We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ultimate five star service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #158 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ultimate five star service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just stayed here for a few days and couldn't wait to write a review. As you enter the hotel you just get a feeling of dependable, solid quality, which continues through check-in, through to your room, and throughout your stay. I don't mind a bit of style over substance in its place but this has both and it really shows. The hotel is well positioned on Picadilly, edging into Mayfair, 10-15 mins easy, level stroll from Picadilly Circus, Regent Street, and Shaftesbury Ave, and Buckingham Palace a pleasant 10 min stroll through Green Park directly opposite, and Green Park tube about 5 mins away too. The hotel has all the features of a larger chain five star but with the decor and attention to detail of a boutique. It's a family hotel and the pride shows. The bars and restaurant are beautiful and the tasting menu was superb in value as well as quality. The rooms are large enough, immaculate, and equipped to a standard you'd expect, with a free soft minibar extending to snacks and juices, replenished daily, rather than the token bottle of water and can of pop each that these free mini bars can tend towards. But what I really want to talk to you about is the service. To me perfect service isn't stiff and starchy - who wants to feel like their headmaster's serving them? - or grovelly and subservient (ie creepy and awkward), but that pitch-perfect balance of utterly professional, personalised, capable, experienced, warm, friendly and genuinely interested in making you comfortable whatever the situation, and we felt that from every member of staff we interacted with - and there were plenty, as they really make the effort to interact, be it the restaurant staff suggesting menu options, the reception staff asking about your plans, or the doorman murmuring 'have a good day, Mrs Leech' as he opens the door for you. A lot of five star places can either make you feel as though they are doing a favour by allowing you to frequent them, are so fawning that you don't even want to meet their eye, or offer 'five star service by numbers' - it's all there, just very 2-dimensional and wooden. Here it is effortless and comes as second nature to every staff member. Excellent accommodation in every sense of the word! I'm emphasising this point because we find it surprisingly hard to find the genuine article, but The Athenaeum has it in bag-loads. All the other benefits of this fantastic hotel slot perfectly into place around that core of quality, and that reason we'll be back whenever we are in London. Can't wait.

Room Tip: I'd say ask the hotel, as with everything I'm sure they'll accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,506
    503
    155
    70
    44
See reviews for
429
1,059
103
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We're just about to enjoy our third visit to The Athenaeum for afternoon tea - it's become a regular birthday treat.
Unlike other hotels, The Athenaeum provide silver service with the friendly waiting staff bringing a tray of sandwiches to the table and serving them with tongs. If you have anyone fussy, as we have, you can contact the hotel ahead of your booking and request an alternative to one of the fillings - the restaurant manager is extremely helpful.
After you have had enough sandwiches, a cake stand with scones and hot crumpets arrives complete with clotted cream and home made preserves. But the piece de resistance is the cake trolley with around 20 different cakes and pastries to choose from. The best thing is that they do not restrict you, you can have as much as you like - if you've got room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Having looked at better known hotels I plumped for the Athenaeum for a special wedding anniversary stay. I had been there for lunch and recalled it being good then. From the moment Jim, the concierge, welcomed us to when we checked out with such speed the service was faultless. The room was large and well equipped and the location just perfect for exploring London.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oh2BATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel with very friendly staff. Beautiful views over green park (park view rooms only). Right next to hyde park corner so very central too. I would recommend this hotel beyond any other in central london.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My friends and I booked two rooms at the Athenaeum for a birthday surprise on 26th October. From the moment we arrived we could not have asked for more. The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. We were show around our rooms and all the amenities were fully explained. The rooms were amazing - spotless and with everything needed to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We also booked an afternoon tea which was superb - no wonder it was awarded best tea 2012! I would highly recommend the Athenaeum to anyone looking for that something extra special in Mayfair. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkolatsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent one night at the Athenaeum as part of my birthday. The staff were very friendly and the room was great too. It used to be part of an apartment, it was converted into two rooms. This meant we had an external door onto a side street so we didn't have to go through the hotel. Which was lucky, as the route through the hotel to the reception took you through the worlds smallest lift, which seemed like a service lift, and through the dining area with all our luggage. That wasn't particularly nice! That's the only down side to a lovely hotel. It's right next to both green park and Hyde park and walking distance to most London attractions.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CalumMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

In my experience this is the best of the hotels in the Mayfair area. Excellent facilities and more importantly very attentive, capable staff who make you feel welcome and looked after without being in any way stuffy. It's also very well positioned with lovely views if you choose one of the "Park View " rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#57 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#87 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#210 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing