We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Hotel”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #32 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Fantastic location, fabulous service with history to match. I stayed in a suite which was very spacious and well appointed. Touches like a welcome suite and complementary champagne were fabulous touches. Its hard to fault.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live_it_every_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Excellent news. There is, however, always room for improvement, on your next visit please let me know if anything has changed! Many thanks. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,795
    468
    128
    55
    54
See reviews for
785
1,613
123
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Loved it. Perfect atmosphere. Classy. Grown up. Beautiful food, relaxing service, just everything you would expect and more from the ritz. Can't wait to go again . So much food is offered, sandwiches, as many as you want, scones with cream and jam, hot desert, cakes, pastries, we were even given a birthday cake for my dad

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DKebabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

As you'd expect, the physical facility of The Ritz is exceptional. Gorgeous common areas, dining room and bar and a great West End location. Our room was a very nicely decorated decent sized. We travel often to Europe from US and finally a hotel that provides you with a welcome suite to relax and clean up while your room is readied. Although the hotel is on a busy street, you do not notice that at all from inside or when coming or going. The door, reception, housecleaning and concierge staff were all outstanding and accomodating. We ate every morning and one dinner in the dining room during our five day say and the food was excellent. A bit of up selling by the sommalier, but not an issue. He was VERY friendly and informative. The only somewhat annoying issue, which did not bother my wife, was the very strict security. There is always a finely dressed gentleman in the reception area that interacts with mostly everyone coming into the hotel. I gather his purpose is to keep anyone other than guests out. However, after five days I found it a bit annoying to be greeted by "can I help you" or "room number, please". Never really encountered this level of security at other 5 star locations. Again, my wife and I differ on this point, but it seemed a bit intrusive to me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, however am rather surprised that you were not recognised after a day or two by Security. I apologise for this, and I understand why it irked you, however am heartened to note that your wife remained unperturbed. I hope you will return to stay at The Ritz. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Yes, it is expensive, it is wall to wall gilt, but it's THE RITZ !!! We recently spent a weekend here for a family celebration and the whole experience was simply magical. The surroundings were divine and the staff (at every level) were superb. 5 Star everything without attitude. When I win the lottery, I think I might move in.......until then, think of me when you are clinking a glass in the Rivoli Bar !!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Veniredenovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
When you hit the jackpot, please call the hotel and ask to speak to me personally! I would be delighted to welcome you back to The Ritz. Seriously, thank you for leaving your lovely comments and good luck with the lottery. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent just one night for my birthday, will be for longer next time.

Excellent location, close to everything. Nice stroll through Green Park before an excellent breakfast. Good selection which caters for all nationalities. Dinner was super too, amazing dining room with a good pianist (will have some requests for him next time). Lunch in the bar was equally good with food quality as if it were from Chatsworth Farm shop.

Staff, exceptional. From the welcome from the doorman, reception and check in to the Porter who showed us our room. Very respectful and helpful but none of the attitude that one gets in some hotels where they seem to think they are too good to be there. They just couldn't do enough, tempting to think of some request to test them.

The bedroom was as if we were staying in someone's posh country house and not like the standard hotels...even a key for the door! Probably one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in...and very quiet despite seeing all the London buses rumbling by.

What I didn't like....well there has to be something! The constant stream of people coming and going for afternoon tea. Seems to begin about 12pm and continue until about 7pm. Surely afternoon tea should be 3.30 to 5pm! Many of the groups appeared as if they were on Hen parties and lots dressed inappropriately.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Lovely that you enjoyed your special night at The Ritz - thank you for letting us know. I acknowledge your point about the guests coming in for Afternoon Tea, but it is so popular that if we did not offer several sittings per day, the waiting list would stretch way beyond what it is already. I hope it did not spoil your enjoyment unnecessarily. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I am still buzzing about my visit and loved every minute of my stay at the Ritz - fantastic proffesional staff, amazing attention to detail, perfect location, history, glamour and old-world charm. It is out of this world and guest are made to feel very special.

I have stayed in historic hotels in different parts of the world so when I booked the entry level queen room at The Ritz I wondered if we were going to be treated to charming by run down hotel and if a standard room meant basic treatment.

To my absolute delight this hotel surpassed every expectation I had - it truely is renown for good reasons - if you can, do go and stay at The Ritz it is AMAZING and you will love it!

All the staff are a credit to The Ritz and thank you for your kindness to the Reception and to the doormen who were very helpful and charming.

Do go to the Rivoli and the Privite Club that guests have entry to they are both exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TF66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for this very upbeat and effervescent review. I am thrilled that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you also wrote to the staff separately to express your delight and gratitude with the service you received. I look forward to meeting you next time. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Going to the Ritz is like a pilgrimage! One of the smartest hotels in London with that old-world charm: The rooms are decorated like an old-fashioned palace, the personnel is also dressed accordingly.

the location of the hotel at 150 Picadilly, right next to the subway and of course on Picadilly road with great shopping and restaurant venues is great.

My check in started from the moment my taxi stopped and the excellent staff, upon ascertaining my name, had everything ready for me before I even entered the hotel! Amazing...

Every detail, from the personnel asking if they can hang my jumper up in the closet for me, to the personal welcome letters written on the best stationery ever upon my arrival in the room, makes for a truly special experience...

One recommendation: it is best to dress up for this hotel, you will enjoy the experience more and fit in better. I was wearing jeans and trainers (not allowed in the restaurant for example) and almost felt like apologising to the painters who were doing some touch up work in the corridor and were better dressed than me!

Definitely need to stay at the Ritz London at least once in your life...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dartagnan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Great. As you correctly ascertained, we are a formal attire hotel and jeans and sports type shoes are not permitted in our beautiful restaurant. I am most heartened nonetheless that this did not deter you, but enhanced your experience of The Ritz. Thank you. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,068 in London
1,407 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,068 in London
1,152 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#40 of 1,068 in London
4,619 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,970 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing