We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent overnight at the Athenaeum ... as usual” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #167 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent overnight at the Athenaeum ... as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and I spent a mid-week night here. We stay at this hotel about once every 6 months and it's a good experience. The location is fantastic: 10 mins stroll for Buckingham Palace & Bond Street; 15 to Knightsbridge and Regent Street etc. The hotel is modern and efficient; the rooms are very well equipped: mini bar, free-standing hangers, iron etc.. On arriving in our room this trip our Air con had tripped-out, but a call to Front Desk had a Maintenance Man arrive and fix it inside 5 minutes - great service. Also, great to have no-nonsense, free wifi with a good response time. All-in-all: recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review; its great to hear from our regular guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,407
    473
    142
    65
    42
See reviews for
400
1,003
96
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Another overnight stay at this fabulous hotel. We were able to check in on arrival at 11am, room upgraded to a park view, gorgeous! The service, as always, was absolutely excellent. Everyone at the hotel is polite and with a smile aswell. The staff will go out of their way for you, always aiming for exceptional service - and always delivering. The Athenaeum has fast become our London home! I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a park view with a bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are thrilled that you think of us as your London home and we look forward to welcoming you home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have stayed at The Athenaeum many many times over the years, as both a business traveler and vacationer. This is an exceptionally elegant and welcoming hotel, with outstanding concierge services, helpful staff and exceeding comfortable accommodation, especially the apartments. The location couldn't be better -- across from the Green Park, a quick walk to Fortnum & Mason, and very near London's most exclusive shopping districts, including my favourite, Jermyn Street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter8623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for such a warm review; we love hearing from our regular guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay in London at this Hotel. Have stayed before but never got round to writing a review. Had a fabulous park view suite (free upgrade). Great room - lots of nice touches such as Nespresso coffee m/c, fresh fruit platter delivered, little freezer with ice-cream in it. After a tortuous train journey in decided to chill in the room's lounge area with room service club sandwich and a bottle of rose - it was delicious. Location perfect for short walk to theatre and lovely stroll next morning through Green Park and St James Park. Breakfast options very extensive with some quirky appetising options (corn beef hash, kidneys on toast). Staff really polite and helpful without the stuffiness you sometimes get with London hotels. Will be back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davesimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
It is wonderful to hear that you would like to come back and stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed here on business for a week. I arrived before noon after an overnight flight to LHR. I was so pleased to have a room ready. The check in process was easy and the front desk staff were pleasant and welcoming. My room was a good size and was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was big by European standards which was helpful since I was there for so many days. The hotel is right next to Hyde Park and everything is an easy subway or taxi ride away. The restaurant is good but a little pricey considering the close by options. I like the Athenaeum and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingcoroner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night and was pretty pleasurable

Beds comfy room decor nice

Felt very special accept the spa area was not working :(

Would definitely go back but not in a huge hurry as a bit pricey but guess u get what you pay for and it is Central London and a plush hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cakery_bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your great review, we are glad you loved our comfy beds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed here for one night when I had to come to London on short notice for business. I got to the hotel around noon and was pleasantly surprised to find my room ready. It was a good size, nicely furnished, floor to ceiling windows, a spacious bathroom, etc. The location is very good - 5 minutes from Green Park tube station and Mayfair. Will definitely come back next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wjr06831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are delighted that you will be returning and look forward to welcoming you back to your London home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#61 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#187 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#197 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,953 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing