We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truelly fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #166 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Truelly fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

Wonderful hotel. Great service. Now they can check even you in in the whisky bar. The card was already filled out, luggage disappeared to the room and able to get my emails because they don't charge you for wifi. This hotel is ahead of the game.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    493
    150
    68
    42
See reviews for
411
1,038
99
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Earth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

Athenaeum Hotel and Apartments offer spacious luxury living with a family twist…think video game coffee tables, game boards, toy baskets and milk and cookies delivered to your room every night. Your kids will never want to go home! Occupying a row of Edwardian townhouses in a classic English neighborhood, the apartments offer plenty of room for the whole family to spread out as well as the convenience of a full kitchen, washer and dryer, dining area and more. This hotel offers parents top design and luxury while catering to kids of all ages offering a home away from home you’ve always wanted (if it weren’t for those pesky kids leaving all their toys everywhere) atmosphere!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWithKidsTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

This gem of a hotel has one of the best people. From the bellhop to the receptionists, they were all very warm and welcoming to all their guests. I enjoyed the fact that the tall guy up front (it's too bad I didn't get his name but he is hard to miss...tall English man with white hair) always says "Welcome home!" with his deep voice and trademark smile whenever you get back to the hotel. He is my favorite guy there. The waiters in the restaurants were also kind enough to explain how the breakfast menu works (there were 2 types of breakfast available) and the different courses for lunch. The amount attention given to us was just right, they aim to please but are not over eager to do so. The big Marks and Spencers is just about .7 miles away (Oxford Street) while Harrods and Harvey Nichols would be approximately the same distance (.7 to .8 miles) but towards a different direction. The Original Sightseeing Tour buss has a stop across the street so this added to the convenience of this hotel's location. Numerous restaurants are within walking distance. The room and toilet were quite small but they were very clean. Other than the room size, there is really nothing to complain about. Another plus was that the internet was free.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabulousMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

Stayed for the weekend.
Staff very friendly and helpful.The room was spacious and very comfortable and recently refurbished.The hotel location is great for getting around west london.Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

Check-in was welcoming but the orginial room I was assigned was not. It was at the back of the hotel, very dark, small with a disabled facilites bathroom. When I requested to change rooms, reception were great. They upgraded me to a better room on the side of the hotel which was much more spacious, comfortable and hospitable.
Stayed there for 2 nights, the doorman was very friendly and helpful and I would recommend this hotel to those of you who are looking for a great location in the centre of london.
PS- the complimentary soft drinks, snacks and proper coffee in the rooms was a refreshing change.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

Having frequented the Athenaeum for a variety of occassions previously, I booked the Athenaeum expecting the warmth, generosity of staff and relaxed luxury that I have come to expect from this establishment. However I did know that the hotel has been slowly refurbishing over the past year and so hoped that the magical qualities that had
prescribed its quiet charm had not been disrupted. We were not disappointed. On entering the hotel for check in we were told that there would be a short ten minute wait for our room and were shown into the beautifully appointed hotel bar where we were served complimentary mango sorbet chocolate cones whilst we waited. It is hidden touches such as these that just serve to create the delightful ambience where you are consistantly surprised and provoke some very precious memories. After being shown up to our room by the receptionist we set our eyes on a fabulously quirky design that consisted of all the most dapper of British qualities- humour, eccentricity, glamour and complete style, an elegant setting for an elegant trip. Throughout our stay we could not have felt more welcomed by the staff who really do act as though they are just there to create every detail for your utter ease and also enjoyed some superb cocktails and wine in the beautiful bar. A higly recommended place to stay, thank you so much the Athenaeum!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlottePixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed four nights in a 2BR/2BA apt (actually two one bedroom apartments opened up to connect). We had terrific service the entire time from all of the staff- -desk, door, bell, concierge, even when my temper flared over the DVD and airconditioning. This was clearly 5 star service. Any time we asked for ice, or anything, someone arrived very promptly. Ditto previous poster regarding location- -could not be better. I would also mention that the Shepherd's Square area of Mayfair is a three minute walk from the apartments and is a great place to grab a late breakfast or visit a pub.

The rooms were nicely furnished and housekeeping was very good. Our apartment could have used a little fresh paint and carpet, and a microwave. Also, one side of our apartment had a strangely controlled air conditioning unit and I had to call for help with it. Later, I discovered a laminated card in the drawer of one of the tables that explained its use. I'm sure a previous occupant had put the card in a drawer. However, it was really handy to have the small washer/dryer unit in the kitchen, and the concierge had placed an XBOX in the unit for my son. We had plenty of space to spread out. The apartment felt like a home away from home.

We had one breakfast in the hotel and it was fabulous, and quite expensive. The restaurant was very stylishly decorated and appeared to be very popular.

I would definitely return and recommend it to anyone looking for an apartment, but also with the service of a fine hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rileypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#63 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#171 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#97 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#124 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#131 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing