We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.... but currently closed.”

Imperial War Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.42*
and up
The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off
Ranked #34 of 1,736 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: IWM London tells the stories of people's experiences of modern war from the First World War to conflicts today. Mark the 100th anniversary of the Battle of the Somme over 2016 and experience our ground-breaking First World War Galleries. Our IWM Contemporary art programme continues with work by protest photographer Edward Barber from 26 May - 4 September 2016 and works by artist Mahwish Chishty later in 2016. From 28 July 2016 artist-photographer Edmund Clark presents an exhibition exploring hidden experiences of state control, touching on issues of security, legality and ethics during the 'Global War on Terror'. Discover astonishing acts of bravery in The Lord Ashcroft Gallery: Extraordinary Heroes exhibition, delve into the world of espionage in Secret War and explore key moments of the Second World War in the award-winning Holocaust Exhibition. Find out how Britain's armed forces deal with very different aspects of global security in Fighting Extremes: From Ebola to ISIS, until 13 November 2016.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place. Have visited a few times over the last couple of years. Re-opens in the summer: it was brilliant before- I can't wait to see how they improve it.

Thank mrjc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,485 - 5,489 of 8,649 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

This museum is a amazing place which doesn't totally appeal to people from the title, however this is a very interesting and educational place. The holocaust exhibition Is a amazing place and was truly very touching and sad however overall its something that is good and should not be forgotten and this is a good way to remember.

Thank AndrewW1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Being a WWII history enthusiast I had always wanted to visit the IWM but never had the chance till a few months ago, although part of it was closed (the trenches I think) there was still more than enough to take in. I would like to go back and dedicate at least a half a day as there is so much to see.

Thank bnlu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I originally planned to visit the museum as a fill in one afternoon, but decided to visit in the morning, and see how my day went. WOW!!! What a surprise? The museum is amazing. It is divided into many areas, each area has its own theme. The Hollocaust area is very moving, and so real. The 'Diggers in the trenches' gives a greater sense to what conditions were really like. Enjoyed the area dedicated to Monty. Plenty of tanks, planes and other weapons, etc on display.
I spent all day, and know I could have spent longer. The museum also has special displays, so well worth checking out their website before visiting London, to assist in planning.

1  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellently organized facility (although in temporary quarters for a few month) for the person who has interests which need further research. I emailed them the list of materials I needed at the beginning of the week, set the appointment time for the end of the week, and everything I needed was waiting for me.

Thank VivianSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Imperial War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing