We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel I've Ever Stayed in, Should be Ranked 1!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #166 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Hotel I've Ever Stayed in, Should be Ranked 1!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

From the moment I arrived through the impressive entrance, I knew this was going to be a special hotel. I was greeted by the lovely receptionist who checked me in and made me feel so special and welcome. She had upgraded me to as we were celebrating a birthday so I was over the moon. She got my bags sent up and guided me to my new home for the night, the most stunning apartment with a seperate entrance on the street, I felt like royalty! The apartment was stunning, stunning decor, facilities and I was shocked I have never stayed anywhere so lovely. She showed me round the apartment and gave me all the advice and help I needed she really couldnt do enough for me I was made to feel special which I find lacking these days in other hotels. I then had my cases bought up, and a special cake and card sent to the room which just was such a lovely touch it just got better and better. Turn down service arrived and all of the members of staff were so lovely a real credit to your hotel. I asked for late check out on the Sunday and they let me stay till 1pm, again another hotel would have said no but nothing was too much trouble, I felt they would do anything to keep me happy and I most certainly was. The beds were so comfy, the bath massive and the selection of complementry snacks and drinks was unbelievable. I really didnt want to check out but as I did the most charming doorman opened the door, guarded my case while I checked and then hailed me a taxi and took my case aswell, i should have expected nothing less really the way I was treated was amazing and I will be telling everyone, I have already, how amazing this hotel was and cannot wait to come back and stay again. It is more expensive then I would normally opt for but to be treated with such respect in such a nice environment is well worth it, thankyou so much for making our special weekend so memorable, it honestly was faultless and will see you very soon!!xxx

Room Tip: I think every room would be a good room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLA080216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    493
    150
    68
    42
See reviews for
411
1,038
99
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

On arrival at the athenaeum hotel we were checked in quickly by Atul who showed us the bar and restaurant and explained where the spa was and its opening hours. He then showed us to our suite which was lovely. Atul was easy to talk to and very welcoming, he clearly knew the hotel and was excellent at making us feel welcome.

Our suite consisted of a large room with a 4 poster bed, sofa, desk and a large TV, there was plenty of space. It was very airy and clean. The bathroom was extra large with massive shower and separate bath, a heated towel rail and complimentary toiletries.

The mini bar was well stocked and soft drinks and snacks complimentary which is a really nice extra touch, I love the nespresso machine and also the option of a kettle with tea and coffee which you don't always get in 5* hotels.

We had a lovely stay and the room was exceptional.

I did have a bad back and the doorman John asked if I was ok and and remembered me when we returned with the car later in the day to collect our luggage. I thought it was lovely that he came to the car and asked how my back was. These are the little touches that make a hotel special.

This hotel is very well located and the staff are a real credit, very professional but welcoming and friendly.

Thank you for the lovely suite and for your attention to the detail that matters.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was my second time at this hotel, so I sort of knew what to expect and got it more or less. As I was alone and I didn't plan to stay at the hotel all the time, I booked 'the best rate available'. On my arrival, I was told that I'd been upgraded. The room, however, looked the same as the one I had last year, only on an upper floor, and I'm not sure whether upgrade meant an upper floor or I was upgraded last year also. Being on higher meant less noise, and as this wasn't the park view room, what could be seen from the window wasn't particularly impressive but was a bit nicer, not being close to the grim side street.

As I knew what I'd get in the fridge, I e-mailed them before the trip whether I could have whole milk rather than the usual semi-skimmed. That was provided, which was very nice of them, but the second bottle I found towards the end of my stay had passed the best before date, which was rather disappointing. Similarly with other requests. Sometimes I got what I asked for soon after I phoned. At other times, however, I had to ring again to ask for the same thing, and even though this happened only once, nothing happened. One (or two?) of the drawers was wonky and didn't close, and either the cleaner or housekeeping staff didn't notice (difficult, I
imagine, as it didn't close and stayed open) or didn't think anything should be done about it. Maybe fewer members of the staff than last year or busier than last year, I don't know. Everything seemed to depend on who happened to be on duty or in charge. All the staff that I came into contact were friendly and nice, though.

Compared to last year, it was disappointing not seeing the famous doormen most of the time (other members of the staff were often at the door, so I imagine guests with lots of luggage were OK). No welcoming fruit in the room and no cocktail party thing for the guests, but then the economy had been not good, I suppose.

All in all, if you want to stay in the central London in a reasonably sized and priced room, this is one of the places you can choose from. If you want plush luxury, go to Claridge's, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mym27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
364 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We usually stay at the Park City when traveling to London but my wife was here for business so we had to stay at the Athenaeum. The hotel room itself wasn't anything special but it is bigger than most hotel rooms. It was clean and quiet but the free minibar in the room is a great touch. All of the snacks and non-alcoholic drinks were free so you could always grab some juice for breakfast along with some snacks and water for the afternoon exploring the city. The hotel is close to both Marble Arch and Green Park tube stations and you can easily walk to Buckingham Palace or Harrods. Depending on the price I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_hand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was staying in this hotel from April 23 rd onwards. Upon my arrival I found hair in the toilet, shoe print ob the bathrobe, left over water in the water kettle, mini bar not replenish on time. A slow management to take action. This hotel is nice indeed but the service is poor in comparison to the facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank platinumhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were booked into an outside ground floor room - couln't have been better! The staff were among the very best I have experienced. Nothing was impossible and everything was accomplished to make our stay a memorible one. Top hotel and the very best staff!!!!! Loved our stay. I know I should say more but I can't express my opinion in a more positive way - enjoy this estabishment. It's simply excellent!
Unfortunately we've given the spa and pool a 5 point 'excellent'. To be honest we don't even know if the hotel has these facilities (if they did though, I'm sure they would be 5 star).
If you're booked in - 'Enjoy'.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turners Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Not being used to staying in 5* hotels staying at the Athenaeum was a wonderful surprise! Complementary drink upon arrival, beautiful furniture in a cosy setting, kind and helpful staff, lots of complementary goodies in the mini bar (minus the alcohol) and the best thing of all: being upgraded to a fabulous suite with a lovely view for our 1st anniversary and my birthday. We most definitely wouldn't have paid to stay in the suite as you are paying mainly for the London/Green Park setting, but the room was luxurious and very clean.
The afternoon tea here is also a treat and must do, just to sample their homemade lemon curd!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah0488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#63 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#171 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#97 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#124 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#131 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing