We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for shopping and romantic weekend!”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #37 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

A feeling of coming home even if it is a fine and rather "stiff" hotel if you beleive in the roumers. The staff at the door are amazing, warm and energetic. I hope that the managment gives them the appriciation that they deserve!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bana1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

I can assure you that the Front Office is very much at the heart of the hotel and I am very aware of the valuable contribution that these characters make. Indeed, one of the concierge team has just completed 40 years at The Ritz, and another two 25 years - I am sure they are very happy here! I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and recognised the great team we have in the Lobby. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,610)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz London
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,346 - 2,352 of 3,610 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

A birthday treat to London started with a pre theatre meal at the Ritz. We arrived about 30 minutes early so we just sat and people watched with a nice glass of wine .This was
an evening to remember very attentive staff wonderful food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank morleyderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I used to stay at The Ritz, but about 6 years ago, it took us 40' to check out. So for the past 6 years, we have been trying other hotels in London. Cost-benefit made us try The Ritz again. The Levin, for instance, would have costed us more than The Ritz simplest room this time. Room size at The Ritz is always a plus as even their Queen is bigger than many King rooms in London. We were upgraded to a King room because we had to check in one night before our original reservation and they had no Queen available. Though we did pay extra for the room difference the first night, they kept us in the same room for the remainder of our stay (2+ nights). The fact that it works is expected of luxury hotels, though not all of them do. This time, check in and out were effortlessly done. House keeping and turn down service were very good though not 100% consistent every night. Room service was spotless even after midnight - the food has never been "wow!" but there was not a single item missing on the table. Transportation, small bottles of water after jogging are all promptly arranged by conciergerie and porters. The Ritz has everything including a park, a tube station, M&S Food and Boots all around itself. Two faults: their "state of the art" fitness center was being refurbished this time with no mention about it available in their website or in the confirmation emails received, and the "pushy" add about Ritz Jewelry on TV in the room. There is also absolutely no place for informality at The Ritz. Want a casual coffee, cross the street. Security, though unobtrusive, has increased.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RHOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your candid opinions. However, I must disagree with your comment about the food never having been 'wow', as John Williams, our Executive Chef delivers amazing food in the restaurant every day of the week. His dishes have to be eaten to be believed.

I am sorry you were not forewarned about the fitness room being refurbished, but hope you will enjoy visiting it during your next stay. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

A great experience and a fabulous time to enjoy a grand old lady of the hospitality industry... Worth the money and worth the time... I enjoyed every minute. The service is impeccable and the services are very thoughtful. Managed very well.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AHP9477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

How wonderful that you think the hotel is managed well! Seriously, it is always a pleasure to read of a guest's appreciation and your comments are no exception. Thank you. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is incredible. From the minute you walk in until the minute you leave. I can not rate this hotel highly enough. Even the cocktail bar was exceptional as were the waiting staff. Yes, everything is expensive but the quality is so good it is worth the money. Go just for the experience.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Edinburghtwoplusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you, your appreciation means a lot to me and the dedicated staff. I hope you will come again. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I was taken to the hotel as a surprise by my husband for one night and was absolutely delighted by the whole experience. The staff were very welcoming and the room was fabulous. We had a gorgeous dinner and delicious cocktails in the bar afterwards. It is a very expensive hotel but given I was being treated I couldn't complain!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

What a lovely treat, your husband has great taste! Thank you for this glowing summary of your experience and I hope you will return and permit us to spoil you on another special occasion. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Went for lunch, for the whole experience, and we were not disappointed. The building is stunning inside and out and I've never seen anything look more luxurious.
I had fois gras starter with black pudding, truffles and quails eggs and it remains to this day the greatest single plate of food I have ever eaten.
Some may find it a little formal, (you have to wear a jacket in the restaurant at all times) but to me it's part of it's historical charm.
Not just a meal - an experience. Now saving up to actually stay in the hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TruroMusicMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Chef John Williams' food has to be eaten to be believe. His team is the engine that oils the hotel and I am very grateful to your for your appreciation. Thank you. I hope it will not be too long before you can write about your overnight stay at The Ritz. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,072 in London
4,730 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,072 in London
1,433 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,072 in London
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,072 in London
3,251 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,072 in London
4,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $554 - $1,190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing