We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional service making a memorable experience.”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #26 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Exceptional service making a memorable experience.”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I booked The Ritz to have a splendid setting in which I could propose to my girlfriend. I could not have picked a better place. The history, quality, surroundings and, most importantly, the service were all of the highest order. The staff literally did everything possible to make the day go smoothly and create a memory that we will re-count for a long time to come.

For the weeks before we arrived, I was emailing the hotel with requests and requirements. I always received a response the same day and nothing was too much trouble. I also received a call from the reservations manager who was genuinely excited at my idea to propose and wished me all the best.

From arrival, the entire experience was exceptional and we were treat like celebrities, even though it was obvious this was probably a once in a lifetime visit. Everything was delivered to the room as I asked and at the time I asked. After the proposal we went out for celebratory drinks and when we returned, rose petals were spread around the room and formed a heart on the newly changed white linen bed. A complimentary bottle of Ritz champagne sat in an ice bucket and romantic music was playing on the television. It really was magical.

I cannot speak highly enough of The Ritz and my fiancé and myself would like to extend our thanks once again for making our engagement so special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Congratulations to you and your fiancée! It is always a pleasure to be able to be part of a life changing event and it is most gratifying to learn that everything went to plan. I hope you will drop in to re-live the magic should you be in the vicinity in the future. I hope the wedding plans proceed happily. Good luck. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,730
    461
    125
    55
    48
See reviews for
766
1,573
120
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed in October for two nights as our wedding anniversary. Timeless, historic, beautiful building. Ornate, comfortable, beautiful room with a huge marble bathroom and the best shower in the world. Paid £700 for two nights. Had a cocktail in the bar and also afternoon tea at palm court, expensive but part of the experience. Recommend highly the Wolseley opposite for breakfast or lunch.

Perfect location just next to Green Park tube and 15 min walk to theatres.

Loved every second!

Room Tip: We had a basic one and it was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tescoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ritz for your special occasion, it is always a pleasure to learn that our efforts have been appreciated and I hope that the memory of your stay will remain fresh for years to come. I do hope you will come again. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Have been to The Ritz before but not as a resident . Booked a 1 night stay in a Deluxe King room for my wife's 50th Birthday. From the moment we stepped outside the taxi we were treated like royalty , staff could not have been more helpful. The room was huge and I highly recommend breakfast room service ( a very reasonable £5 charge) which is brought to you on a small table. The Rivoli bar is a true jewel in this crown and we also had a meal in the restaurant which has live music on Friday and Saturday nights, as you can imagine the quality of food and service was fantastic. You could go to much cheaper places but if you want to celebrate special occasion which will live long in the memory look no further than The Ritz,

Room Tip: Deluxe Kings are huge rooms but you can go cheaper in the Superior King or Queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
It does sound like we have gained another happy customer! Thank you for your straightforward comments which require no further explanation. I hope you will visit again and we can continue to live up to your high expectations. Happy New Year. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel no doubt was very regal , and very classic British, but it lacked the basic hospitality etiquettes. The Front Office staff is supposed to be very welcoming and very pleasant, which was not the case here. They were pretty arrogant and snobbish. The warmest people were the Bell Desk and the Concierge staff. They were very helpful. The room was not maintained at all. Firstly, the switchboards were not working followed by the speakers placed in the room. The most disappointing were the taps in the sink. There was a squeaky sound every time I opened the taps for good water pressure which was very very annoying. The hotel seriously needs refurbishment . Not at all worth the tariff. If you have some extra money to spend, then you can consider staying here.

Room Tip: Rather stay at the Sanderson Hotel, Oxford Circus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zahrah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I am very sorry that your first impression of the hotel was not a positive one. I understand how important this is and further work has been undertaken with the check-in staff. I am very surprised that you felt your room and the hotel in general were not well maintained. The hotel is, in fact, in a constant state of refurbishment and your comments are rather at odds with the vast majority of the others. I am genuinely sorry that this is the feeling you take away with you, but am pleased that you have found another hotel better suited to your needs. I very much hope you will visit another time and like what you see. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed at The Ritz last night for a one night Christmas treat. I proposed to my partner in room 212 and it was a magical experience. The staff were the epitome of excellent service and attentiveness. The room was simply beautiful. The age of the hotel needs to be taken into consideration as there is slightly noisy pipework at night, and the walls are quite thin... but this shouldn't put you off. A lovely trip and only wish I could re-book immediately! The evening turndown service was an unexpected beautiful touch, and every single need was taken care of. The breakfast was, whilst not Wetherspoons-quantity, sublimely cooked and served. A magical experience through and through.

Room Tip: Any room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilGlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Congratulations! I hope you and your fiancée will eventually have a long and happy marriage and will continue to think of The Ritz as your special place to visit when you are in London. I received your personal note and thank you for taking the time to put pen to paper during this special occasion. I am sorry that the pipeworks disturbed you, but I believe the noise you refer to was caused by engineering, who are replacing the air conditioning units and I apologise for the inconvenience. I hope you and your beloved shared a lovely first Christmas together as an engaged couple. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,176 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,214 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here once, a couple of years ago and have visited twice more, for lunch and afternoon tea. On each occasion, the experience has been truly sublime.

The hotel is grand, very grand and guests are made to feel special from the moment they walk through the front door. Everything, from the decor to the appointment of the bedrooms is of the highest standard and the service is immaculate. Afternoon tea in the Palm Court is an institution and the main restaurant is, without doubt, one of the most beautiful rooms anywhere.

The Ritz is a formal hotel. Casual clothing is not permitted in the restaurant at dinner, but if you're going to dress up, I can think of no better place to do it!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I agree that our Restaurant is one of the most beautiful rooms that it is possible to eat in, and dressing for the occasion is all part of the thrill. Thank you for your kind comments and I hope you will continue to visit when the opportunity arises. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This Grand Old Dame is expensive but worth it for the location and ambience.

We topped off the experience with a Christmas afternoon tea which was wonderful.

We were travelling with our teenage children who really received the royal treatment......little gifts and lovely sweet treats left for them when the beds were turned down.

The staff could not do enough for us.

I highly recommend this hotel for a true English experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I am very happy that you and your teenagers enjoyed your stay at The Ritz. Everyone should received the 'Royal treatment' you refer to when stay with us! I hope you will choose to visit again should you return to London in the future. Thank you. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#42 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,522 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing