We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”
Review of Ridgemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ridgemount Hotel
Ranked #130 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days in a family room. The hotel was a good price, as London goes. There is a very nice feel to the hotel, and the proprietors are very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnTunstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    460
    90
    26
    16
See reviews for
346
314
214
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a 3 bed room at the top 3rd floor. Expect to carry your suitcases. Room was small and the floor was absolutely not straight. OK if you find that charming. A bit noise from the street is expected, but not a huge problem for us. Bathroom was fine. Breakfast was very good with nice service at the table. Egg and bacon, cerials and toast available. Coffee, tea, milk and juice. You can get very good help with travel information in London. Very helpful man, looked like the twin brother of late Norwegian film critic Pål Bang Hansen. "Living room" had a coffee machine, two computers and a tv, and books. OK place for a change from the business hotels. Not a place to stay if you spend much time in your room, otherwise fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uragut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A colleague recommended this hotel and I had been considering it for while. Very glad that we stayed here. The staff were very welcoming, resourceful and helpful. Service came with a smile also which, sadly, wasn't evident in many other places in London. Anything you wanted to know the proprietors, the Rees family, were only too willing to help and were genuinely interested in you having a fantastic experience in or outside of London. Our family room was always kept clean and the wi-fi signal was strong. The hotel was very busy but the service didn't suffer because of it. Free tea and coffee. They will even look after your luggage if you arrive early or need to leave later - very accommodating.

Room Tip: Only possible gripe was the family room on the ground floor was right next to the TV/Internet/lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrugalB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

With a limited budget but little tolerance for the cleanliness, basic comfort and convenience of accommodation, I was really glad to have found this nice and cozy hotel in central London. Read the trip advisors reviews before I booked and am happy to confirm that all the positive comments about it were pretty fair and accurate.

The hotel is conveniently located in Bloomsbury (zone 1) with bus stops just across the street, and several tube stations within 5 mins walking distance (eg. Goodge Street and Russell Square stations). It is close to the British Museum (along the way to the Russell Square station), and just around the corner opposite to the hotel there is a large Waterstone bookstore. You can buy basic stuffs from Boots, M&S, little Waitrose nearby the Goodge Street station. As it is within the university area, you feel pretty safe walking around even at night. On the other hand, you can also easily walk to the busy streets in the West End in around 20 mins.

We stayed in a double en-suite which was really small - but that was expected and I guess pretty much the norms for hotels in London. Besides, what could you expect for just over £90 a night with breakfast included? Other than the size, the room was clean and comfortable. The free in-room wifi connection added great value as we were able to google our way and plan ahead the transportation before starting our trip everyday. The English breakfast served every morning was also great - we always left the dining table with a full stomach and this saved us a lot as we found it rather expensive eating outside most of the times.

All the staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The hotel owner, Mr. Rees usually shown up during breakfast time and would check if we have already planned for our day and give helpful traveling tips from time to time. Mrs. Rees is also wonderful and really really nice too. She suggested us going around by bus instead of tube which turned out to be very good advice as it was more comfortable, much cheaper, and allowed us to actually see more about the city. The local bus system is indeed well connected and easy to travel with as long as you google the route and bus stop locations in advance.

Overall I am very satisfied with this hotel and will definitely stay there again the next time I visit London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

This hotel does its price point spectacularly well. It's tattered, has London-style tiny rooms with rock hard beds and the front is very noisy with traffic on the busy road, but it's spotlessly clean, well serviced, has excellent wifi and a very fine breakfast. The owners are very happy to help our guide you around London and it's in a terrific location. Overall very charming and much better than other places I've stayed at for similar price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank now__voyager_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Ridgemount. I was on my own and I had a sweet little room with a single bed, a desk and a wardrobe, with a window you could open to look out onto the garden. I shared a bathroom, and this was fine, it was always clean and available when I needed it. They have free internet in the lounge area which was really convenient. The breakfast was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great - you can walk to the Tube, or I did a nice walk to Regent St and Oxford steet and Picadilly. Even though it is so convenient, it is a quiet location (you can get a good night's sleep). I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a great hotel if you are not after luxury. Excellent location, near to the tube and Euston Station. The room was small but comfortable, breakfast very good and the staff were both friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#91 of 1,067 in London
1,730 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,067 in London
1,728 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#248 of 1,067 in London
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hide London
#57 of 1,067 in London
941 reviews
Star Hotel B&B
#121 of 1,067 in London
395 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgemount Hotel

Property: Ridgemount Hotel
Address: 65-67 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in London
#186 Family Hotel in London
#214 Business Hotel in London
#252 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ridgemount Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ridgemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridgemount Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing