We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOTAL PERFECTION”
Review of Claridge's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Claridge's
Ranked #42 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

What can I say about Claridges that I haven't said before, this place is total perfection, a home away from home only better. The staff are amazing and nothing is too much trouble they seem to know what you want before you want it. The hotel itself is so amazing that it is just beyond words, but I have one problem, Claridges has ruined me for any other hotel nowhere will ever match up to it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear “melandnick”,

We always appreciate your great reviews. A huge thank you.

With all good wishes,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,245 - 1,251 of 1,934 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

One of the most beautiful hotels I've stayed in,
Friendly, comfortable, outstanding service,
And for a standard room, have everything you would need,
If not ask. The staff would bend over backwards to help you.
I stayed last night, and i will be staying again. Loved the location,
The flowers were also OTT, but so beautifully set out.
And felt I was a special guest. Loved it.

Room Tip: Once you have been seen to your room, (smoking floor on 5) take the stairs down to see the floors an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear “123456Travelle”,

I am glad you felt a special guest because that is what we want all our guests to feel.

With all good wishes,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have just returned from yet another superb stay in this superb Hotel. We always stay in Claridge's when in London usually at least 3 times a year.

It never fails to get it right in every way - welcome, accommodation, staff, food and it simply being the best available.

We are now looking forward to our next stay which is already booked. It is the only address in town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCGM-Inverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear “GCGM-Inverness”,

Thank you for yet another great review.

We are also looking forward to your next visit and long may we be your only address in town.

Regards,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here Sat 19th May for our wedding anniversary. As we had already arranged for a meal out my daughter surprised us with this stay, saving us getting the train home. Once you walk through the door you are made to feel special, with the staff all knowing your name. The decor is discreet art deco with nothing overtly flashy, just an air of quality It's obviously very expensive (£660) but you can see what you're paying for. An army of well-drilled staff who treat you efficently and pleasantly, without being either too grovelling or too matey. It's very calm and peaceful, it's hard to believe it's in the heart of London. A 'discretionary' service charge of 5% is added to the bill so I didn't tip anyone, not sure if this is correct or not!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goa127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear “goa127”,

A huge thank you to your daughter for providing us with the opportunity to welcome you to Claridge’s for an overnight stay following your Wedding Anniversary dinner.

To put your mind at rest our discretionary Service Charge is distributed, in its entirety, to all the staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

With all good wishes,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed at Claridge's for first time. Have stayed at several other London Hotels, but Claridge's is in a special class along with very few others. Claridge's fully lives up to its reputation as a great hotel. Location of course is superb, but what differentiates Claridge's from almost all others is the service. The people are extremely well trained and deliver world class service without being in any way "cloying". The room and all common areas are lovely. Food very high quality, but again, it's the service that tops all - the knowledge of the staff, their attitude and their responsiveness.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsimke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear “jsimke”,

We are thrilled that we lived up to your expectations and our reputation of which we are so proud.

Your kind words about the service and our staff have special meaning to us and we thank you very much.

With all good wishes,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed for one very special night at the Claridge. When booking the room, we mentioned it was the night of our wedding and surprise surprise at check-in: we were shown into the Grand Piano Suite.

It was just amazing, no other word for this. The decor, the service, the attention to detail: everything was just perfect. We enjoyed every second of it.

Thank you to all the staff who helped us make this a night we will not forget

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caribu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear “caribu75”,

Thank you for choosing to start your married life with an overnight stay at Claridge’s. We were delighted to make the arrangements that we did.

Please come back to see us soon.

With all good wishes,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is quite possibly my favourite hotel. The only other hotel in London where I have encountered such classy, understated, and immaculate service was the Ritz; and of the two, I tip my hat to Claridge's for its style and decor. The hotel is simply beautiful--and, unlike so many hotels that offer flawlessly beautiful, cookie-cutter rooms, what strikes you about Claridge's is just how much personality abounds. Everywhere one has a sense of the style of a bygone era, evinced in antique furnishings, exquisite wood panelling, striking wallpaper and fittings, and the simply stunning art deco design. This extends to the glorious front foyer and restaurants to the stylish bars. (As a tip, don't miss the elegant Fumoir bar, tucked away by the restaurant and far more private than the regular bar.)

What sets Claridge's--like the Ritz--in a different class from other top hotels is how intimate it feels, and how impeccable and yet friendly the service is. This is not a massive hotel where you will be jostled in the lobby by tourists or crowds of businessmen arriving for meetings or drinks. It succeeds in achieving a true sense of feeling like home. This is reinforced by the remarkably good service, as impeccable as any I have ever experienced. As one small but telling example, we went to the bar for drinks while waiting for our room to be ready, and our waiter learned my name without my needing to tell him. When he left and another member of staff assumed responsibility for our table, the new waiter addressed me by name without needing to ask. This type of small gesture is indicative of an overall attention to detail that is all too rarely encountered these days, even at five star hotels.

Suffice it to say our deluxe room was spacious , extremely quiet and comfortable, and had character in spades, the bathroom was massive, the afternoon tea a delight, and the breakfast expensive but worth it for the wonderful surroundings. And the wonderful service--Claridge's is one of the few places I have stayed where every member of staff, from the reception to the restaurant and the bars, got it right. No stuffiness, no awkward informality, no rudeness, intended or not. Our stay was quite simply a pleasure from start to finish, and I very much look forward to returning as soon as I am able to do so.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGalt330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear "JohnGalt330",

What a wonderful review which means the world to each and every member of the team.

We are also very much looking forward to your return.

With all good wishes,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#12 of 1,077 in London
962 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,752 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#20 of 1,077 in London
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,077 in London
452 reviews
Mayfair
The Dorchester
The Dorchester
#49 of 1,077 in London
1,631 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#40 of 1,077 in London
4,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge's

Address: Brook Street, London W1K 4HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#42 Luxury Hotel in London
#79 Business Hotel in London
#92 Family Hotel in London
#124 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $541 - $1,027 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Claridge's 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of London’s Mayfair, Claridge’s embodies grand English style, timeless glamour and impeccable, intuitive and highly tailored service. It is London’s art deco jewel, and home to breathtaking rooms and suites. From London’s finest afternoon tea in the Foyer and Reading Room to vintage champagnes and rare spirits at Claridge’s Bar or after-dinner drinks in the Fumoir, all are part of the hotel’s unique splendour and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Claridge's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge`s Hotel London
Claridges London
Claridges Hotel London
Claridge's London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing