We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would really recommend the spa package.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #166 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would really recommend the spa package.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Having had a busy few months, my fiancé decided to treat us to a spa day.

Something that we would recommend to anyone looking to unwind and relax. Very warm welcome by staff.

The lunch menu was OK, there's a McDonald's round the corner.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank diepm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    493
    150
    68
    42
See reviews for
411
1,038
99
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
from Kent
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife had booked this as an overnight stay so that we could spend the evening in London to do a late birthday celbration for me. She had booked on-line through a 'rooms available' website and came up trumps with this!. From the greeting by the doorman to the attantiveness byt the reception management, the conducted tour of the hotel and personal accompanimant to the room (actually they upgraded us to a suite at no charge), this wwas simply a magical stay. We had only made the slightest mention of the occasion and on returning to the hotel very late in the evening we found the room prepared and a birthday cake and card from the management! Lovely!
Absolutely the best and on the list to visit again. And we would have loved to have said hello to Sally....(you need to stay there to understand...)

Room Tip: We were on the ninth floor - we overlooked Green Park - it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fromKentDavid_Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for one night, on arrival we were met with a fairly chaotic scene.. lots of luggage in random places in the reception area & general mayhem, have to say we were a little taken aback. We quickly left this scene after having checked our bags which as we left were in a 'random' spot by the entrance to the bar along with the others. We reassured ourselves that we had arrived at peak check-out time and that our bags would find somewhere safe to wait for us no doubt soon.
The location of the Athenaeum is perfect for walking into the heart of the West End, Knightsbridge the parks and many of London's famous landmarks. If you don't fancy the walk, it is equally in a great spot for a quick & reasonable taxi fare. We arrived back at the Athenaeum to a much calmer scene & spent a few hours relaxing before a night out. Our room was clean with all the usual accoutrements, I wouldn't describe it as luxurious, a little sparse, but comfortable. Our room faced a side street, I think above the lounge where afternoon tea is served on the 2nd floor, it was quiet and we had an undisturbed nights sleep.
Breakfast was nice, a comprehensive choice of options to suit everyone and service was efficient and the attitude to guests in our experience welcoming and professional.
We did have a few general observations that are noteworthy to those considering a stay at the Athenaeum ; It is most definitely an understated hotel, do not expect grandeur. The staff that greet you & give you that so very important first impression on arrival at any hotel whether for the first time you enter or return back to the hotel at any time during the day or night are crucially important and this in our experience is an area in which we felt the Athenaeum most definitely needs to pay some attention. The 'uniforms?' of the gentlemen staff are looking very tired in some cases quite grubby. Being met at the door of a five star hotel by a man looming in a brown bobbly jumper is not what anyone from any walk of life would expect & very old & shrunken woolly gloves ? Surely they should be black leather ? and fit ! And may I suggest at the very least a dry clean of the hat & morning coat is in order ? Thats it.. I wouldn't be me if I didn't mention it. To sum up, The Athenaeum is in a fantastic location, it is understated & comfortable, would we stay again ? In our case probably not, a trip to London is a rare treat .... next time, for very similar room rates, we will plump for the grandeur....

Room Tip: We looked at a park view room & if staying more than one night would say is worth the additional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tirolerhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was the second time I have stayed here, and it was just as good as the first. The location is ideal for strolling around the parks and seeing the sights of London which was handy for me as I had a day to while away. At the hotel the reception is swift and trouble-free and there is always a willing pair of hands if needed, the room was large, comfortable, quiet and had a view over Green Park, and the facilities in the room were really good; fridge full of cold drinks, really good tea and coffee making including a large Nespresso machine, and plenty of choice on telly! We dined in the hotel restaurant in the evening and enjoyed an excellent dinner with very good service. The menu and wine list clearly were aimed at people like us who didn't want to travel too far; there were no big surprises on the menu or rare treats in the wine list, but it was more than good enough. All in all an excellent place when staying in the centre of London, the kind of place you can come back to knowing it will be good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear mikepee,
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back to the athenaeum in the near future.
Best Wishes,
Wayne Kerrin
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for just one night in this stylish, friendly and cosy hotel. The staff were very helpful and professional- they really made you feel at home.Lots of super art throughout the hotel.The rooms were very well equipped and very clean and wonderfully quiet-we will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline12345186305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear caroline12345186305,
Thank you for your comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you liked the many pieces of unique art.
Kind Regards,
Wayne Kerrin
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked this hotel through Lastminute's secret deals and thought it was EXCELLENT value. This was my fourth stay but the first in the apartments. We had our own lift and front door but could still access the main hotel by taking the lift to the basement level and walking to reception through the gorgeous lounge which serves the afternoon tea. You can't beat the location, right opposite Green Park so you can walk everywhere. The tube is not far away served by the Picadilly Line which takes you straight Heathrow. This is a small luxury hotel and we really enjoyed our three nights there for a 'London Weekend'. It was a bitterly cold weekend and it was just wonderful coming back to a warm cosy hotel at the end of a day in sub-zero temperatures. The staff couldn't do enough to help and we were terribly impressed...again!

Room Tip: Definitely try to get this hotel through the Lastminute Secret Hotel deals - it is a little expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Sandra B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments with us and for your continued loyalty to the athenaeum.
Many of our guests enjoy the privacy of having their own private entrance in the middle of Mayfair, I am very happy that you were able to experience this on your recent visit.
I look forward to welcoming you back to your London home soon.
Best Wishes,
Wayne Kerrin
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have now experienced 2 afternoon teas' at the Atheneaum and couldnt fault it. I went with two other friends for their birthday and she was given special treatment and made a fuss of with a little cake which really pleased her. The service was first class and we never felt rushed. The sandwiches, scones and crumpets were presented on a little stand with delicious jams and clotted cream. The cakes came round ona trolley and we could choose as many as we liked - even though I was already full!!
I read a few more reviews about this being the number 1 place in London so I booked it again as a treat for my Mum and it was a wonderful experience for her! I cannot fault it - although it was tricky to book the date so make sure you try and book in advance!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Jenny2310,
Happy birthday to your Mum. I am very pleased that you chose to celebrate this special day with us at the athenaeum and that you enjoyed it. Personally my favourite part is the scones with the homemade strawberry jam; the only problem is that there are too many things to choose from.
I look forward to welcoming you back for your 3rd visit.
Best Wishes,
Wayne Kerrin
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#63 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#171 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#97 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#124 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#131 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing