We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, homey hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ridgemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ridgemount Hotel
Ranked #131 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
292 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful, homey hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I wanted to be in Bloomsbury for proximity to sights and transit, and also wanted something inexpensive - for London, anyway. The Ridgemount fit the bill and more. Reservations via email were a breeze. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Basic, and lacking some of the charm of places we stayed outside of London, but I'll forgo charm for keen attention to basics! Breakfast was nice; we stayed for a week and the combination varied each day. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and went out of their way to assist, providing advice on transportation, etc. I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in London, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and faced the street. Traffic clanking over a grate out front made for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    442
    87
    26
    15
See reviews for
327
304
203
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

A group of 10 of my friends stayed with me at the ridgemount hotel for 13 days and i have nothing but praises for this hotel .The location is excellent with a bus stop less than 5 mins away from the hotel entrance and 3 tube station Goodge street , Warrant street , and euston square just 5-7 mins away. you can be easily connected to all the main attractions and if you are up for it you can even walk to places like oxford street and trafalgar square.

the room are small but cozy with a reading light at each bed and there are sufficient power points to charge you phones and laptops. house keeping is done everyday and is immaculate. the toilets have the rudimentary required facilities and are spotless. this hotel gives you a feeling of how people in the 18th century might have lived in this town house with all the modern facilities. the sitting room is equipped with 2 computers and sofa set where you can sit down and play games and vending machine - there is also a complimentary coffee and tea machine there too.

the breakfast staff are an amazing bunch of ladies working quickly and efficiently at all time with an upbeat personality. they are also 5 different kinds of cereals, eggs 3 ways and either bacon or sausage served with tomato , cheese or baked beans - there is also a choice between hot cacao, tea, coffee , fresh milk and orang juice served elegantly with place setting every morning. this is indeed a delight to wake up to .

the owners of the hotel Mr/Mrs Reese are really amazing host giving you the feeling of coming to your grandparents home to stay. they are extremely kind and nurturing often giving us suggestions on what to do that day and how to get there.

and the best part since we stayed there through Christmas we got presents from them - which was an sweet gesture cementing the feeling of homeliness - stuff you do not get in large commercial hotels

i would defiantly recommend the ridgemount hotel to anyone who wants to experience london from a safe assessable location with excellent service.

Room Tip: request a room on the lower levels as the hotel does not have a lift and preferably at the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SamuelDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

A very interesting hotel. Has a wonderful service staff who are very attentive to your needs. They could even plan an itinerary for you if required. Rooms are very clean and neat. It is very safe here as well. Breakfast is also very interesting. The staffs could even remember what are your likes and dislikes. Has a cozy lounge free access to computer and hot drinks. Free WIFI is available in the hotel as well. The hotel also has a centralized location and could access practically everywhere in London through the tube or bus. Excellent service. I will definitely recommend this hotel to those who are going to London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YWR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel has easily the most attentive team of staff. They replied all my emails pertaining to my booking promptly and have assisted in every way possible to ensure that we have a good stay here. The room is a bit small but very functional and has a wonderful heating system which ensured that we get plenty of hot water every time! It has a bus stop nearby and various train stations within walking distance. The staff and owner would happily assist with travel recommendations too. Plus, Oxford street is within walking distance! Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplicious_sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I decided to make a reservation because lots of people recommend this hotel here in Brazil and in Trip Advisor. The price was good. The portuguese waitress were very nice with us during the breakfast. I'll totally come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaAmaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed in November for 5 night in a twin en suite room. The room itself was small but cleverly laid out and so you can find space for your belongings (and shopping). Clean!!!. The shower was a major plus as it was large with plenty of hot water. We stayed in the past in an a Hotel on a similar level on the same street, where the shower was unbearably small. For the location we felt it was real value for money. The free Wi-fi in the rooms and the fast computers in the lounge were a plus. Most importantly the staff were very nice and helpful. Bottom line we were happy to come back to the room at the end of a long day out. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNI27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We chose to stay here for 6 nights in November because of 2 key considerations - the location and the price. The location is in Bloomsbury, very close to Goodge Street station (Northern line, great for visits to Leicester Square for us homesick Asians) and within walkable distance to Tottenham Court station (even in the cold).

Room was basic and it was really no frills which wasn't surprising (we paid only 90+ pounds a night for a room with attached toilet) but I have to admit a little disappointing especially since we had just come from a delightful frill-full B&B, Hotel Ceilidh-Donia (75 pounds a night) in Edinburgh. But no shower gel, shampoo in your room at Hotel Ridgemount so remember to bring your own.

Breakfast was bacon, egg, tomato and sometimes sausage, cereal, tea or coffee and orange juice everyday. The breakfast servers were very courteous and friendly, but don't expect variety in food choices. And please don't make the nice servers rattle off what's available that day. It's the same everyday, no point asking.

The only sour point about our stay was that we got a room on the ground floor (which was ok because there's no elevator so it's such a chore to drag your heavy luggage if any up the stairs) and the room was near the main door so everyday in the mornings and late nights (sometimes) we could hear the doorbell buzz. It was rather annoying but we were hardly in the room and I wear ear plugs to sleep so we didn't ask for a change of room. If you are a light sleeper, take note.

The elderly Mrs Rees (I assume) was very kind and helpful. The hotel also has plenty of maps, a lounge with computers for your use. Overall, a pleasant stay but don't manage your expectations. It's budget accommodation in a great location, nothing more.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngauntysg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#99 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#245 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Star Hotel B&B
#65 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
The Hide London
#54 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgemount Hotel

Property: Ridgemount Hotel
Address: 65-67 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in London
#186 Family Hotel in London
#214 Business Hotel in London
#252 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ridgemount Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ridgemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridgemount Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing