We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crescent Hotel
Ranked #509 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was a great base for us as we were visiting different areas of London and not too far away from anywhere. Convenient for Euston. Quiet area. Clean hotel, friendly staff who were very helpful. Breakfast was lovely, especially the poached eggs. Will stay here again. Extremely comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Great family hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlhjkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    110
    41
    17
    1
See reviews for
78
39
51
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were in London for four nights: two adults and a 9-year-old. We needed family lodging and wanted to save money…meaning we wanted to be close to transportation but NOT in the city center. We also don't see our hotel as anything more than a place to safely keep our things and sleep.

We really lucked out here. The Crescent is located near THREE train stations, all an easy walk. It is also very near the British Museum, the Charles Dickens Museum, the British Library and a great (there's a ZIP LINE!) playground. There are also several tasty and very reasonably priced restaurants and pubs within blocks.

The hotel was nice: clean and comfortable. We had a room with three beds on the back side of the hotel, so there was no noise from outside. The guests were also quiet, but the building is old, so there is always a certain level of noise when people are coming or going. Nothing a decent pair of earplugs didn't solve. There is also breakfast included, and there was MORE than enough food in the full English breakfast offered. The wifi was adequate. And the staff was friendly and helpful.

We had en-suite full bath. But I will mention that all of the shared bathrooms were VERY clean and updated. There is no lift and there is also no air conditioning. Neither of these were an issue for us, but it is worth mentioning. Housekeeping was outstanding…each day we came home to our son's stuffed bear in a new pose.

Room Tip: We had en-suite full bath. But I will mention that all of the shared bathrooms were VERY clean and u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Endoftired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I chose the hotel because of its price and proximity to St.Pancras station (less than 10m walk). I was happy with my stay there, it is very central and an easy walk to public transportation and attractions like the British Museum. The staff is very helpful. There is a computer and printer available for guests, which is useful, in addition to wifi (spotty at times). Breakfast is a standard English breakfast, which was good. The architecture and design were charming, felt very much like I was in Britain, not like a lot of modern hotels where you could be anywhere. On the downside, it was old-fashioned in other regards, too. There is no elevator, only stairs, and they get quite narrow, which is a concern if you have limited mobility or a lot of luggage. The rooms were clean, but they could be refreshed. I had a sink in my room with separate spigots for hot and cold water, which I hadn't seen in years. It was fine, but if you're used to modern hotels it can be a bit of a surprise. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frauchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is great for travelers who want easy access to central London. I could easily take the tube from Russell Square and walk to the British Museum. The neighborhood is full of cute cafés and restaurants. Breakfast is included in your reservation, which helped me stick to my travel budget. You could serve yourself cereal and juice or order hot breakfast items from the friendly staff. I highly recommend the Crescent Hotel to all travelers!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ngrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear united kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have stayed at several hotels in the street and decided to try this one out as well. The website was helpful. They had builders in and there were signs up with an apology so we expected some noise, but not a drill making a noise at 8 am one morning! The room was old fashioned but very clean, very cosy, with an incredibly large and comfy bed. I liked having a separate loo and shower too as it gave the pair of us some privvacy for our ablutions. Breakfast was good- don't put herbs in the mushrooms though and do clean the plastic tops on the cereal dispensers. There was a lovely friendly young lady in charge of the breakfast room. I liked sitting there eating toast and drinking tea. Of course the location near to the stations, the buses, restaurants, banks, shops and the Tube is a real attraction. Check in and check out was flawless and everyone had a smile on their face.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thequiettraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

1) A pleasant walk from the St. Pancras International train station if you are coming in on the Eurostar to the Crescent.
2) Russell Square station is a few minutes walk - the Picadilly line goes to Heathrow. There is an agent at Russell Square to help with questions and to purchase your tickets.
3) Great traditional pub right around corner from the crescent, as well as a great choice of ethinic restaurants.
4) The free British Museum which contains the Rosette Stone is a pleasant walk from the Crescent, cutting through the beautiful Russell Square Park
5) The crescent is quiet, with a park right across the street
6) The neighborhood is lovely and welcoming

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed in a single room on the third floor (it's a bit of a trek and the last flight of stairs is narrow and windy) with its own shower but shared toilet. Common areas are kept spotless so no worries about sharing the facilities with other guests. For the £65 I paid for the night, it was excellent value considering its central location (five minutes from Russell Square tube, good shopping centre 3 minutes away and loads of eateries/pubs), room(clean bedding, towels provided and shower gel/soap etc) and breakfast thrown in. Breakfast was a little poor (poached egg overdone and only one slice of toast) but perfectly edible. Would question slightly their service thinking - another couple were served their cooked breakfasts a good five minutes apart - even though there was only me and one other in there at the time. Despite previous reviews, I found both the front door staff and the waitresses very polite and efficient.

Room Tip: As others have pointed out, back rooms would be quieter. I had a top floor front room. Little bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrimpysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#439 of 1,068 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#556 of 1,068 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#524 of 1,068 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#822 of 1,068 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#535 of 1,068 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#140 of 1,068 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Hotel

Property: Crescent Hotel
Address: 49-50 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#369 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing