We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price, clean, fine staff and service”
Review of Ridgemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ridgemount Hotel
Ranked #129 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2011

To set this review in context- our family enjoys traveling in Britain and Europe, and we take the Frommers/Rick Steves approach to our lodging- we are not spending all day in our hotel- only to sleep. We'd rather stay in affordable lodging and spend our money on other things.

We spent 5 nights in London with our children (23 and 21), June 22-27. The Ridgemount lived up to our expectations- affordable, clean and great location. Mr. and Mrs. Rees, Alan and Eddie were pleasant and helpful with suggestions for travel plans. Our room was on the 4th floor- en suite quad- one double and two singles- nice little bathroom, exactly what we needed. Room 32 does face the street and was warm only one night when it got up to 85 during the day. With windows open, fan and sound machine running, we were able to sleep, although some travelers may have found it noisy. Our family runs/walks/bikes/hikes, so doing the steps was not a problem for us. There is a lounge on the first floor with free wireless that was very fast, and a PC that tended to be a little pokey. Coffee and tea machine (free) was a delight, there's also a soda machine for 50p. The breakfast room was bright, airy and cheerful, and morning breakfast was tasty and service was excellent.

Ridgemount is in a superb central location in Bloomsbury, on Gower Street. You can take the Picadilly line direct from Heathrow to the Russell Square station and have a short walk to the hotel, or take the Heathrow Express, as we did, to Paddington, then to Euston Square and a short walk down Gower St to the hotel. A short walk takes you to the Goodge St. station on the Northern Line; around the station are many greaty places to eat, a Tesco is around the corner, and restaurants are numerous on nearby Charlotte St. A block or two north and east of Russell Square is a very nice shopping center with a large Waitrose supermarket. The real treat are the buses that run right down Gower St. in front of the hotel- they go everywhere (get a bus route map when checking in), and you can't beat the view from the upper level of double decker bus- a much better way to see London than traveling by tube.

We met many lovely fellow travelers at the hotel, some of whom had been coming back for years. We under stand why, and we plan to stay at the Ridgemount for future trips to London.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToYourHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,240)
There are newer reviews for Ridgemount Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2011

This place is great. Staff are so friendly and they remember who you are and ask you how your day went regarding any enquiries you had made earlier that day!
The rooms are super comy and you are close to several underground stations.
Breakfast is served to your liking, which the staff are more than willing to do.
It's a lovely place to stay, I highly recommend it. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mon100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Just stayed 5 nights at the Ridgemount and found it to be a great little hotel. The location is perfect for sightseeing, the British museum is down the road and trafalgar square is about 15 minutes walk away. We thought it was the perfect budget hotel. The rooms are quite small but for the price what do you expect? The owners, Mr and Mrs Rees were helpful, and full of good advice. The rooms were cleaned every day and were spotless. Though it is an old building and some of the decor is dated - they are refurbishing at the moment and what they have done so far looks great. All in all, the price location and staff make this a fantastic choice and we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greekst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My husband and I were won over by the rave reviews for this place on TripAdvisor and so booked for six nights.

PROS: It's very, very clean and the location is fantastic; there's access to multiple Tube stations and plenty of shops and restaurants. Several of the main tourist attractions are within a twenty-minute walk.

CONS: I've traveled extensively in the UK and Europe before, so was prepared for lots of steps, no lift, tiny rooms, some noise in a lively city, etc. Our room was on the top floor (room 32), which meant a climb of sixty steps every time, which got pretty wearing after awhile. Once in the room for the night, sleep is close to impossible. The beds are old and rock hard, the pillows like bags of wet sand. Our room faced onto the street, and the traffic noise was just unbearable: periods of silence broken by eardrum-shattering engine revving and wailing sirens racing down the block, all night, every night. We could have closed the window, BUT that brings us to another issue: the room was STIFLINGLY hot and yet it never got above 65F the entire time we were there! We were covered in sweat just sitting still. There was no air movement whatsoever, and I cannot imagine staying this this place in full summer. My husband asked if they had a small fan and was told no.

I agree with other reviews that the male owner, Mr. Rees, is cantankerous, rude, and disagreeable (had no issue with his wife). There is wifi and a computer, but it's very old and slow, like everything else there. There's a machine for tea and coffee in the lounge, and an old soda machine that stole a bunch of our change. Staff was moderately friendly, but nothing above and beyond the norm.

BOTTOM LINE: Budget accomodation has its place, I have no issue paying for a room that is essentially just a place to sleep and shower, and have done so many times, but it's another matter entirely to be SO uncomfortable that you're completely unable to sleep. I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a room that faces the street.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Emydidae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AledRees, Manager at Ridgemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

I am sorry to hear that you and you husband did not enjoy your stay with us. As a family run establishment for the last 50 years we try our best to accommodate all of our guests and are always saddened when a guest leaves unsatisfied. We do change our beds every 2/3 years and the pillows are changed on a much more regular basis than that. If you had let us know that you were unhappy with the pillows then I would have changed them for you to find ones that would be more suitable for you. We try and choose a mattress that is suitable for everyone but unfortunately some people prefer softer while others prefer harder and it is not always possible to get it right.
We do have fans available for all our rooms and I do apologise if you were told there were none as all rooms have them.
Sadly the noise level is out of our control, we have double glazing which does reduce the noise but we are situated in central London.
Unfortunately the building is over 200 years old and we are unable to put a lift in as it is a listed building. If you had informed us that you were not able to climb to the third floor then we would have done our best to move you to a lower floor or could have explained that this was the only room available therefore allowing you the option of choosing whether you wanted to take up the room.
In regards to the soft dink machine ' that stole a bunch of change ' If you had let us know then we would have reimbursed you immediately
I hope your stay did not take away your enjoyment of London and all the wonderful thing to do and see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I was excited to stay at the Ridgemount Hotel based on the reviews on here - and was prepared to deal with the deficiencies such as a small room. For the price, my wife and I looked at this as budget accommodations,

We were put in a room facing the street on the top floor - and then proceeded to spend 6 nights not sleeping. After walking up 59 steps to our room, we then sweat in bed hoping against hope that the room might cool down.

Despite the daytime temperature never topping 65 outside, and us leaving the window open all day while we were out, the room itself never dropped below 75. It was sweltering.

To make matters worse, at night we had to close the window because the noise outside was unbearable. Now, I know about noisy streets - I grew up in New York City. But this was a whole new level of noisy. Between the cars, the ambulances (there is a hospital down the street) and the drunk college kids - it was impossible to get rest.

I asked the front desk for a fan, and was told they had none. I can't even imagine what it is like there in August!

Next time I'll pay more for better accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dkaplan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AledRees, Manager at Ridgemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

I am sorry to hear about your negative stay with us. Please read my reply that I sent to your wife above and I hope this answers and addresses a lot of your issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for two nights and would definitely stay there again. Its location is within easy walking distance to the Goodge Street, Euston, and Warren tube stations, and the British Museum is only a ten-minute walk away. The staff is very helpful and helped me arrange a cost-effective ride via mini-cab to Heathrow for a very early morning departure. There is a computer in the lounge, along with a coffee and tea machine, London travel books, and comfortable chairs.

Room Tip: Room 20 is a great option if traveling solo.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IdahoBased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here , close to tube and in central london.Walking distance to oxford St. If you have a room at the top level it can get rather hot in summer but you can open the window. Breakfast is very nice and staff are friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaynz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#77 of 1,072 in London
1,781 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#268 of 1,072 in London
1,757 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#260 of 1,072 in London
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgemount Hotel

Address: 65-67 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#76 Best Value Hotel in London
#186 Family Hotel in London
#214 Business Hotel in London
#252 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $104 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ridgemount Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ridgemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridgemount Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing