We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Tad Expensive!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spiazzo - CLOSED

Spiazzo
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Tad Expensive!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Visited on a Saturday evening for a family dinner and the place was almost empty, maybe a sign that it is not the most popular place in Crouch End!
The restaurant has the feel of an American Diner with a row of double padded bench seats around the table adjacent to large glass windows and the area was dimly lit.
The Menu contained all the typical items for an Italian Restaurant, Starters, Pastas, Carnes, etc.
The food when served was reasonable and portion size was not an issue. A good selection of wines and beers are available, but I felt for the price paid overall, there are better options in Crouch End.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    7
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dissapointing Spiazzo”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

My partner and I went to this resturant last weekend for a special meal and we were sorry we chose this place .Both the waitress and the cashier were off hand, impatient and unfriendly
We were shown to a tiny poorly lit table , although it was the middle of the day I could hardly see my meal. No one offered to take our coats or show us a place to hang them, as we unbundled and there was no where to put them around the table. My partners meal was so salty it was almost inediable. We complained to the waitress but she rebuffed us saying there was nothing wrong with it. I expected at least a replacement meal or for the complaint to be taken seriously. We will never go back

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

enjoyed a very good lunch today at spiazzo. service from very friendly staff, coupled with good food.would recommend to friends and family.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eldredca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Appalling!! Do not go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

After going for a swim, I went with my little one for some lunch.
I was truly appalled at the abominable behaviour of the manager who's rudeness boarded on the abusive. He shouted at me in front of all the customers when I desperately tried to pay after waiting ages due to my baby needing to.
The food was disgusting - microwaved pasta with some boiled vegetables. It represented something similar to a quick supper at home on a Monday night when I can't be bothered to cook.
If you like decent food or decent service you will fail miserably to find either here! There are loads of other great places in Crouch End where the food is good and the service excellent.
To sum up, one if the worst restaurant experiences of our lives!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bestforbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian food with good service and mediocre ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I very much enjoyed the food at Spiazzo, although I felt that the ambiance reflected something much more down-market than the prices otherwise indicated. I very much enjoyed the roasted fig salad, with tasty prosciutto and mozzarella, although the wild boar stew was only a 7 out of 10. Service was appropriately attentive...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank intrepidvoyager01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiazzo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing