We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #28 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The excitement and anticipation of coming to spend 24 hours at this globally recognised hotel was like waiting for Santa all those years ago as a child on Christmas morning.

From the moment that the doorman opens your car door you have got to be blown away at Putting on The Ritz.

Reception great, we asked about an upgrade and got one just like that. Shown to our room and wow.

Though my absolute immediate thought when I walked in to our Executive Deluxe Suite was it was a bit 70's when you thought about it 1 second later you remember that that is gold leaf not paint, that is a crystal chandelier and not plastic and that furniture is genuine French and not reproduction!

Afternoon Tea was THE best ever and it kept coming.

Paul the Concierge had pre-arranged a chauffeured Jag to take us to the theatre and unbeknown to us when we finished at the show we had an hours tour of the sites.

Departing and arriving back at the hotel the Doorman not only knowing our names but also our itinerary was exceptional.

A cocktail is just a must as divine.

We wanted food in the cocktail bar but it had finished by 11.30pm but no problem we could order room service there and when it was ready we would be taken to our room. I even ordered off menu.

Just fill dining table was set up for the meal!

A nice surprise of hearts made from rose petals on our bed and the most fabulous Turn Down service I have ever seen.

Breakfast was an equally magical experience in our room.

Lunch to round it all off was beautiful and impeccable service and quality.

- Once in a lifetime maybe.
- Memory's for a lifetime definitely.
- Worth every penny oh yeah.

Spend 24 hours there lapping up everything - oh and more 'Ritz' memorabilia than anywhere else (even the tissues are logo'ed)

Nick and Marky

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gt834162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Many thanks for the thorough review of your stay and I am very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves so much. I hope you might return to celebrate another special occasion. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,672
    456
    125
    56
    44
See reviews for
752
1,540
118
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

As you as you walk through the doors you are transported into a time where elegance was at the top of the list. With cream, gold and mirror décor, towering palms and impeccably dressed waiters, it was reminiscent of a scene from the titanic especially when the quartet started to play! The tea was courteously served with a good selection of sandwiches, scones, small cakes and then on top of that, a trolley was wheeled round with yet more cakes. We had the coffee but contrary to another post, found it very acceptable, strong, good flavour, better than most cafetiere grounds. If you drink instant then it may be a little strong for you. At no point did we feel rushed, the staff made you feel special without being overly obsequious and I thoroughly enjoyed my time of sheer decadence.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benfold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Exceeds high expectations. Staff are very welcoming. Room was beautiful. Hotel is stunning. This girl from Wolverhampton had a super time! Sad that our itinery was so busy that we couldn't fit in afternoon tea, but its a must for next time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank monkjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
How lovely that you enjoyed your stay with us and I trust that you will return for Afternoon Tea on another trip to London. Thank you. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

It was my wife's birthday trip, one night at a superior hotel plus fine dining. We booked a nice suite for us plus our daughter for about 900,-
Considering the shopping plans of my two girls we tried to get a late check out, which is not that easy. A charming receptionist encouraged us to double the price for the Berkely Suite with a high potential for a late check out.
First of all, the hotel is a museum of finest British hospitality and perfection in service, each staff member is attentive and nice.

The next day, after enjoying a superior breakfast we left for shopping, considering the promised late check out at 4pm. At 12:20 the hotel called me to tell me, that I should obey the check out time at 12:30 (???). After some discussions we had to head back to the hotel without completing our shopping tour to clear the room, no time to eat the nice birthday cake and to open the champagne.

If she would have called me in the morning, it would not have been a problem to reschedule the day, but there was no earlier call...

Discussions with the manager Judith did not lead to any solutions and she also did not come up with suggestions, compensations, she just manifest her point of view, check out agreements are without guarantee.

It has been the job of hotel employees of Ritz who found some solutions for us, because they just don't work there, this hotel is their life.

The manager however is a total fail and that explains the three stars only. Never accept an upgrade deal in exchange of late check out, the form you complete at check in with the desired check out time has no meaning.

First 12 hours amazing, second 12 hours a disappointment followed by employees of the hotel, some of them working there since 20 years, who kept me for giving only two stars.

Judith however should think over, if she really works in the right hotel....

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Albert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We do our best to accommodate our guests' wishes regarding check-in and check-out, and regrettably on this occasion we were not able to help with your request due to the arrival of another visitor. I really am sorry about that. I would also like to clarify that Judith is a valued and respected member of the team and tries her best to satisfy the requirements of all our guests. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have been to afternoon tea at The Ritz on numerous occasions and am never disappointed. It is just wonderful with the sound of the Grand piano and the chinking of china. Everything is done to a tea! (excuse the pun) beautiful sandwiches, cakes and scones with service which is second to none. Fabulous!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingwilbury1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Ritz for afternoon tea to celebrate a 50th birthday. On arrival the doormen were very nice and very polite we were shown through to the Rivoli bar we ordered cocktails and informed the staff that we had a reservation for afternoon tea . Our cocktails were amazing works of art in fact. it was whilst we were enjoying them that we noticed a scrum like gathering outside the palm court restaurant at no point did ant member of staff approach us an tell us that out table was ready or offer to take out drinks for us so we had no choice but to gather our drinks and join the scrum not the fine dining experience that I had hoped for! We were seated and our afternoon tea selection was brought to us three of our party opted for tea and were happy with it but myself and the birthday girl opted for coffee it was vile and undrinkable another disappointment! As for the sandwiches and cakes they were very nice until dust from the palm tree fell on to my scone really I don't expect this in McDonald's let alone the Ritz. Sadly on this occasion we felt very let down

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We just popped into the Rivoli Bar at the Ritz as a final treat after an exceptional Big Bus tour of London.
We did not have a reservation but were warmly welcomed and given the choice of sitting in the main lounge or in the quieter Rivoli Bar lounge. We chose the latter and were welcomed by very friendly and attentive staff, smartly dressed in cream lounge jackets.
Again we were offered a choice of seating, which was nice so as there were three of us we opted for a table for four to give ourselves plenty of room.
We were given plenty of time to select from the menu, which had a wide variety of teas to choose from.
Whilst we were making up our minds we were presented with a selection of savouries as appetisers
The drinks were nicely presented in silver service and of a high quality standard
We were very well looked after by the staff who showed a real interest in where we were from and what we had planned for our visit to London

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#20 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#42 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,457 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing