We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
London
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Imperial War Museums
from $11.84
More Info
from $76.36
More Info
Reviews (10,194)
Filter reviews
10,194 results
Traveler rating
6,494
2,439
689
356
216
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6,494
2,439
689
356
216
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holocaust section victoria cross military history ashcroft gallery great museum on display visited this museum museum is free interactive displays ww1 iwm trenches tanks conflict ww2 exhibition vc
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 10,194 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well chosen exhibits to illustrate he effects of war at a personal level - a vehicle used by war correspondents, the suit of clothes given to returned servicemen, the kinds of food that people used to eat during the war. And the heart-rending stories from the Holocaust. Superb.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Murray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed all of the exhibits Seen plenty of war museums but I have never experienced anything like the Holocaust display It was the most comprehensive and moving exhibition Please visit this section. Trying to leave without a tear in your eye is not possible

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank lordy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to this museum for the first time in about 15 years today and it was a real disappointment. The main hall used to be crammed with exhibits but they seem to have got rid of the Jagdpanther and Schwerer Gustav shell along with I’m sure a myriad of other things. The Second World War exhibit is disjointed and overall there are too many locations with right-on bits of art or banal interactive exhibits and too few actual information boards. There was some sort of ‘rebel’ dissonant music band in there today taking up a whole floor and the awful cacophony did help me to envisage some of the horror of being trapped in a location forced to withstand terrible noise, so that was good. Overall this seems more about pushing trendy causes than actually helping to educate people about war.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank mattp945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It’s been many years since I visited, my parents brought me here when I was about 10. There have certainly been a few changes over the years, however all the exhibits and the information on display fascinated me. I also found the Holocaust exhibition both disturbing and moving. Many of the victims are identified by name and there is a short detail about their life. Although not many large exhibits, I suggest if you have the time, visit Duxford, near Cambridge, there is a huge collection of static and working aircraft and vehicles.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank taratupps2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2019

It is a place with lots of history and good place for the war buffs. The museum is not easy to find, but it is walk able from Waterloo station.

Lots of pieces on exhibits, but I really felt there can be more, as I did not see enough from WW2 onwards

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank AChee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews