We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Ridgemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ridgemount Hotel
Ranked #128 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Firenze, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I spent 5 nights at The Ridgemount on late October, I had a double room en suite on the first floor, as the room was on the rear it was very quiet. As in the other hotels in the area, rooms are small but efficient, I only spent the night in it so all I needed was a bed and a bathroom. Good wi-fi connection in room. Free hot drinks machine in the lounge, english breakfast included in the room rate with the possibility of lighter options. The family who ownes the place is really nice and friendly. The location is convenient, near the british museum, a lot of bus lines just across the street and walking distance to Leicester Square, Covent Garden and Oxford Street. I would definitely come back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GillyFirenze_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    471
    92
    26
    16
See reviews for
358
319
227
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Room was tiny, as expected for the price. Location was excellent. Full English breakfast included, but we got bored with the same items every single day. Staff were helpful with directions. Wi-Fi worked pretty well, and they do have 2 computers in the parlor for guests to use to print boarding passes as needed. Bathroom was antiquated and had problems with a toilet that flushed only sporadically. We were told that was because of 60 years of "abuse" by Americans! Okayyyy.... otherwise the hotel was a good bargain. The beds were tiny single beds, but were comfortable otherwise. Lots of street noise because it is located near a hospital so heard sirens all night. Earplugs solved that problem easily. We were unable to book into the same hotel for our return to London a week later, so we set out to find another and found our dream!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolHarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The room had two twin beds, a sink, a small wardrobe and a desk, and barely enough room to walk between the two beds. Even though the carpet that showed between the beds was only a small strip, it hadn't been vacuumed. Also, it was an usually warm night in early October in London, and the room was hot. We finally resorted to opening the window, and the street was very noisy - lots of traffic, the occasional police siren, etc. It was within walking distance from Euston Station and was relatively cheap, but I wished while still awake at 2:00 am that I had taken a metro to a hotel in a quieter neighborhood. The breakfast was good, though, and the waitstaff were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyMrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Hubby and I stayed overnight. Great location - very central and easily accessible by the tube (Euston/Goodge St). The staff were very welcoming and accomodating. Originally putting us up on the second floor but changed us to the ground floor (room 17) when seeing our large bags (no lifts). Room was basic but clean. Mattress was terrible and upset hubby's back - you could feel the springs through the doona even before you got into bed! But ensuite was attached, water was hot, water pressure was good and complimentary tea/toast/cereal was enjoyed before our quick departure to Kings Cross St Pancras (only 1 station away). Cost overnight was 98 pounds.

Room Tip: Keep in mind no elevator so might consider asking for a lower floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beqa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This bed and breakfast must be one of the best value accommodations in the whole of London. Extremely low cost, spotlessly clean with welcoming owners and staff, I cannot see how it can be beaten. My friend and I were offered the twin-bedded basement room, with its own private bathroom and was conveniently situated just down the corridor from the dining room. The maid service and room facilities, including digital TV, were perfectly adequate. Breakfast was served in the pleasant dining room which consisted of a choice of cereals, fruit juice, tea/coffee/chocolate, English breakfast (nicely cooked/slight variation each day), a selection of preserves and the offer of extra toast. The dining room staff were also extremely friendly and obliging for which I commend them. In addition there was free tea/coffee and Internet use, in the lounge.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for all the reasons mentioned above. It's in a superb location which is virtually in theatreland and near to all the main attractions. Bus stops are situated at various points along Gower Street which enables travel all over London.

I feel there has been some unfair criticism given to this B&B, which for the money is a great find. Cosmetically there may be some slightly tired areas, which like most other busy hotels is just a matter of wear and tear and bears no reflection on the quality, service, or the cleanliness of the accommodation. However some people expect five star facilities at two star prices.

I feel the Ridgemount is a credit to the owners and staff. Also on the last morning we were allowed to leave our luggage in a private area to collect later in the day which was appreciated.

I am a frequent traveller both in the UK and on the continent and have experienced various types of accommodation - if you're looking for a good budget B&B, give this one a go!

Room Tip: Despite being centrally located, Gower Street is a quiet location therefore I would imagine all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheshG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed in a single room with shared bathroom while attending a conference locally.

The room was small and basic as I would expect for £52 but it was spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was immediately adjacent to my room which was convenient and it too was very clean.

The tv and hair drier were both in good working order.

In the morning I had the cooked breakfast which consisted of 2 rashers if bacon, 1 sausage and 1 egg. I was offered toast and cereals which I declined. I enjoyed a pot of coffee and a glass of orange juice. The waitress service was excellent; polite, friendly and efficient.

Check out was quick and efficient and I was offered advice on how to get to my destination.

I was very impressed and would happily stay here again. You could not possibly expect more from such a low cost hotel in Central London.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myles1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was my first experience with a "European" hotel. The staff was super friendly and helpful - even though I arrived several hours before check-in. My room was on the top floor - which was over 50 stairs up (not advisable for those with mobility issues) The room was clean and tiny... A twin bed, chair TV and small desk and closet and ensuite bath with shower....perfect for a single person. TV was small but had lost of channels and WiFi was fantastic. The breakfast was okay, but not really to my picky standards but the wait staff was friendly and attentive. The lounge has free coffee and tea, 2 computers to use and a drink machine. The property is close to shops and restaurants and close to 2 tube stations and buses just out side the door. The staff allowed me to keep my luggage in the lounge on my last day so I didn't have to lug it around all day - Very nice touch!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_daddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#82 of 1,069 in London
1,767 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#253 of 1,069 in London
1,750 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#251 of 1,069 in London
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgemount Hotel

Property: Ridgemount Hotel
Address: 65-67 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in London
#186 Family Hotel in London
#214 Business Hotel in London
#252 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ridgemount Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ridgemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridgemount Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing