We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room and service”
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
Ranked #363 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic room and service”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Beautiful quiet setting overlooking Hyde Park. Very warm welcome from Katarina on reception who was very informative about the hotel, gave us a map and explained where we were and ringed the nearby attractions. I said that I hoped we had a room with a view over the park upon which she said that we had been upgraded to a room on the fourth floor. The room and the view were very pleasant and the bathroom spacious and luxurious. It was 30 degrees outside but the air conditioning left the room perfectly cool. Complimentary mineral water in the mini bar. The only minor complaint was the quality of the cheddar on the cheeseboard we had with room service but this was very quickly taken off our bill. All in all a very relaxing two night stay away from the hustle and bustle but within a short walk of Oxford Street. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 401 is a lovely twin bedded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebee_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review of Thistle Hyde Park and your positive comments regarding the customer service provided by the team, especially Katerina is thrilled to learn she could enhance your holiday experience. I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of Thistle Hyde Park's great location, spacious and luxurious room and bathroom and unbeatable views overlooking Hyde Park. Your comments about the cheese has been shared with the Head chef to ensure its not repeated in the future. I would like to thank you for bringing it to our notice and please accept my sincere apologies for the same.
I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    375
    105
    44
    30
See reviews for
180
369
49
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked into the hotel for a 65th birthday treat, was not disappointed. Staff were lovely we were upgraded into a suite, given chocolates and complimentary drinks when we mentioned it was my husbands 65th birthday and we were visiting as we used to live in Lancaster gate.

Location was fantastic looked out over hyde park, tube station 3 mins walk away and taxi's ordered by the hotel were very competative. Room was stunning and staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Easy access into centre of London and just a great time. Plan to visit again at Xmas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your lovely feedback and for your positive comments regarding Thistle Hyde Park's great location and the excellent service. The team is thrilled to know that they could enhance the experience of your stay and birthday celebrations.
I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards,
Sudhanshu Rathee
Operations Manager
Thistle Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I looked at many London hotels on the Internet and settled on the Thistle Hyde Park because of the look of the hotel, the location and the price. Also they said they could accommodate three in a room. Our stay turned out to be everything we were looking for and more. The hotel is beautiful. The room was lovely, very spacious, set up for three people and had a great view. The best part was the hotel staff. They were very friendly and helpful, especially one desk clerk in particular who went above and beyond to make our stay very memorable. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the Thistle Hyde Park Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you had an ‘awesome’ stay at Thistle Hyde Park. I was particularly happy to read your comment about the service and staff. We do give a ‘guest satisfaction’ high priority, I am glad the team took good care of you and the product met your expectations and more.
I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regard,
Sudhanshu Rathee
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We visited over the past weekend. The location is incredible, directly across the street from the Lancaster gate in Hyde Park and close to Kensington palace. The transportation options nearby Paddington Station and both tube and city buses were amazing.

The reception desk staff was helpful, pleasant and accommodating. The breakfast had many many options from which to choose. Eggs, beans, bacon, potatoes, grilled tomatoes, sautéed mushrooms, toast, rolls, fresh breads, pastries, fresh fruit and preserved fruit, cereals yogurt, cheese, deli meats, jams, and other spreads. Beverages included tea, coffee and multiple fruit juices. Stay away from the coffee the only disappointing thing on the menu.

The room was small and clean. There was a small issue that the safe did not work. The toiletries were limited but satisfactory. I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arbie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay at Thistle Hyde Park. I must agree our location is unbeatable. I was particularly happy to read your comment about the service and breakfast. I am sorry to learn that the coffee was not up to your satisfaction. I can confirm we are looking into the alternate options for the same. Please accept my sincere apologies that the safe was not working. I can confirm it’s been fixed.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Warm regards,
Sudhanshu Rathee
Operations Manager
Thistle Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

After culling through long lists of hotels, I finally chose the Thistle Hyde Park and hoped for the best. It was even better than hoped-for. Very friendly and helpful staff - and I mean all of them. Our rooms (two room suite) were spacious, and the bath was enormous. Cool art nouveau-style treatments. Once we flipped the roll-away mattress onto the proper side, even it was very comfy. Wide variety of restaurants nearby, Lancaster Gate Tube is a few blocks, Hyde Park is across the street, and the 94 bus runs into Oxford St and Picadilly for a short walk to theaters. Oh, and the rates here are very reasonable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homespunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager Thistle Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

First visit to this hotel and after reading all the good reviews I'm so glad we went to the thistle Hyde park. We arrived a little early and went to check if we could check in but was told our room wasn't ready, which wasn't a problem but straight away the receptionist checked other rooms and moved us to one that was ready. Room was nice and clean and better than expected. Didn't eat at the hotel and choose to have breakfast at a little pub just down the road which was a reasonable price and tasted great. Easy access to tube but also Hyde park straight across the road so plenty to do and places easy to get to if walking. Only downside from a personal view was the pillows were far to big and quite hard. Overall lovely hotel and would certainly use again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titch83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. Thank you for your feedback regarding the pillows and the Head Housekeeper will be looking into this. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager Thistle Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

So we ended up here after a rather horrific experience at the hotel we were supposed to be staying at! We started our experience with a well deserved beer at the bar which was a bit overpriced but very much needed. The entrance to the hotel and lobby is beautiful and very grand with chandeliers and a grand piano adorning the entrance. We went up to our room and it was lovely, not a massive room but then again we did book on the day and only paid £130 for it. The bed was very comfortable and the decoration is extremely tasteful, it felt very luxurious.

The bathroom was very nice with marble and gold decorations and also very spacious in comparison to other hotel rooms, we did have some issues with the hot water though and had to get housekeeping to come and assist. After that I had a nice hot shower however my boyfriend ended up with a cold one so this is something that could be looked at.

We had dinner out of the hotel but decided to have pudding in the restaurant which was very nice, we sat in the window looking out on to the entrance which faces Hyde Park. The breakfast the next day was very nice too, an extra £12 a head but worth it, a good selection of pastries and continental food as well as the standard full english.

Overall the hotel was very nice and we had an enjoyable nights stay there and spent the next day walking around Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it for anyone travelling to London.

Room Tip: Excellent Hotel, Drinks are extortionate but there is a little tesco express down the road to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager Thistle Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#285 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#440 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#409 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#111 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Property: Thistle Hyde Park
Address: 90 - 92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#214 Romantic Hotel in London
#260 Luxury Hotel in London
#272 Family Hotel in London
#316 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. Within walking distance of Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stations and a literal stone's throw from multiple bus stops, you'll find it easy to get from the hotel to wherever it is you wish to visit in central London. What's more, you have the luxury of two of London's finest public parks just across the road from the hotel entrance - perfect for a morning stroll, weekend picnic, or letting the kids run off all the excitement of a holiday in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London, England
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing