We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #153 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had bought a spa/lunch deal via Groupon for my boyfriends birthday which seemed very inviting, including a 3 course lunch at the hotels restaurant, bottle of champagne presented with a bow, chocolate covered strawberries, 60 minutes each of a deep muscle massage and full use of the spa facilities. When we first arrived we were told to sit in the restaurants waiting area until a waiter had told us to come into the restaurant, however he did not speak English very well so it was hard to understand what he was exactly saying to us. When we did eventually sit down and order our food, the food was 100% amazing, from beginning to end. In addition to this the staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was warm, clean and classy. Once we had finished we were showed the way to the spa where we were greeted by a few unhappy faces at the spa reception, which immediately put you off wanting to be there. After all a friendly face is one that invites you in. We were showed to our changing rooms and how to use the lockers, then were free to use the spa facilities which were all in one room; sauna, steam room and two hot tubs which were not actually that hot (luke warm). As the Spa was so small and other people were there besides us, it did not feel that intimate or special which is why we decided to head off into the steam room where it was less packed. We then went ahead and had our massages done by two very unhappy people who looked as though they couldn't wait to leave, and unfortunately the massage was not very good at all. On top of all of that we had to then remind them for our champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, it all seemed very unorganised. The only thing which I would go back for would be the amazing lunch with the friendly staff within the hotels restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LolaMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear LolaMonroe,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
I was delighted that you chose to celebrate this special occasion with us at the athenaeum and that you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant.
I am sorry that your experience in the spa was not what you had been expecting and would be grateful to have the opportunity to discuss this with you in more detail.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Wishes,

Wayne Kerrin
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,454)
There are newer reviews for The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,551 - 1,557 of 2,455 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a lovely stay here during the second week of June. This was the second time that my family stayed at the Atheneaum. It is such a pleasure to book rooms and be guaranteed adjoining rooms at booking time. It is such a pleasure to have a small refrigerator in the room stocked with free soda and water. It is a pleasure to have access to free wifi. It is a pleasure to have a robe, slippers, local hairdryer, and converter plugs ready and waiting upon your arrival. It is a pleasure to book tickets to top London shows through the hotel concierge and receive excellent seats. You cannot beat the location or convenience of this wonderful family-friendly hotel. The staff is polite and attentive; and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbychar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was recommended by a work colleague to stay at this hotel and it didn't disappoint. From check in to check out there were no complaints. The location is excellent, the room was newly furnished and overlooked Green Park. Free minibar, lovely toiletries and quality fluffy towels proved this hotel as being one that is up there with some of the best without being 'stuffy'. Had a great nights sleep too. Would have no hesitation to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the park if available.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPDStaffs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here on a Sunday evening, whilst attending Wembley for a concert, very handy connection from Green Park tube!! Booked via L.min.com as a top secret hotel, room not the biggest but nice touch with complimentary soft drinks and snacks from the minibar. Very polite and courteous staff who could not have been more helpful. Did not have time to look at the spa. Only minus point was the high price of the food and beverages, thus we did not have breakfast in the hotel, though the waffles smelt delicious when we checked out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed her for 3 nights in one of the rooms which is accessed by a separate entrance in a side
street. It was fairly small but very nicely furnished and decorated and was very comfortable.
There was no view but in compensation for this it was the quietest room we have ever had in London and we slept very well in a most comfortable bed.
The continental breakfast included in the rate was very good and the service excellent. We also
used the bar on two occasions after being our for the evening and enjoyed the atmosphere.
Throughout our stay all staff we met were pleasant and helpful - we would happily return to this hotel which is in a great location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fergus7edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed here in early June for a week. This hotel is all about a superb location and simply amazing service. The staff felt like family to us by the end of our stay.

Context: I travel over 100,000 miles a year for business and stay at a hotel (usually a corporate chain) somewhere between 30-45 nights a year.

Location: Right across the street from lovely Green Park, you are a 5 minute walk to the Mall and Buckingham Palace. The park was very safe, and the Athenaeum caters to families...scooters, balls, and even birdseed provided free of charge. Our daughter loved feeding the birds. The hotel is also a quick walk (again, 5 minutes) to the Green Park Tube station, which has 3 lines running through it. We were incredibly fortunate that it never rained during our 7 night stay.

Service: From the doormen out front to the housekeeping staff hiding behind the scenes, the staff here is right on cue. The hotel isn't huge, which is its strength. We were not nameless, faceless guests. The staff became familiar with our preferences and made every effort to surprise us at every opportunity. For example, every night there were cookies and milk waiting for our daughter. When I mentioned that I like cookies too, every night thereafter several more were provided. I did not expect that, and it was a nice touch. Another example that amazed us was upon check-in, there had been a miscommunication and there was no roll-away bed for our daughter, so they were going to deliver one. Somehow, before we even arrived at our room (just 2 flights up), the housekeeping staff managed to race to the room, get the bed inside, and depart before we even got there. We are talking about 3 minutes from notification being received by the staff to us being at the door! The breakfast was included in our room rate, and was lovely. We also had Afternoon Tea at the Athenaeum, which was a real highlight of our trip! The hotel definitely caters to families with children. Upon arrival, there was a kids-sized bathrobe and slippers for our daughter, along with a box of toys and activity books for her to enjoy with during our stay. The surprising thing was that with all this attention paid to children, we saw very few of them. Those did encounter were very well-behaved, so any concerns about this being a kiddie-crazy hotel need to be dismissed. Somehow, the concierge was able to score a prime ticket for me to "The Audience" with Dame Helen Mirren, which was absolutely the top. It wasn't inexpensive, but for the chance of a lifetime I gladly paid the price.

Accommodations: We stayed in a Superior room. It was decent sized and very comfortable. The decor is contemporary, and we loved the Queen's Guard display next to our bed, as well as the picture on the wall of the 4 seasons in London that "morphed" as you moved past it! Some of the photos in the hallways of British life included the Spice Girls, Big Ben, and Margaret Thatcher. I agree with a previous reviewer that the ridiculous high-back "crown" chairs by the window need to be 86'd as they crowd the windows. The bathroom was all marble and had heated towel racks and mirrors that did not fog up. Snacks, non-alcoholic drinks in the minibar, and coffee from the in-room Nespresso machine were complimentary and replaced daily.

Special kudos for Jim at the front door, Shelley and Paula at the front desk, Darren the Concierge, and Agniezka, Regis, and Angelica in the dining room.

Highly recommend this property and their staff. Absolutely would not consider staying anywhere else in London!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Few five star hotels can really be said to have 'character'. The Athenaeum has it in spades. No stuffiness. No over-the-top -decor. Not a hint of snobbery. Just quality and unique character.

From the life-sized statue of a dog in the foyer (with water bowl for canine visitors) to the Whisky Bar with more malts than you thought could possibly exist, the Athenaeum is pure, if expensive, joy. The food? Exquisite - what did you expect? The staff are sophisticated but also very friendly.

In each room you'll find a copy of a little book 'Say Hello to Sally for me'. It's about the life and times of the sadly missed Sally Bullough, chatelaine of the hotel until quite recently. You might remember Sally. She was the pigtailed eight-year-old who set fire to the school in that very British film of the 1960s, 'The Hell that is St Trinian's.' Sally was larger than life and her shade still sets the tone at the Athenaeum.

It was Sally that wooed mega-stars away from the more staid exclusive London hotels. Russell Crowe stayed here for months. Sally told him it was unfair to the cleaning staff to constantly leave his apartment in such a mess. A chastened, Crowe cleaned up his act. The hotel is second home to a galaxy of familiar faces from Tinsel town. When guests approach, Jim the doorman throws open the doors with a cheery 'Welcome home!' It's very nice to feel one belongs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pjdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#54 of 1,072 in London
1,109 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#135 of 1,072 in London
1,749 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,072 in London
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $330 - $684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing