We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #150 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
channel islands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was my first visit to the hotel but I had heard good things and was not dissapointed. My wife and I had an apartment for one nights stay whilst I was over on business and extended the trip to some pre christmas shopping.

The apartment was very spacious and well laid out with everything you could ask for. This is absolutely perfect if you plan to be in London for more than a few days. The drinks etc were complimentary and they even had Ben and Jerrys in the freezer, should you wish.

The staff were extremely accomodating and litterally nothing was too much. It is a rather small hotel but that added to the personal feel of the place. My wife had room service and said it was excellent and timely. Only my wife had breakfast which was included in the room rate which was fortunate as the portions compared to the cost (£27) was not worth it.

Would I stay again,............YES, next week in fact. I hope to become a regular.

Room Tip: Get an Apartment !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanlambotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,564
    520
    162
    72
    46
See reviews for
447
1,097
107
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just had one of my most wonderful afternoon tea experience there. Everything was perfect, food, dessert, tea, venue, service...etc. Sandwiches and cheesecake were exceptional good. Francesco, our waiter, he detailly introduced us menu and all the desserts, and was really friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank purpleandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Sheer class from the time you arrive until departure. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the rooms were stylish and very well equipped - I was placed there by my work - I really hope they put me there the next time I am in town!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Wonderful stay. Everyone was extremely accommodating and the room was sumptuous. The key to any stay is the attention to detail and the staff who work there and this is where I believe the Athenaeum stands out. The kids concierge is wonderful and when we got home our daughter wanted to go back to her 'new' home. If you want a hotel that is ideally placed, looks after you and your children in wonderful comfort then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a charming hotel.

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and very much appreciate the upgraded to a side view room of Green Park.

Firstly we were greeted by a friendly and welcoming face on the entrance. Check-in was extremely professional and quick. They informed us because of our anniversary we were upgraded to a side view of Green Park. We did have a slight issue with a open bottle of juice that had been left in the fridge. Thankfully Marco was on hand not only with a celebration cake for us both but addressed the situation in a very professional and friendly way also restocking the fridge.

Breakfast was a little bit constrained in terms of the size of the restaurant area. We were advised on checking in ,that nine o'clock was far better than arriving later in the morning to be served i breakfast. The young gentleman on the self-service selection was extremely friendly and welcoming cook to order was also of a high standard.

The hotel is very well situated close to the centre. As you walk out of four hotel turn left and within a 10 min walk you are at Piccadilly Circus. Turn right as you come out of the hotel you head towards Marble Arch Park Lane and a top of the main shopping areas Oxford Street and Regent Street it's a very well situated location.

Staff were extremely attentive and a hotel that I recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alipet558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I recently went to a friends baby shower at this hotel, we had afternoon tea and it was excellent. We were not rushed in any way and the cakes, scones, tea and service was 5*.
Would like to say special thanks to our Waiters and waitresses, Maria Potocka, Karolina Kaminska and Laszlo Szabo. Special thanks to Stuart Brown who kept us stocked up with warm scones, which were delicious!

Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Situated in the heart of London the Athenaeum hotel is ideally situated for anyone keen to explore the famous London sights most of which can be reached by foot from here. Situated opposite Green Park (with Buckingham Palace on the opposite side of the park) it is a relatively modern hotel, not huge but well presented and with friendly staff eager to make you comfortable. Unlike many of the grander hotels (Dorchester, Ritz, Claridges, Savoy etc) afternoon tea is served in the Garden room which presents itself as a more intimate room with plush décor and large windows with a vertical garden outside, yes you read it correctly, it's one of the features when observing the hotel from the outside. There is a choice of teas, not a huge choice but well selected green, black and white (four of each I think). I chose an aromatic peach flavoured tea and my partner another white tea both of which were delicious. Decent sized sandwiches with pretty much the usual fillings (beef & horseradish, cream cheese and cucumber, egg and cress, smoked salmon etc) deliciously tasty and refilled as often as you wished were followed by warm home made scones plain or with orange "bits", different and very tasty indeed, presented with clotted cream, strawberry jam and the lightest, fluffiest lemon curd we'd ever tasted (yummy!). Then there are the small individual cakes; mini cheese cake (to die for), strawberry dipped in chocolate, mixed fruit mini tart and champagne jelly with cream topping (divine!)...then the cake trolly is hauled before you so if you have any room left you are invited to try a slice of fruit cake, Victoria sponge cake, lemon drizzle and a host of others (my partner Ian managed the fruit cake and the lemon drizzle both of which he thoroughly enjoyed and his main hobby is baking cakes!) I went for the Victoria sponge which was moist and had a layer of cream and strawberry through it; again utterly delicious. All that for just £29.50 a head was worth every single penny (you also have the options of Champagne for an extra £13)... and possibly vintage for another £20 but You'd have to check that out first..
Value for money 10/10
service 9.5/10
ambience 9.5/10
tea selection 9/10
food selection/quality 10/10
Thank you; we'll be back!

Room Tip: N/A (we weren't staying there as we live in London)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#53 of 1,067 in London
1,090 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#166 of 1,067 in London
1,644 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#131 of 1,067 in London
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#127 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing