We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend a day.”

Imperial War Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.22*
and up
The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off
Ranked #38 of 1,615 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: IWM London tells the stories of people's experiences of modern war from the First World War to conflicts today. Mark the 100th anniversary of the Battle of the Somme over 2016 and experience our ground-breaking First World War Galleries. Our IWM Contemporary art programme continues with work by protest photographer Edward Barber from 26 May - 4 September 2016 and works by artist Mahwish Chishty later in 2016. From 28 July 2016 artist-photographer Edmund Clark presents an exhibition exploring hidden experiences of state control, touching on issues of security, legality and ethics during the 'Global War on Terror'. Discover astonishing acts of bravery in The Lord Ashcroft Gallery: Extraordinary Heroes exhibition, delve into the world of espionage in Secret War and explore key moments of the Second World War in the award-winning Holocaust Exhibition. Find out how Britain's armed forces deal with very different aspects of global security in Fighting Extremes: From Ebola to ISIS, until 13 November 2016.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Being a WWII history enthusiast I had always wanted to visit the IWM but never had the chance till a few months ago, although part of it was closed (the trenches I think) there was still more than enough to take in. I would like to go back and dedicate at least a half a day as there is so much to see.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bnlu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,894
    1,888
    565
    298
    187
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised by this venue”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I originally planned to visit the museum as a fill in one afternoon, but decided to visit in the morning, and see how my day went. WOW!!! What a surprise? The museum is amazing. It is divided into many areas, each area has its own theme. The Hollocaust area is very moving, and so real. The 'Diggers in the trenches' gives a greater sense to what conditions were really like. Enjoyed the area dedicated to Monty. Plenty of tanks, planes and other weapons, etc on display.
I spent all day, and know I could have spent longer. The museum also has special displays, so well worth checking out their website before visiting London, to assist in planning.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Research source”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellently organized facility (although in temporary quarters for a few month) for the person who has interests which need further research. I emailed them the list of materials I needed at the beginning of the week, set the appointment time for the end of the week, and everything I needed was waiting for me.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank VivianSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique place unique location”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Housed in Bedlam, it is well organized facility with a variety of exhibitions that will keep military history buffs satisfied, as well as those who dislike military history. The latter should be satisfied that the museum reports on the wars without necessarily glorifying the wars. I have visited the museum on my own and with several friends. They were impressed with quality and variety at the museum. Captain Bligh's house is a cross the street and there is a nice pizza place near the park as well. It is nice to get out of the touristy area of town as well. I have always walked there from a tube station.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Digem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“went as a school helper”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

been several times and always interests me. From the displays to the realistic blitz areas its ideal for all people and ages . Easy access , i went as a school helper with young children and they didn't get bored. really educational day.

Helpful?
Thank dkwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Imperial War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing