We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GPQ Euro 2013”
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
Ranked #363 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GPQ Euro 2013”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was the first hotel on our Euro tour. Staff were very friendly and the position is excellent. Metro is 5 minute walk with a bus stop out the front. Hyde Park is opposite with Buckingham Palace a 25 minute walk through the park. Our room was very good and the breakfast was the perfect start to the days touring. Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc_45_MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback and your positive comments regarding the staff and the indeed unbeatable location of Thistle Hyde Park. I am glad you the room and the breakfast was to your liking. I wish you a wonderful rest of your Euro trip.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    375
    105
    44
    30
See reviews for
180
369
49
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

my husband and i have just had a lovely 2 night stay stay in this small hotel. the location spot on. we had a room on the 4th floor small window overlooking the park. only problem at the moment the hotel is covered in scafolding while work is done. this was not a problem for us. our room large clean and comfy. i had booked a standard room at an amazing price and this was a free upgrade. we had breakfast in the price which was lovely the staff very attentive. a credit to this lovely hotel. in june i stopped at the hilton hyde park and this hotel suits our needs much better. i would stop here again .i have tried lots of london hotels and i prefer the smaller ones.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pottypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
I am pleased to learn Thistle Hyde Park suited your expectations and preference of the location, size, food, service and price. The scaffolding is only temporary to give this beautiful hotel a little uplift and soon it will be revealed with a much neater appearance. I am glad it did not hamper you enjoying your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback. Wish you a belated Happy Birthday.
I look forward to welcome you soon.
Warm regards,
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Booked to stay for 3 nights with 2 rooms on the top floor between the 4 of us. Rooms were good sizes and very clean. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and all the staff were extremely friendly and courteous with great customer service - even when they had to open our locked safe. The breakfast room was very bright with a veranda overlooking Hyde Park.
Across the road from the Park and 5 mins from a Central Line Tube station it is perfectly located.
Only tiny issues like the patched up decor and tired paintwork. In room 402 the sink was cracked and hastily repaired, but for all I know it happened the day before I arrived and they had not had time to replace. Finally the door keys seemed very temperamental often needing several attempts to unlock the doors, and needed replacing twice.
All in all a very enjoyable stay which comes highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mattwaggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Your thorough review of Thistle Hyde Park and appreciation of the team and service is highly valued. I am pleased to confirm we are in the process of replacing the cracked sink in mentioned room number, thanks to your feedback; also the touch of paint shall be done in the same room. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you’ve had with the door key being deactivated often. I can assure it’s not a regular issue. One thing which seems to deactivate the key’s magnetic coded strip is if kept with any electronic devices, mobiles, tablets etc. Overall, I am glad to learn you had a very enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcome you back.
Warm regards,
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel is old but the room is big with 3 big window face to hyde park. Very quiet and comfortable. The underground is around 5 minutes walk distance. The best thing is the internet is free and super fast.There is also city bike near by very convenient for visitor.
We took heathrow express to paddtion station then took taxi to hotel it's just 10 ponds. The hotel restaurant even offer 24 hours service which is good for late night check in. We would love to come back and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for taking time out to share your feedback. I am pleased to know you found Thistle Hyde Park's location suitable and the room quite and comfortable.
Since last year, Thistle’s London hotels are offering complimentary internet to all its guests and recently this fantastic service has been spread out to most of its 36 hotels in the UK that too at an upgraded speed of up to 100mbps.
I look forward to welcome you and your recommended friends in near future.
Warm regards,
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We usually try to stay in apartment when we visit London but, having left booking this time to the last minute, we had no luck and so opted for a hotel. We wanted to stay close to Hyde Park and in the general Notting Hill / Bayswater area and were very glad to have found the Thistle Hyde Park.

We stayed for five nights in July and found the location to be ideal. Close to two tube stations, a bus stop out front and directly across the road from the Park, we couldn't have wanted for better. Our room overlooking the park was very tastefully furnished and most comfortable and, despite being on a busy road, was very quiet.

Breakfasts either in the dining room or on the front veranda were more than adequate, although the service was a little slow on some mornings. The Thistle Hyde Park may not be the cheapest London accommodation option, but that is to be expected given the standard of facilities and the location. All in all this was the ideal place to stay for a short London break.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clovis_dm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I must agree the location of Thistle Hyde Park is unbeatable.
It’s a pleasure to learn you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding the breakfast service. I shall personally look in to it.
I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We arrived late to Heathrow and even later to the hotel since the Heathrow Express was out of service. After traveling for many hours we were hungry and hoped that they had some food at the hotel. At the front desk there were a smiling gentleman that called the bar or kitchen to check if there was possibilities for food since we arrived so late. The kitchen was about to close, but since we arrived in the last minute they made us some sandwiches. It was perfect. The room was big and clean. The bathroom had a combined bathtub and shower. The breakfast was ok. Not very big but enough to feed some hungry people like me for example. Toast, eggs, bacon, beans and some yoghurt and other stuff.
The hotel is not far from the Paddington station and Hyde Park is just across the road.
I would recommend this hotel for friends, couples and business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-Bear12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay at Thistle Hyde Park. I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

While on recent trip to London to visit my daughter in Notting Hill chose to stay at Thistle Hyde Park. Directly across street from Hyde Park, 7 min walk to Kensington Palace. Conveniently located to Notting Hill. I had a single room which was perfect size .. very nice marble bathroom ... very clean ... air conditioned .. I requested a fan for room since I am hot natured and staff showed up in under 5 mins with a great one. Staff very friendly. Will definitely stay there again ... I think two nights including everything came to about $700.00 .... not at all bad for London ... especially with this great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. I must agree Thistle Hyde Park's location is unbeatable.I am pleased you found our pricing suitable, the room met your expectation and the team took care of you.
I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#285 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#440 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#409 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#111 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Property: Thistle Hyde Park
Address: 90 - 92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#214 Romantic Hotel in London
#260 Luxury Hotel in London
#272 Family Hotel in London
#316 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. Within walking distance of Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stations and a literal stone's throw from multiple bus stops, you'll find it easy to get from the hotel to wherever it is you wish to visit in central London. What's more, you have the luxury of two of London's finest public parks just across the road from the hotel entrance - perfect for a morning stroll, weekend picnic, or letting the kids run off all the excitement of a holiday in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London, England
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing