We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as you get as good as you would wish for”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #26 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“As good as you get as good as you would wish for”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

The Ritz London is an icon but though in some ways a bit dated , for my taste this is part of its charm .

The elegance of the public areas are unsurpassed in London .

The management and staff could not be nicer or more concerned at all times how you are enjoying your stay or if there is anything they can do for you to make your stay more pleasant !

I love staying in this hotel , i no longer live in the U.K and have tried many five star hotels in this area The Ritz beats them all for me .

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JonathonSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for the succinct and charming appraisal of The Ritz. It is much appreciated. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,730
    461
    125
    55
    48
See reviews for
766
1,573
120
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have stayed at the Ritz in the summer of 2012. Great experience, great staff, always there to help, great food and an amazing view. Try and see more of the hotel, I didn't get the chance, but it is a place full of his It's situated close to almost everything. cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdi_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend took me to the Ritz on 21st December for a one night stay while we were seeing Charlie & the Chocolate Factory. We had the most amazing time, we checked into the hotel at 1 o'clock, an hour before our allotted check in time. Our room wasn't ready so we were offered complimentary drinks. I had a delicious hot chocolate which was served in a little silver tea-pot and my boyfriend had a cappuccino served in the traditional Ritz blue china crockery, we were also given yummy ginger shortbread which we hadn't ordered. All of the waiters were so polite and lovely as were all the reception staff. While drinking our drinks some carol singers started singing around the grand piano, we felt like we were in a Christmas film surrounded by beautiful decorations, music and christmas ambience!
Our room was amazing, we had a superior deluxe room which was huge and beautifully decorated. My boyfriend had arranged champagne & a gorgeous chocolate cake upon arrival in the room which was a lovely surprise!
The food was delicious as were the cocktails in the Rivoli bar although we found the waitress in there to be very snotty and rude!
All in all we had the most amazing christmas experience and cannot wait to return!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TeacherSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
I am so please we lived up to your expectations, I agree that Christmas at The Ritz is very special indeed. I really am most surprised to read of your description of the Rivoli Bar waitress, as the two regular girls who work there are charm personified - they love their work and it shows. I really am sorry that you were less than impressed but hope it will not deter you from visiting again. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Booked the sunday special, inc champagne and flowers in room, 3 course dinner, breakfast.
A real event, superb In every way, beautiful room, excellent dining, wonderful bar with magnificent bar tenders, all staff throughout the hotel were great. The traditions of the Ritz , it's history and high standards of service do come at a price, but the best always does. There are excellent and cheaper 5 * hotels nearby, but they are not the Ritz !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GREENBUSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
You have summarised perfectly Sir, there are other excellent hotels, but they are not The Ritz! Thank you for your kind words. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We booked a Sunday special at the beginning of December, to stay just before Christmas. Not only were we amazed there was availability, we were particularly impressed that the price hadn't been increased in the run up to Christmas.

On arrival we were upgraded to a suite - a lovely surprise, especially so as this was our first stay. From check in to deaprture the staff are professional and articulate. The hotel is beyond compare. There is a sophisticated ambience which can't be beaten.

The Sunday price includes champagne (delicious) and flowers (beatiful) in the room, an excellent three course dinner, and breakfast. Bearing in mind the opulence, it is incredibly good value and we'll definitely be staying again.

We were contacted days in advance to book our table for dinner, and this was confirmed by email. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble to anyone we spoke to.

The Rivoli Bar is a must - sit at the bar so you can watch the barmen do their thing. Guests are allowed to use the casino which is worth a visit (and the drinks are cheaper there!).

We'd previously had the afternoon tea here, and that too is the best.

I can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chunkylongtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you - what a great advertisement for the hotel. I am pleased you have highlighted what excellent value for money The Ritz can be. I believe our service is priceless! I very must hope you will be as delighted on your next visit. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our King Deluxe room was upgraded to a Junior Suite. Huge room with massive bed, an extra bed for our daughter, lounge corner, very ornate and opulent decor, Bose sound system, TV, minibar. Large bathroom with towels galore.
Children are supposed to automatically become members of "Kidz at the Ritz". In our case the membership was certainly not automatic but our daughter was (eventually) given a really nice teddy bear and a membership pack. She also had her own vanity box in the bathroom, cookies and cake at bedtime.
Beautiful embroidered towels that you can buy from reception. Bought a bath towel and a hand towel for £ 50.00.
The Rivoli Bar was a lot smaller than expected but very welcoming and the staff was excellent. Beware of the non-alcoholic cocktails at £ 10 each which are in fact mainly crushed ice....
Afternoon tea was delightful, and plentiful. Breakfast was probably not the best I have ever seen but it was certainly plentiful and delicious, beautifully presented and served in the most magnificent room. Very unpretentious also, which may come as a surprise.
The place is welcoming, gives you a taste of a bygone age whilst keeping up with the modern world. The staff was excellent in all areas of the hotel.

Room Tip: Lot of traffic noise from the street but the place is so special that it feels good to wake up in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoloToto1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for this candid review. I hope you will visit again. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We dined at the ritz for afternoon tea to celebrate my 2nd year anniversary. It was wonderful and experience I shall not forget. The sandwiches were stunning and out of the 5 choices I found the cucumber, cream cheese, dill,chives on caraway seed bread was to be our favourite. I was worried that we would only get the 10 finger sandwiches on the stand but was pleased they provided us with more.

The scones were perfect, they were soft, sweet with just a little saltiness. The cakes were also very good, only 4 choices but still great. Also the two cakes of the day was given a choice of raspberry cake or lemon drizzle were great, the raspberry my personal favourite with a shortbread base, raspberry jam, pistachio sponge, whipped cream and of course raspberry's.

All of this all on bone chine or beautiful silver, the room itself -as well as the rest of the hotel- screamed decadence. We shall be returning and bringing friends.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brazakool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#41 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,521 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,092 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TravelUp, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing