We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with the personal touch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #153 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Right in the centre of London the location of this hotel could not be better - within walking distance of many of central London's attractions. At the same time the hotel achieves the difficult task of providing a genuinely warm welcome for its guests and achieving a personal level of service not often encountered in other London hotels.

The hotel layout is a little quirky so takes a bit of getting used to, but it also gives a real historic feel to the building which adds to its charms. The rooms are a good size and well-appointed with non-alcholic items in the mini-bar fridge provided free of charge - an excellent idea that many other hotels would do well to follow.

Above all it is the level of personal attention given by the staff to the guests which puts this hotel above many others in its class and which gives the hotel its well-deserved reputation. It certainly means that I would return again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Channelhopper30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

We are so pleased you felt so at home with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,452)
There are newer reviews for The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,236 - 1,242 of 2,454 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel in June 2014. Overall the hotel is well located both for touristic attractions as well as next to Tube Station, which makes the hotel very comfortable. I have been also please with the service provided as well. Very good hotel and highly recommended both for business and leisure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you Martin, we hope to welcome you back to your London home again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

A Outstanding hotel. The genuine friendly reception we received on our arrival on Saturday, to the complimentary suprise anniversary cake, even the turn down of our bed was made special. I couldn't of asked for better service. I would like to thank everyone we met during our stay.

We look forward to returning in the future! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for such a warm review, we are delighted we could make your stay so special!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

June 2014. My wife booked online as one of those secret Hotel location for my birthday. Have to say, I wasn't disappointed with the choice. Great location opposite Green Park and access to Tube and Buses within minutes.
Had a standard room with no view but room itself was lovely and well maintained. Not sure I would ever pay the published rate for that view.
Staff were very attentive and service was excellent.
My only gripe would be that the cost of Breakfast was excessive. $95 for 2 people for a cooked breakfast is amongst the most expenses I have every had. It should be something special but unfortunately is was very average.
Would I stay again. Absolutely but will eat out for breakfast
Mark and Kim

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for a great review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a beautiful selection of rooms, most with views over Green Park and the cobbled streets of Mayfair, which are all bookable online or over the phone. We hope to welcome you back to your London home again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Very Good-the location: beautifully situated across from Green Park, walking distance to the west end and handy for Hyde Park and Buckingham Palace
Very Good-the staff from the excellent doormen through the friendly concierge and front of house staff. Trained to make you feel at home.
Good -the entrance lobby and bar areas: atmospheric and comfortable
Good -the way the rooms are appointed with Nespresso machines, free snacks and soft drinks etc etc
Not So good: smallish rooms for a 5 star with a lot of kitchen fan noise preventing window opening. Not good on a summer night.

Even booking through secret hotel sites attracts a hefty cost which the room didn't quite justify.
But nice people and a nice place.

Room Tip: Keep away from the kitchen fans. Pret a manger is just down the road with the beautiful park oppo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThePilgrim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for our nice review. We have a whole host of rooms and suites and would be delighted to welcome you back to your London home again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Have stayed in this great hotel on two occasions and its lovely - perfect location for shopping in London and for lunch in Langans brasserie, and a visit to the Royal academy. The reception staff are really helpful and although on my last stay the room was 'compact' it had everything you'd want including a iPod dock and nespresso coffee machine. Look out for special offers to get a good rate. Highly recommended. Can't comment on the food as I've not eaten here yet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review Daisy, we love hearing from regular guests. We create dining offers all the time too so hopefully we can tempt you to dine with us next time too ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has just a great location, within walking distance of several tourist attractions as well the main shopping streets. We arrived late and were upgraded to a large room with a view over Green Park. The room was quiet despite overlooking a busy street. I appreciated the luxury to enjoy the free soft drinks, water, chocolates from the minibar (alcohol consumption for an extra cost) and free tea and Nespresso coffee. The staff was friendly and helpful. I also liked the convenience of the American and European electrical plugs in the room for the travelers without the UK power adapters as well as the free wifi. My only concern was concerning the breakfast which lacked the professionalism and quality of the rest of the hotel (loud and clumsy staff, poor choices of the buffet and Mayfair prices). We ended up having a delicious breakfast at a nearby coffee for a fraction of the price. The only hiccups are for the false fire alarm in the afternoon as well as the lack of warm water one morning (the latter being compensated by a personal note from the manager as well as a bottle of champagne). I will definitively come back if I can match a future visit with a good offer on the deal.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Baryla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a warm review. We hope to welcome you back to your London home again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#54 of 1,072 in London
1,109 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#135 of 1,072 in London
1,749 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,072 in London
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $330 - $684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing