We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #26 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“First class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We've just returned with our friends, from a weekend in the capital.
Star of the show was The Ritz. We paid £285 on The Ritz website as a birthday treat.
From the moment we got out of the taxi we were greeted with true warmth and staff that are obviously proud to be part of such a British icon.
The one thing missing is "snobbery". Staff made us feel special.
We paid extra for a sumptuous afternoon tea, worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcfc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you! I am pleased that you felt you got a reasonable price and have shared it publicly. I hope you look forward to returning soon. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,619
    452
    123
    55
    44
See reviews for
737
1,518
115
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Lunch in the restaurant here really is an experience.
Of course you would expect the food and service to be of th highest level and it is, but take time also to enjoy to decor and architecture.

The taster menu is exceptional, no it's not cheap but no-one would expect it to be, if you have the means I would recommend thsi strongly.
Having been to Claridges and experienced the taster menu there, the Ritz is on another level in my opinion.

If anything the taster menu consists of too much food, 8 dishes (inc 2 desserts) of outstanding quality and reasonably filling, when enjoying the fine wines that accompany this menu it could be connsidered a dish or two too many and I don't think anything would be lost by doing this.
Difficult to find a favourite, quail, brill, languistines, venison ? they're all as good as each other.

A truly great dining experience

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UK2NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed at the Ritz London as part of a company outing. The hotel is as beautiful and opulent as you would expect. Really quite fantastically gorgeous.The food and drinks as overpriced as you might imagine. The staff more down to earth than you might have supposed, friendly, approachable and helpful. The problem was that as expensive and iconic the hotel is I therefore expected my stay to be perfect. So the following niggles would probably have gone unreported in a lesser establishment.
Firstly, it took 2 hours to get my overnight bag which had been whisked away at reception. I had to call down to chase up its whereabouts. I was staying in a Junior Suite (bigger than my apartment). A fabulous room but with no tea or coffee making facilities. At 3am (after some fun in the Ritz Club) this is a facility I seriously missed. However, I was very grateful for the bottle of water and complimentary biscuits thoughtfully provided by the bed. I could not find a hair dryer. I wished there was a room freshener in the bathroom (nuff said). The bathrobe was a bit too small for me (size 22). Everything else was amazing. The bed really comfortable and the sheets silky smooth. I just missed some of the more standard things that you get in more functional hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sogs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments which are very useful. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and feel it a pity that you did not call down to housekeeping for the items that would have made your stay perfect, as they are all things which are readily available to guests. I hope on your next visit that you might make such requests at the time of reservation so that they are already in your room on arrival. I hope you will choose to stay at The Ritz on another occasion. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

From the moment we approached the iconic Ritz London the whole experience surpassed all expectations. All of the staff were absolutely first class and I could easily see why the whole afternoon tea experience is on most peoples bucket list. The food was exemplary and the room was perfect. Attention to detail is obviously foremost of their vision and I would not hesitate in recommending the rooms, food and experience in general. We will definitely be going back to what we consider, the most fantastic hotel we've had the pleasure to stay at! Mr & Mrs Kightley.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 951OJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Sometimes you fancy sleek and modern and sometimes you fancy ornate and opulent. The Ritz is definitely for the latter mood. It''s elegant and overtly so. The service is wonderfully attentive; there are two members of staff for every guest. It is described as a hotel overlooking Green Park. This isn't true as the biggest frontage is on Piccadilly, a busy, lively street with great cafes and the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art just up the road. Our room did overlook Green Park (gorgeous view) but most don't. The toiletries are Asprey; the jewellers to the Crown - one of the few brands you actually want to use. A swimming pool would make this perfect but sadly there isn't one. Check in/Check out times are generous - 2pm in, 12 noon out. Many (particularly in the US) are now 4pm/10am. Mean. We prefer Fortnum's for tea (same street) but it's hard to beat cocktails in the Rivoli Bar at the Ritz and breakfast in the beautiful main dining room. Next time we're in the mood for extravagant opulence we know where to go.

Room Tip: Overlooking Green Park would be perfect but they do cost a lot more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlelambSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

The Ritz London is an icon but though in some ways a bit dated , for my taste this is part of its charm .

The elegance of the public areas are unsurpassed in London .

The management and staff could not be nicer or more concerned at all times how you are enjoying your stay or if there is anything they can do for you to make your stay more pleasant !

I love staying in this hotel , i no longer live in the U.K and have tried many five star hotels in this area The Ritz beats them all for me .

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JonathonSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for the succinct and charming appraisal of The Ritz. It is much appreciated. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have stayed at the Ritz in the summer of 2012. Great experience, great staff, always there to help, great food and an amazing view. Try and see more of the hotel, I didn't get the chance, but it is a place full of his It's situated close to almost everything. cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdi_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#22 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#45 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,410 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing