We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families, Service Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #155 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for Families, Service Outstanding”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

In July 2011, family of five stayed six nights in two adjoining rooms. The staff catered to my young children like you wouldn't believe. In-room DVDs and Wii games, popcorn, cookies and milk every night, games, complimentary mini-bar, etc. They really made us feel welcome.

It was very tough to find a hotel in London, with availability, that would accommodate a family of 5. We were about to give up when I called the Athenaeum. Cora (a manager) went the extra mile to find something that would work for us. I can't thank her enough - we probably wouldn't have made the trip without her help.

The concierges were great. Darren and Duncan arranged tickets and tours for us that were flawless. They were also helpful before our arrival, answering my many questions and arranging an airport transfer.

The hotel faces Green Park, is a block away from the original Hard Rock, and a short walk from Shepherd's Market, which is a nice area with pubs and restaurants. The Green Park underground station is a short walk, as is Buckingham Palace. We were within walking distance of Harrods, St. James Park, and Piccadilly Circus.

The level of service throughout the hotel is amazing. The entire staff bent over backwards to make sure our trip was pleasant. The doormen, bellmen, front desk and restaurant staff, were all all amazing. We didn't have a negative experience the entire stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rollie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,547
    515
    160
    71
    46
See reviews for
444
1,085
104
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at the Athenaeum this past weekend and we absolutely loved every minute of it. We took my partner's parents to London for the night for the wedding anniversary and the staff made everything so wonderful. When we checked in I asked if they could possibly upgrade his parent's room and Marcia kindly helped with that. The room itself was lovely. Airy, beautifully furnished as one would expect from a Park Lane hotel.

When we got into our room we could live with the size (compared to his parent's upgrade) since we did order a standard room, however, the room next door was being redecorated and the paint fumes were aggravating my aasthma. I reported it to the Marcia, who upgraded us to an apartment imeediately since she said my health was more important.

The hotel itself was beautiful, but I just cannot say enough about Robert and Marcia at the front desk. Thank you to them since it really made our weekend, and his parents had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank balibasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I booked one night here with Mrs Beoirgra so that we could catch the Tim and Eric Awesome Show live at the Leicester Square Theatre. It is well placed for central London, though it is very close to some of the most over-priced, fashion label nonsense shops in London. However, the proximity to Hyde Park and Green Park is wonderful, particularly if you prefer a nice walk away from the crowded streets of Lindin.

The hotel is a real find. An extremely comfortable hotel that is respectful of its customers, and doesn't try to rip you off at every available opportunity. Most importantly it was very clean, and the bed was refreshingly comfortable, so we both got an excellent night's sleep (something that can be quite difficult at some hotels). The complimentary toiletries were delightful - if you are a metrosexual rennaisance man like me, you will enjoy the moisturising conditioner and delightful grapefruit soap. It is also wonderfully quiet and peaceful - quite an acheivement for a central London hotel.

The espresso maker was one of the most joy inducing additions to a room I have ever seen. Also, all of the goodies in the fridge are free (except for the alcohol) and includes loads of water, juice, chocolate, muts, crisps etc. Be very careful about the alcohol though - they don't make it that clear that they using a 2025 costing system. I had one whiskey before Mrs Beoirgra informed me that it was £8! Half a bottle of wine is £18!

A couple of negatives, if I may. Firstly, we arrived at the hotel at about 1pm and were in a hurry to check-in and get going to make use of the day. We were told that check-in was 2pm, and therefore we had to wait around for an hour which really put the skids on trying to make the most from the afternoon. I personally feel that 1pm is a reasonable time to be able to check-in to a hotel room. Secondly, on two occasions a cleaner try to entered the room whilst we were still there. Given myself and Mrs Beoirgra's propensity to wander around hotel rooms with our respective pink bits exposed, that seemed unpleasantly invasive. Luckily we kept the chain lock on, something I would advise others to do if you also enjoy luxuriating in a room with all your glands on show.

However, these were minor issues. The cleanliness, comfort, quiet and location really make for a great stay at a five-star London hotel that is more than just an ostentatious foyer. Incidentally Tim and Eric were great. Eric sat on my lap whilst playing a toy saxophone during Song for Mommy.

Room Tip: Ask for a park facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeamusBeoirgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My visit to the Athenaeum Hotel in the heart of London was nothing short of exceptional. It really was like my home, with a filled fridge with complimentary snacks and drinks and people who cared about me. I felt that the hotel staff made me feel special from start to finish. They were always available, especially if you are traveling by yourself.
Aesthetically it is also a beautiful hotel with some quirky decorations and even toys were used to accent the rooms. My favorite time was spent in the garden room having tea and chilling out with some good desserts. The pluses of the hotel are indeed its location, which is a stone’s throw from Piccadilly Circus and dangerously close to Fortnum and Mason, which can become your hangout if you’re not careful. It also worth taking a stroll down Queen’s Walk and up to Buckingham Palace because it so close. Weekly cocktail parties are a plus as your get to meet the staff and the folks around you; definitely not a stuffy run-of-the-mill chain hotel. Breakfasts are highly recommended and you can poached eggs and Devonshire honey from the honeycomb, instead of just little pots of honey and jam. The afternoon tea, either honey or regular, is not be missed and can fill up rapidly, so get in early. Another added bonus was the WIFI, free use of the spa and sauna.
On a commendable note, Suzanne, one of the managers on duty, saw that I was sneaking toffee candies from the garden room (yes, they keep candy jars in parts of the hotel, free for the taking!) and immediately sent me a plate to my room. Duncan, the concierge, offers the best advice and is not shy about giving honest opinion, which is rare and welcomed.These acts show the level of dedication and care that the Athenaeum wants to give its visitors. I can’t wait to visit London again and stay with this warm and delightful staff and hotel!

Room Tip: Order early and get the run of the mill room, it's cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2kAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Atheneaum is my husband's favorite London hotel when he is there on business, and I got to stay with him on his most recent trip. He's been staying there for years, and now I know why he raves about it so much. The location, ambience, comfort and service are all top-notch! They proclaim to be "Your London Home" and that's so true, only better! The location, in mid-Mayfair, is ideal for business and sightseeing. Our room overlooked Green Park, a stone's throw from Buckingham Palace and Picadilly. My favorite discovery was the neat shopping/restaurant area a few blocks from the Atheneaum, (I can't remember the name of the area!) where one can dine on French, English, Lebanese or Italian food, all in one block. The coup de' grace though for me was the conceirge, Darren! He helped me plan out each day's sightseeing and shopping and was so helpful, funny and friendly! HUGE asset to The Athenaeum Hotel. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

A special gem of a hotel! We stayed twice at the front and tail end of a Europe holiday from Asia and looked forward to our return to London from Europe since we knew we were returning to The Athenaeum.

Great for families with kids. Kids under 12 eat for free from their own extensive menu. Very useful if you have a young peckish child and it's handy to feed them before setting out for the day in London. The attentive staff includes a dedicated kids' concierge and they supply a range of toys, crayons and items that helps you cut down on packing. (grab packets of bird seed before walking across to Green Park)

With/without kids, another generous touch was the complimentary (except alcohol) mini-bar of snacks and soft drinks and a good nespresso coffee machine.

We've been recommending this hotel to all friends and would be happy to have the chance to return.

Location is also excellent, being right on Picadilly. An easy walk across the park brings you to the Palace Changing of the Guard ceremony, and also to the Tube station and a well-stocked M&S Food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsDIY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel in the perfect location. The Athenaeum is a smaller, more boutique hotel that has a well trained, incredibly hospitable staff. They went out of their way to make sure our room was right and that our stay was memorable. The rooms are decent size, built and finished with quality, nicely decorated, quality hair dryer, flat screen, slippers and robes...bathrooms are also really nice, marble, shower pressure was very strong, Ren products in the bath...It was really Nice to have the internet, snacks and drinks in the mini bar included at no extra charge. The location is excellent as You can walk to the underground or buses, take a jog/stroll through Green park which is right across the street, be at Buckingham palace in a 5 minute walk. The continental breakfast was outstanding, fresh fruit, juices, quality cereals, breads, crossaints, tea, coffee. The spa and gym is nice, not huge, but big enough..What makes this place special besides the beauty of the hotel is the staff and the location. When the doorman Jim says, 'Welcome Home' every time you arrive, you really feel like you have come home. We will definitely go back to the Athenaeum. I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greghowardhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#54 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#175 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#85 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#215 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing