We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable rates and good location”
Review of Ridgemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ridgemount Hotel
Ranked #129 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The rates were really reasonable, and it's location is good - walking distance from Soho and the West End, and one block away from a stop on the Nothern Line. The beds were fine and the room was cozy and clean. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,240)
There are newer reviews for Ridgemount Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights early February after we couldn't get in our first choice of hotel, just a few doors down the same street. This Hotel is about £15 per night cheaper, so didn't have some of the little touches, no shampoo, shower gel, or kettle in room, but it was fine, good value for money. There is a vending machine in the lounge on the ground floor with free hot drinks, but I like a cup of tea before haven't to get decent!
The owner could not be more helpful, giving us bus and tube routes, making sure we knew where we were going.
We had a triple room on the top floor at the front of the hotel, could hear a bit of traffic, but nothing to worry about, it didn't bother us at all. The room had 2 single beds and a 3/4 bed, so plenty of room. Everything was spotless.
Breakfast was ok, served to us, rather than helping ourselves, cereal then eggs, bacon and beans and toast. No fruit.
I think if we go to London again, I would try for our first choice simple because the little extras help, but then you pay a bit more, but I would definitely stay in the Ridgemount again. A very good, super clean, friendly hotel for the price.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Lucysmumanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Great location, friendly staff, yummy breakfast, and clean rooms. This hotel has everything you need if you're traveling to London on a budget. I will definitely stay here again my next time in London.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelTripVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have spent 4 nights in this hotel in a double room w/ bathroom. Very good location (buses, tube, shops), still quiet (window to back garden). Clean, small but rationally furnished room (shelves, lamps for reading, cupboard ...), very comfortable mattress (though we are really picky about it). Really hot water in the shower even late at night and proper heating. Fair breakfast and extremely friendly staff (Portuguese ladies). And of course the landlord was always around to give us tips on our daily tours. I think he knows all lines of public transp (be it bus or the tube) by heart. He is a great person. And they take care of their hotel: we kept bumping into workmen each morning when leaving.
My only problem: the 2 separate taps for cold & warm water, but that is part of the British heritage ... I was told.
We will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skrisztina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We recently stayed in a family room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel, looking over the garden. Despite the central location, the room was quiet and we were not bothered by traffic noise and instead could even hear birdsong which was a lovely surprise for a city break. The staff were very friendly and helpful (even arranging for my youngest who had been travel sick to have his clothes laundrered at no extra cost). The room were very clean and the TV had all the usual freeview channels. The hotel was excellently located near the British Museum and, if the weather had been drier, Coram's fields. Great value for money for a friendly, centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elainemacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from a theatre trip to London. The Ridgemount, a family run hotel was very conveniently located for Covent Garden and Victoria and Kings Cross stations. The room we stayed in had three comfortable single beds, was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. The shower room was ensuite, well decorated and maintained. Again it was very clean with fresh towels provided on both days of our two night stay The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were well cooked and pleasant. We appreciated the free tea and coffee machine in the lounge next door to our room. We did not find any noise from hotel residents using the lounge at all although we could hear the doorbell when new guests arrived. Whilst the room was quite small it was perfectly adequate for our requirements. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LIZH6005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Well located, has bus stop and underground stations closeby to get where ever you want to go. all the basics covered, comfortable beds, decent sized room, hot water for shower. Great breakfast to fill you up in the morning before heading out for the day, free coffee/tea all day long. Communication to book the room was very prompt, the website has good directions and such. It might get a bit noisy (from the street) but we would be tired from walking all day and fell asleep quickly. Also no stairs to get to the upper floor, but the check in guy helpes us. Good value for London, to be close to everything. They have a good deal for a car transfer to the LHR, which we inquired about only at the last minute. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smallwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#77 of 1,072 in London
1,781 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#268 of 1,072 in London
1,757 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#260 of 1,072 in London
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgemount Hotel

Address: 65-67 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#76 Best Value Hotel in London
#186 Family Hotel in London
#214 Business Hotel in London
#252 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $104 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ridgemount Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ridgemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridgemount Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing