We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully peacefull superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #155 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
carrickfergus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully peacefull superb service”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked our hotel on secret rooms so didnt really know what to expect, but this hotel was everything it advertised on the website ... and more. We stayed 2 nights, i just wish i could've stayed a little bit longer!!

Room Tip: front facing to enjoy the view of the trees in the park across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susannah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,548
    515
    160
    71
    46
See reviews for
444
1,086
104
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Family of three with one 5 year old stayed for 3 nights. Check in was faultless, when we arrived in the room there was a football, scooter and helmet for the little one along with milk and fruit waiting for him as we requested.

The apartment was well equipped if quite darkly furnished. The bathroom was a little small with an in bath shower which I never like. Plumbing was not noise free. The heating and air conditioning worked. The bed was massive and very comfortable

We had room service on a couple of evenings and it was very limited especially in a child friendly hotel where many people have limited eating out options. The carbonara was pretty awful for a 5 star hotel.

Breakfast splits the opinion of my wife and I. With children I want a full buffet. There is only a cold buffet with the need to order hot breakfast. I felt that the cooked food was mediocre, the porridge was inedible. The cold buffet was lovely.

To reach the apartment from the main hotel it is necessary to go through a service corridor but you have your own entrance on the side street.

The location is excellent.

Service within the hotel is generally excellent

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmY209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I am a person with high expectations. I hesitate to write this because the Anthenaeum was .... flawless.
The staff was great. The room, with Juliet balcony, was big enough that we could open the window (the weather also was perfect) pull up the over-sized chairs and enjoy a coffee from the (free) espresso machine before heading out to walk the city. Speaking of which, the location is so good we only got a cab once during a five day stay. What more can I say.....location, service, no games about showing the worst room first so you feel ok when you actually get what you are paying for.

Flawless.

Room Tip: Try for front of building with a bay window .....unless you want it a little more quiet, then the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I booked this room through Secret Hotels as my usual hotel was full at such short notice.I was picking up my love after a week apart and she was working until early evening.I booked in after congestion charge time and they valet parked my car. Shown to an apartment room next door to the hotel. I was assured this was an upgrade and once inside I agreed. A large room with a huge bed. A great coffee machine and free non-alcoholic minibar. Roomy dressing gowns, slippers and plenty of towels completed the perfect room for a romantic couple who did not want to be disturbed.
I walked around Green Park in the late sunshine admiring the trees and numerous courting couples. It seemed that London had become Paris and love was everywhere. Called in at the new memorial to Bomber Command to honour my departed father and quietly cried for a moment.
Then back to my room for a rest before calling for my car and off to the Isle of Dogs. Picked up Dora and rushed back to the Hotel. A wonderful stay only marred by lack of breakfast in bed. I think we put the request card on the door handle to late. It did not matter as I rise early and Dora likes to sleep. Just across the side road from the hotel is a little shop selling fresh pastries and great chocolate doughnuts and these kept us going until departure at midday for Dora's appointment in Kingston.

Room Tip: If you want some privacy ask for an apartment room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have mixed feelings about writing about this hotel, and to give it a rating. Since, the service is really wonderful and the Hotel is a good hotel. But not really what I expected.

We booked it as a five star luxury Hotel in London, and well to be honest it did not really feel like one. Perhaps it was that our room was in the back and outside the window was just the next block, and the room was quite small, and not really something more special then other less expensive hotels we have stayed in, in London.

The hotel ran out of adaptors, and the hair dryeer was really weak :)

The hotel is nice, the service is wonderful, but as I said not really outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mysolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I booked a night here for my husband's birthday and booked on lastminute.com under secret hotels. When we arrived we were told our room had been upgraded and we were shown to a top floor suite. The room was amazing- gorgeous decor, lounge area, balcony and spa bath and even a secret tv in the bathroom! They even bought a little cake up with candles for my husband.
The location is great and we went for a nice walk around Green park.
Overall a fantastic stay, great hotel, staff were very polite. Would defintely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have stayed here several times, and each visit gets better. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room spacious and lovely. I just can't fault them on anything. They know who you are and how to treat you, what more can a hotel offer? I won't contemplate a visit to London without staying in this lovely venue.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#53 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#173 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#83 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#215 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#125 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing