We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A meal to be remembered”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #32 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A meal to be remembered”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

When entering the Ritz we found ourselves in a different world. A member of staff escorted us to the dining room and showed us to our table. The dining was very spacious and well lit. A waiter came over and introduced himself as Enzo, and said I am your waiter for the evening anything you would like please ask. I had the most delicious pepper soup which I have never had before, and I can highly recommend it. For main course I had duck and for sweet I had a soufle with ice cream, the soufle was perfection. We had unlimited melba toast and unsalted butter and the champagne was wonderful chilled and went down very very well. We were given a free refill of coffee. My friend dropped her napkin and Enzo rushed over and picked it up and brought her a clean one. To make it even more enjoyable no service charge was added to the bill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,795
    468
    128
    55
    54
See reviews for
785
1,613
123
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went for lunch on a deal - £45 each for a glass of champagne, and three course lunch. We had three choices for each course. We enjoyed the olive bread, and my main course was monkfish. I had a soufflé and ice cream for desert.
The atmosphere was wonderful, and the food excellent.
When our waiter discovered it was my husband's birthday, a cake was produced. We thought this was very kind of them to do this.
We thoroughly enjoyed the whole occasion, and will certainly return.

Room Tip: We did not stay just had lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood UK
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A member of our family was celebrating a Significant Birthday and we all clubbed together and 4 of us enjoyed Afternoon Tea At The Ritz last Wednesday. We had the most amazing experience from start to finish. The staff are a credit to the hotel. Very attentive. The surroundings are stunning. Nothing was to much trouble. The service excellent, food plentiful and absolutely delicious. A lot of different teas to choose from. However 2 of our party requested coffee which was beautifully served so do not worry if you do not like tea! All the food was very fresh and replenished frequently. Fantastic value for money. You can upgrade to a champagne tea for a little more. Could not recommend it more highly! Go and spoilt yourselves!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaBrentwoodUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Went to London recently and always wanted to go to the Ritz Carlton in London .Well i did and i was not disappointed .Yes you can visit it on the cheap if you want too by just visiting the bar for cocktails at 20 pounds each or for as little as 6 pounds have a coke.You also would get nibbles while having a drink like olives ,a selection or nuts and little fancy cheese bites which were very decorative and delicious .They kept coming over with these.In the bar. You can get away with wearing a shirt and trousers .For afternoon tea you have to wear a tie and a jacket.The down side is that you would have to book about 6 months in advance.At 45 pounds each ,it is worth it for a special treat and the staff were fantastic and took great care of our every need.I felt like a king it is something everyone should do once in there lifetime..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A wonderful experience from start to finish. This was a birthday treat from our daughters and was really fabulous. The tea itself was plentiful and absolutely delicious - I particularly loved the scones and cake! - and was constantly replenished by the very professional and attentive - and very pleasant - waiters. They were always there at just the right time and the service was really superb. It was lovely to dress up and enjoy the ambiance of the luxurious surroundings. A true treat and I think well worth the price for the lovely experience. On a very practical note, for those of us not used to frequenting The Ritz as a matter of course, it is good that service is included in the bill as it avoids all embarrassment. I would love to repeat this experience one day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

It's not easy to write a review about the Ritz without abounding in superlatives. I used to stay in London in other wonderful five stars hotel in the Mayfair area -by the way, I think this is the best area to stay in London for a tourist-. A couple of years ago it was fully booked and then I chose the Ritz as an alternative to stay there for five days with my family. It was so good that we decided to repeat the experience and booked two rooms for almost a week this month. Our two rooms were wonderful and very spacious. The staff was helpful and friendly -and not at all snobbish- without being intrusive. They were always willing to go the the extra length to help you. Only as an example: on Sunday Aug 4 the hotel area was affected by the Prudential Ride London and we had tickets for a 9 a.m. exhibition at the British Museum. I asked to a doorman what area he would recommend us to go to get a taxi. In spite I assured him I knew perfectly well the neighborhood he walked with us three blocks -he previously gave notice of what he was doing to his supervisor- and ran almost a block to get us a taxi.The waiter remembered what were our preferences for breakfast and the reception people make you feel at home from the beginning. Obviously perfect is almost impossible. Perhaps the dress code is a bit dated -but of course this is a debatable opinion- and once my 19 years old son was denied access to the breakfast saloon because he was using a bermuda short. And one occasion we left our rooms and 11 a.m. and found they were being made when we returned a 4 p.m.But definitely the Ritz has been very, very close to perfect and undoubtedly will be staying there on our next trip to London. I've stayed at lots of five star hotels. Definitely, the Ritz ranks among the very best of them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were given" Tea at the Ritz, with Champagne"by our daughter and son in law.
As they are always very busy our appointment was for 11-30 am.
The surroundings were absolutely superb and the service, as we expected, top class.
There was a silver tier with sandwiches, scones, cream and jam,and a selection of cakes to die for. The champagne was served prior to tea and extra glasses were available at £19-00 each Musical requests were played on the Grand piano,I went and asked for a selection from Phantom of the Opera for my wife but found that there was a long list before us. "Why not jump the queue?" said the pianist. Our item was played next!
The sandwiches were an interesting selection. There was mustard with ham Chutney with some cheese added, salad cream with smoked salmon and something that tasted rather sharp with egg. A very enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandjanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,068 in London
1,407 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,068 in London
1,152 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#40 of 1,068 in London
4,619 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,968 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing