We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
Ranked #463 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel in a good location. Would definitely return and recommend! Rooms were tastefully decorated. Only slight negative was we didn't use the shower as the water pressure wasn't great and it took a long time for hot water to arrive so we just had baths instead which filled in a few minutes with instant hot water. Staff are very professional and friendly!

1  Thank Rachgr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Your review of Thistle Hyde Park was much appreciated. I am sorry you had shower pressure issues, but we able to take advantage of a bath instead and that this clearly did not impact your stay. If you would care to contact me directly then I can investigate this further. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Hyde Park.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 918 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a twin room which overlooked the park. The room was clean and very spacious with a large bathroom, twin beds and a seperate area with sofa, chairs and a table. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel situated just a two minute walk away from the tube. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterwalker45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experiences of Thistle Hyde Park. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for an over night shopping/theatre trip to London. The hotel is easy walking distance from Paddington Station, and close to the London Underground stations for easy access to central London. We walked back from the Royal Albert Hall concert in about 20 minutes, so it is very good location.

Room Tip: We had a very good deal, so I understand that we may have not had the best room, but the Room 101, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Percy-Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review, it again highlights our great location for transport and our proximity to the sights of London, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our twin room was very clean and they had made good use of the space. There was plenty of storage in a small separate area, plus two chairs with a small round table and still room to move around, with space either side of the beds too. The bathroom fitments should perhaps be replaced, but there was plenty of hot water and both the wall-mounted and hand-held shower heads had good pressure. On the down side, it is quite noisy but this is only to be expected in this location and we had a room overlooking the road. Remember to take ear-plugs! We always find hotel rooms too hot and this was no exception. It seemed very difficult to adjust the temperature, since we were not able to change the fan speed. Opening the window was the only alternative, which wasn't ideal. The young man on Reception was very pleasant and gave us all the information we needed on arrival. Overall, for a short stay this hotel is fine.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the road are going to be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and found the hotel to be suitable to your needs. We are centrally located and very close to transport links, which, being London will always be busy. I have reviewed your comments reference the temperature and the necessary adjustments to the individual unit has been made to ensure the optimum comfort can be achieved. Thank you for taking the time to detail this feedback as it supports our desire to continually improve our guest experience. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions and have nothing but praise for the this lovely hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable - I have stayed in the junior suite and a deluxe twin and both were lovely. The food and service is excellent!!! This hotel is situated in a lovely area with great views over Hyde Park plus easy access to all the hot spots in Town. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend the junior suite on the 4th floor, and the deluxe twin on the 3rd floor overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

It was very pleasing to read your review following your first stay at Thistle Hyde Park. Your comments regarding the service received by the Food and Beverage and Reception teams has been shared - it is great to receive such positive compliments around the proactive service we always strive to deliver. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back and that you become a frequent guest at our hotel.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and myself stayed at the Thistle Hyde Park for 2 nights for a birthday treat for my wife and the service we recieved was excellent.When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely lady at the recepition desk {Luba} and she made my wife and myself very welcoming and she set the scene for our short stay their.When we arrived at our room in the hotel we were so pleased with it we couldn't have asked for any better.We would certainly return to this hotel again when we come back to London.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank STEPHEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your great review of Thistle Hyde Park. It was pleasing to read your comments and for highlighting the welcome received from Luba; your feedback will certainly be shared with the team here in the hotel. I am delighted we were able to help you and your wife enjoy a special weekend in London and hope that we get the chance to welcome you back to Thistle Hyde Park in the very near future.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I just completed my first stay at this hotel and I will certainly return. The facility is very nice and retains the character of the stately homes that used to occupy the same area. The room I had was very spacious and had excellent storage and a very roomy bathroom. I have stayed at many other hotels in the Bayswater area and this is by far the nicest. In addition the front desk staff were very helpful and responsive and the staff in the dining room for breakfast were equally exceptional. The location is also great as it is right across from Hyde Park and centrally located for the underground and numerous bus routes. I would recommend this hotel without qualification.

Room Tip: I booked a leisure standard room that included breakfast and it was a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buffalojim67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#315 of 1,078 in London
2,045 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#246 of 1,078 in London
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#182 of 1,078 in London
3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Address: 90 - 92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#149 Family Hotel in London
#214 Romantic Hotel in London
#304 Luxury Hotel in London
#315 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $149 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. Within walking distance of Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stations and a literal stone's throw from multiple bus stops, you'll find it easy to get from the hotel to wherever it is you wish to visit in central London. What's more, you have the luxury of two of London's finest public parks just across the road from the hotel entrance - perfect for a morning stroll, weekend picnic, or letting the kids run off all the excitement of a holiday in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London, England
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing