We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime........well maybe ????”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #37 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked a superior king as part of my girlfriends birthday celebrations . Well , really made a first class choice ! Aside of the noisy neighbors out front , everything was perfect . All the staff are top notch and the hotel is beautiful . We were shown around before being shown our room , then bags appeared , along with the birthday cake ; which went down a treat I must say . Had a table at 5 in the Rivoli bar before a stroll up to theatreland for a play . Highly recommend this hotel even if you only get to go once in your lifetime : just do it !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,610)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz London
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,425 - 2,431 of 3,610 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

There are many hotel properties in London claiming to be outstanding, but truth be told very few deliver. Ritz is one of the rare exceptions. The staff is exceptionally friendly and forthcoming, and the room very cozy.

The breakfast room was great for a morning meeting but slightly too formal had we been there for leisure purposes.

All in all though, keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mantelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your words of encouragement, which I will share with the staff and are much appreciated. I hope you will visit again. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

If you only take afternoon tea once in your life take it at the Ritiz. While I have had food of equal quality elsewhere, and paid much less, that isn't the point. The Ritz is a total experience from the decor to the service. The place is full of history and glamour, and is exactly what a hotel should be.

This was our second vist, and while the atmosphere was as formal as before the staff seemed a lot more friendly, which puts everyone at ease. With a considerable price tag for tea you want to enjoy it and not be disturbed by stuffy staff.

The Ritiz is indulgence and one of those experiences you never forget. At some point we will really treat ourselves and stay at the hotel, as if everything else is as good as tea a truly great experience awaits us.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puss100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

on our final night in London, we decided to splurge and treat ourselves. OMG what an absolutely beautiful hotel. Pure indulgence. Beyond imagination. Even brought us breakfast at 4 in the morning before we caught our flight home. Cannot fault this magnificent establishment and will certainly stay there next year when I return for another wonderful holiday in my favourite travel destinAtion.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miscalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

It certainly seems like you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to welcoming you on your return next year. Thank you for your kind words. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have never been speechless but upon entering the foyer type area and hearing harp music, i thought id died and gone to heaven. Cocktails before lunch served by waiters in white tuxedos in a bar that looks like a scene from poirot. Lunch was extremely reasonable considering the quality and service and believe me, if you want good service, this is your place. I swear i am not easily impressed and can be a bit of a stickler about service etc but the ritz is my new favourite place and i now want to live there. No seriously, its one of those once in a lifetime, special experiences you save for and plan and expect will cost a fortune but actually is more reasonable than you think and worth every penny. If u frequent these places all the time you probably would find faults but for any normal person like me where it is for a special occassion then i guarentee you or the loved one your wanting to impress will remember their experience forever, as i will. Thankyou to all the ritz staff whi made my 40th birthday absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aggie3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Congratulations on reaching that milestone birthday and thank you for choosing The Ritz in which to spend it. You make some very astute points in your comments! I hope you will come back and put us to the test in terms of consistency with our service. Thank you very much for your generous feedback. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A lovely time was had by my husband and myself, we both felt special. We enjoyed our cocktail and beer in the bar - the most expensive we've had! We still laugh about the over-zealous waitress and the incident re. my footwear despite having been acknowledged by the man at the entrance to the bar. Impressed with the way a small group, who had obviously had enough to drink, were discretely dealt with. Evening meal was delicious, the waiters were smart and most attentive. We liked the way the chairs were set round the tables. Breakfast was good. Our room was most pleasant. The problem with our key not being available ( the previous occupant had taken it with him) was soon resolved.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, it seems that you enjoyed yourselves and had a jolly time observing the various interactions within the hotel. I hope the celebrations can resume at The Ritz on another occasion. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

While in London over the holidays, a friend and I booked a room at this grand hotel for a one night splurge on Christmas Eve. Although the room had no view, it was immense, with an beautiful and extravagant décor. The bathroom was larger than many hotel rooms. We checked in, had some champagne in the Palm Court (we were too late for Afternoon Tea) and then left to go elsewhere for Christmas Eve dinner and to St. Paul's Cathedral for midnight mass. When we returned in the wee hours of Christmas morning, we found our beds piled with little Christmas gifts from the hotel staff. My favorite was a framed drawing of the hotel entrance. Our stay was expensive but magical. It will remain in my memory the rest of my life. I have since returned on another trip to the hotel for tea, which was also wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Christmas at The Ritz really is beautiful and you appear to know how to celebrate in style. I hope to see you again for another festive treat. Thank you for your kind words. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,072 in London
4,730 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,072 in London
1,433 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,072 in London
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,072 in London
3,251 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,072 in London
4,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $554 - $1,190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing