We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top elegance, furniture style Louis XVI, gold and marble”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #32 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and me spent excellent, very beautiful days in the Ritz London. During our
stay we received an upgrading in a wonderful, suite with very beautiful antiques, furniture, golden ceilings, great tables and chandellors, marble, round sleeping
room. Unforgettable! The restaurant with high ceilings is considered as one of the
most beautiful ones in Europe. All members of the staff are very polite and friendly.
Everything is great here. Only one thing: the breakfast buffet could have a little bit a
larger choice. We already look forward to our next great stay. Higly recommended!

Room Tip: Views to Green Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jürg Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments and I am very pleased you had a good time during your stay with us. I hope you will visit again. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,699 - 2,705 of 3,754 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Went to the restaurant for a birthday, staff were friendly and highly attentive throughout.

The food was excellent. The menu consisted of many classic dishes but were executed brilliantly with great presentation. Asparagus with gulls egg and morel was a great combination and ox cheek was very tender.

Would definitely return again, the atmosphere and beautiful surroundings really make it a special experience.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DWD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed one night with boyfriend, it was cool but I could not help comparing it with The Paris Ritz which I stayed in a few years ago. Felt a little less posh (for want of a better word) but that is not a criticism. We didnt dine in the hotel but had a spectacular breakfast in our room. Smoked Salmon and all the trimmings.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

I am so glad you had a comfortable stay and hope you will return. Although The Ritz Paris is run completely separately and has different owners, I nonetheless hope that you will enjoy visiting when it reopens - scheduled for next year. In the meantime, The Ritz London is very much open and looks forward to seeing you next time! SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Amazing hotel-very upscale with wonderful location near tube stations and buses, excellent service, lovely rooms, very fine restaurants on property and Fitness Studio
Very good English Breakfast
Provides Butler Service
London is very exciting this year and the hotel offers special packages to these events

Room Tip: Get a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for the straightforward and succinct feedback, which is much appreciated. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We've stayed at the Ritz twice and the rooms (we stayed in a suite) were magnificent - everything you would expect from the Ritz. The staff is accommodating and helpful but lacks a genuine warmth. I've gotten the feeling on both visits that if you aren't "somebody" or not wearing designer clothes they look down on you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigpenny34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

It is such a shame that you are left with this feeling from the hard working and highly trained staff. I wonder if perhaps our British formality has given you the wrong impression as it most certainly is not in our interest to look down on anyone. Everyone should be treated the same - as a VIP! I do however wholeheartedly apologise for any mixed messages you might have received and hope that you will return for a lucky third time. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Really enjoyed the partridge that I had, very nice, attentive staff and beautiful Christmas decorations. It lived up to its expectations for both us and our Russian friends. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the restaurant had the most marvellous live music from amazing musicians.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qwertyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for those kind words. I am always very happy to read compliments about the staff, as they work amazingly hard and are truly dedicated to customer service. I hope you will visit again. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A pleasure from start to finish, this Iconic hotel exceeded my expectations.The staff are attentive and helpful,the decor is stunning and the atmosphere is elegant and relaxed.We had afternoon tea in the palm court and then moved on to the Rivoli bar for cocktails.A wonderful afternoon and evening.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#23 of 1,077 in London
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#75 of 1,077 in London
4,384 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#16 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $497 - $938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing