We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch, stay, breakfast”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #32 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Me and my husband stayed at the Ritz weekend 4th jan 14. At first impressions it's actually quite small inside, they use lots of mirrors to give the illusion of space. Once we checked in we were escorted to our pre booked lunch. Whilst walking through the area it seemed quite busy with lots of people taking photographs. The busiest area was the middle section where afternoon tea was serverd (palm court) We entered the main dining room and were escorted to to our table . We were greeted with a set menu and a glass of champagne. Lovely as The Ritz is i found the decor very dated but in a nice way however the set menu was not vegitarian frendily at all. The service was attentive however I found that it abit too much, feeling that we didn't really get any time alone. The food was lovely but we found we asked for more bread just to 'fill us up' at bit more. The set menu is a bit limited on choice. Once lunch was finished we checked into our room, the room was big enough but very dated this time not in a nice way. The mini bar wouldn't open with the key however we though that was a blessing after looking at the mini bar price list ....a small bottle of Evan was £7 !!! The air con was very noisy, the cold tap in the bathroom sink had no water coming out of it at all , we did call the porter to inform them and we were told an engineer would be sent.....no one ever turned up ! This made it very difficult for my husband to shave and for both of us to brush our teeth as only very hot water was working. The shower was very powerful for the bath area and water seemed to go everywhere. The bed was ok but I was expecting it to be more comfortable after all it was the ritz ! The bar downstairs is quite small and prices are high ....beer £10 cocktails starting from £19 to £350 !!! But they do give you olives and nuts which is plentyfull. Breakfast was ok, I have seen better buffets. The full English is cooked to your specifications which is nice. To be honest breakfast was the nicest part to see the beauty of the hotel as the hotel was empty ...however at 11am. It soon started filling up. The nicest part was coming back after an evening out to find that they room had been cleaned and turned down , we were not expecting that and it was nice to come back to a clean room with slippers laid out too ! The staff were friendly and the hotel was nice however the prices are very high in comparison to other hotels in the area ,

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyh0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

What a pity that the stay you describe is less than perfect and I would like to apologise for the shortfalls you encountered. I would be very grateful if you would ask to be put in contact with my office directly should you choose to make a reservation at The Ritz, and I will personally oversee your visit. Thank you nonetheless for the gracious review. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,457 - 2,463 of 3,796 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I fined at the Ritz restaurant as a Christmas teat and the evening was exceptional. The decor is opulent and the service warm, meticulous and friendly. We dined from the a la carte menu and all was excellent and in particular the lobster and lamb. It was a Saturday night and there was a band on and a dance floor in the restaurant, which was lovely with good music. Went to the Art Deco rivoli bar afterwards for cocktails and the same attention to detail on the service was evident. All round a great experience.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Ok you will have guessed by my previous reviews I do rather love The Ritz London - however I need to share the fact that you don't need to only visit The Ritz to be grown-up and well behaved
Oh no - we rather did a " what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas" the weekend before Christmas and had the most marvelous, fun, sparkling and rather loud time! Champagne and cocktails in bar before dinner where every guest has such personal attention and the food is enhanced by the sheer theatre of the service. The restaurant had a incredible dancing couple putting on a show of tango and salsa that had us all up trying our hardest to imitate - apologies now to the other guests who actually could dance and may have been trampled on due to our exuberance.
We sampled the refined cigar shop which is situated in the garden and sang Christmas carols until everyone else left and finally at 4am we too crept to bed with the night porters help....
As always breakfast was delightful and the staff discreet when it came to ordering bloody marys for medicinal reasons only. A day of shopping and we were back on form for another repeat performance followed by a long leisurely Sunday lunch before waving goodby to the most amazing weekend made so by the lovely Ritz team and a load of wonderful memories
REMEMBER this is a secret as what happens at The Ritz stays at The Ritz!!

Room Tip: ask reservations desk when you book and tell them if you prefer the noise and fun of london or the q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janey3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

You are absolutely correct; What happens at The Ritz, stays at The Ritz..... SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Just had,sadly, one evening here. Not stayed for years and can safely say will never stay anywhere else again when in London! Old fashioned luxury with incredibly slick friendly service. Just a wonderful all round experience. Worth staying simply for the room service lobster club sandwich!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Such a shame that you were only able to stay for one night, but very hearted to think that you might already be planning your next trip? I hope we exceed your expectations when you do venture South again. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We returned to the Ritz for the third time. We stayed in room313 for 4 nights and would really recommend this Hotel and room. The staff were great room amazing and food beautiful. I have previously tried other good hotels in london but once you go to the Ritz nothing else will do. Hope to return very soon

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank buzz2447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

And we look forward to welcoming you on your fourth stay.... I am sure you will have noticed that the staff recognise you now, and hopefully greet you by name. One of the secrets to great guest relations is having the knack for putting names together with faces, and the staff here is adept at that. I hope you continue to enjoy your visits to The Ritz. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Me and my husband and two children stayed here for one night before flying out of the country. What can I say...the experience was absolutely fantastic from start to finish. We stayed in one of the junior suites which was absolute luxury at its best. The pictures on the website do not do the room justice at all. At the suite we met with Luis. He was an absolute delight and nothing was too much trouble for him. He had some really great stories to tell us about the history hotel and we want to give a personal thanks for everything he did for us.

The children received gifts upon our arrival which they were extremely happy with. The gifts included a Ritz Teddy Bear, a manicure set and also a traditional wooden jigsaw.

I had an appointment at The Ritz Salon and that experience was also fantastic, having my hair done by a celebrity stylist! Any woman who wants a bit of pampering has to visit the salon and treat themselves to a glass of champagne whilst having their treatment.

We had booked in for afternoon tea and this is an experience in itself. The sandwiches and cakes were absolutely divine and the plates are constantly refilled. Do not eat anything before going for afternoon tea!! The Christmas choir performed beautifully and made the whole experience even more magical.

In the evening me and my husband went into the Rivoli Bar which again, what can I say...delightful! The cocktails are amazing as is the champagne and caviar. The service is absolutely tremendous.

We then went into the Ritz Club and Casino. Another fantastic experience and I would like to say a big thank you to Clive and Laura for making our evening so pleasurable.

Room service is a must. The service and food is impeccable!

I stay in many hotels around the world and I have to say that The Ritz is most definitely number one and is luxury at its absolute best. The staff are attentive beyond belief and no request is to big or too small for them. I have nothing negative whatsoever to say about this hotel, its staff or our stay here.

We will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 318Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

You really did sample all of the outlets, didn't you? How wonderful that you did not have any cause for unhappiness during your stay with your family. I hope you will return next Christmas - or before. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent 10 nights here in the week preceeding and week of Christmas. We could not have been treated any nicer nor had nicer accomodations than at The Ritz. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, and we even received a stocking on our bed on Christmas Eve. We enjoyed Christmas Tea, as well as cocktails in the Rivoli Bar, and Christmas Day breakfast in the dining room. It was a perfect way to spend our holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarksvilleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

I am always particularly pleased when a visitor from overseas expresses delight at our efforts over Christmas. The team behind the scenes really do go the extra mile and planning for December 2014 will start again next month! I am grateful for your kind words. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#27 of 1,081 in London
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#74 of 1,081 in London
4,410 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#28 of 1,081 in London
4,265 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#16 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $545 - $1,057 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing