, London W1K 4HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in London
#45 Luxury Hotel in London
#79 Business Hotel in London
#124 Romantic Hotel in London
#136 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Claridge's 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of London’s Mayfair, Claridge’s embodies grand English style, timeless glamour and impeccable, intuitive and highly tailored service. It is London’s art deco jewel, and home to breathtaking rooms and suites. From London’s finest afternoon tea in the Foyer and Reading Room to vintage champagnes and rare spirits at Claridge’s Bar or after-dinner drinks in the Fumoir, all are part of the hotel’s unique splendour and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claridge's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge`s Hotel London
Claridges London
Claridges Hotel London
Claridge's London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing