We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“experiencing a champagne aftetnoon tea here at the Athenaeum Hotel is just simply a pure delight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #148 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Having arrived at this hotel to celebrate my sister and her best friends 50th Birthdays with a champagne afternoon tea, we as a party of 14 knew from the offset we were going to be spoilt for choice and we were right! We were warmly greeted and led to a private room where we had the whole area to ourselves and each of us were amazed at the whole ambience and friendliness of the hotel and staff who were assigned to us during our stay. The 'afternoon tea' itself was a pure indulgence,,, just when we thought we'd had all the delights the chef had prepared us a seperate dessert trolly was brought in with more delicacies to choose from and the rose blossom champagne was devine!! An absolute must for future visits to London and worth every penny,,,,Thank You

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,459 - 1,465 of 2,479 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this hotel enough. The whole experience from the minute you're greeted by the doorman on arrival, to the time you check out, this hotel offers exceptional service and quality.
ALL the staff are helpful and welcoming.
Book without hesitation. We're already saving for our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teesd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Only stayed for 1 night but would definately recommend and would stay again.
Excellent location for all areas, rooms clean and the extras in the mini bar are great when dropping off shopping to help re-vitalise before the next trip out!
Staff very professional but friendly - make you feel welcome.
Only negative is the brick wall outside the window if you are down the side of the hotel - not a major issue as how long do you spend in a room in London and as we booked this as a Top Secret hotel we did not expect to get a room with a view so was not a problem for us.
Look forward to visiting again next time in London - thanks everyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park as the brick wall down the side is not too amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENISE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just stayed here for a few days and couldn't wait to write a review. As you enter the hotel you just get a feeling of dependable, solid quality, which continues through check-in, through to your room, and throughout your stay. I don't mind a bit of style over substance in its place but this has both and it really shows. The hotel is well positioned on Picadilly, edging into Mayfair, 10-15 mins easy, level stroll from Picadilly Circus, Regent Street, and Shaftesbury Ave, and Buckingham Palace a pleasant 10 min stroll through Green Park directly opposite, and Green Park tube about 5 mins away too. The hotel has all the features of a larger chain five star but with the decor and attention to detail of a boutique. It's a family hotel and the pride shows. The bars and restaurant are beautiful and the tasting menu was superb in value as well as quality. The rooms are large enough, immaculate, and equipped to a standard you'd expect, with a free soft minibar extending to snacks and juices, replenished daily, rather than the token bottle of water and can of pop each that these free mini bars can tend towards. But what I really want to talk to you about is the service. To me perfect service isn't stiff and starchy - who wants to feel like their headmaster's serving them? - or grovelly and subservient (ie creepy and awkward), but that pitch-perfect balance of utterly professional, personalised, capable, experienced, warm, friendly and genuinely interested in making you comfortable whatever the situation, and we felt that from every member of staff we interacted with - and there were plenty, as they really make the effort to interact, be it the restaurant staff suggesting menu options, the reception staff asking about your plans, or the doorman murmuring 'have a good day, Mrs Leech' as he opens the door for you. A lot of five star places can either make you feel as though they are doing a favour by allowing you to frequent them, are so fawning that you don't even want to meet their eye, or offer 'five star service by numbers' - it's all there, just very 2-dimensional and wooden. Here it is effortless and comes as second nature to every staff member. Excellent accommodation in every sense of the word! I'm emphasising this point because we find it surprisingly hard to find the genuine article, but The Athenaeum has it in bag-loads. All the other benefits of this fantastic hotel slot perfectly into place around that core of quality, and that reason we'll be back whenever we are in London. Can't wait.

Room Tip: I'd say ask the hotel, as with everything I'm sure they'll accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We're just about to enjoy our third visit to The Athenaeum for afternoon tea - it's become a regular birthday treat.
Unlike other hotels, The Athenaeum provide silver service with the friendly waiting staff bringing a tray of sandwiches to the table and serving them with tongs. If you have anyone fussy, as we have, you can contact the hotel ahead of your booking and request an alternative to one of the fillings - the restaurant manager is extremely helpful.
After you have had enough sandwiches, a cake stand with scones and hot crumpets arrives complete with clotted cream and home made preserves. But the piece de resistance is the cake trolley with around 20 different cakes and pastries to choose from. The best thing is that they do not restrict you, you can have as much as you like - if you've got room!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Having looked at better known hotels I plumped for the Athenaeum for a special wedding anniversary stay. I had been there for lunch and recalled it being good then. From the moment Jim, the concierge, welcomed us to when we checked out with such speed the service was faultless. The room was large and well equipped and the location just perfect for exploring London.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oh2BATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel with very friendly staff. Beautiful views over green park (park view rooms only). Right next to hyde park corner so very central too. I would recommend this hotel beyond any other in central london.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#56 of 1,076 in London
1,114 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#132 of 1,076 in London
1,803 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,076 in London
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#121 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $326 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing