We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!!”
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
Ranked #415 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We chose this hotel because of it's location, close to the Royal Albert Hall, just 15 minutes walk away across Hyde Park. Unfortunately the park is closed at night but that was the only negative to our stay.
From the moment we arrived everything was just about perfect. Our rooms were upgraded to suites, the staff were all friendly, helpful and efficient, the bar was cosy and the breakfast excellent. (Top Tip!! We were advised by the barman to ask at the front desk for a breakfast voucher which offerred quite a saving - well worth it as the breakfast had a great continental choice from the buffet and the cooked breakfast was fresh and absolutely delicious).
This is a small hotel, only about 60 rooms and I think this makes your stay seem really personal. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or stay there again if we wanted to be in West London. Not an ideal location if you want to be in the West End .

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite at the front over looking Hyde Park, would definately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SurreySingleMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

I was delighted to read that you 'Loved' our hotel and thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Thistle Hyde Park. I hope you had an opportunity to enjoy the park, it's actually open from 5am until Midnight every day of the year. Thanks also for your top tips; Park facing rooms can be requested ahead of arrival and indeed our breakfast vouchers do offer a great discount to those guests who have booked room only. I hope we get an opportunity to welcome you back to Thistle Hyde Park soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 904 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Perfect location for what we wanted, Hyde Park over the road for morning runs & a short walk to Kensington, Mayfair etc.
Some nice touches to give the hotel some character.
Staff were all excellent & super efficient.
Rooms could do with more channels on the tv.
Breakfast - continental selection ok, cooked options were very good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainSpenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Your review of Thistle Hyde Park was much appreciated. We do enjoy a great location opposite Hyde Park, one of London's most famous Park's, and benefit from great transport links. Thanks again for your review.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Last time I was booked in here they transferred me to their sister hotel next door because of heating problems. This time there were no problems and to compensate they upgraded me to a larger room with a view over Hyde Park. In fact the staff were excellent and efficient throughout my stay.
The room was very grand and had a massive double bed plus two easy chairs and a balcony.
I had a really good nights sleep for a change in London.
The bathroom was fine if a little dated but then a period style hotel is always going to be a little behind the times.
Only slight downside were thebar prices - around £20 for 3 drinks - 2 G&Ts and a bottle of beer
I know London can be expensive but that seemed a little steep.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the park are great for the views but there will be traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paisleypark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your review of Thistle Hyde Park following your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to read your positive views on the character of our hotel and the service you received during your time with us. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at Hyde Park Thistle. Staff was friendly and professional. Nice clean room and bathroom. The Handle on the front window was a little loose so we couldn't shut it without a small open gap. not a problem for us but it might bother some people. We always stay in the Paddington area and this hotel was a bit of a splurge. We found a nice special and went for it. Nice to walk out the door and be at the park. So convenient to the tube also.

Room Tip: we were in the front facing the park. some traffic noise in the am but nothing more than you would e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nqff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

It was pleasing to read how much you loved your stay at Thistle Hyde Park and the great service you received. We love our location and proximity to the park, the tube and the hustle and bustle of Central London. Thanks also for your room tip, it's naturally a bit noisy in such a busy city; but generally a quiet night's sleep in a great location. Thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Our first trip to London made so much better by the wonderful staff at this hotel, not to mention the charm of this gorgeous hotel. Staff in the breakfast room also great. Would definately return to this lovely & clean hotel in the future

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dione22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your great review of Thistle Hyde Park. I am so glad we helped to make your first trip to London such a memorable one and that you enjoyed the great service and hospitality we provide. I look forward to welcoming you back when you're next across from Australia! Thanks again for your review.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was my first experience of this wonderful establishment. Quite a small hotel with the feel of a “Gentleman’s Club”. The reception is smart, and the bar very welcoming. Good staff too. My room was on the small side but had a double bed and will appointed bathroom. The rooms are decorated in the period (Edwardian), and are maintained well. Plenty of natural light coming across from Hyde Park. The rooms had tea/coffee, safe, iron/ironing board etc. Good quality toiletries etc. Breakfast was good. It’s buffet service except for Tea/Coffee, toast, and the hot breakfast is cooked to order. Good value too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bot the traveller 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

I was delighted to read about your enjoyment of our "Hidden Gem" and the positive stay you had with us recently. I certainly hope you find your way back to us on Hyde Park when you are next in London.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is definately not worth the price they are charging. I spent three days in London in a group of five in two junior suits in November. The heating in the hotel was not working and the rooms were very cold during the night. In one room the toilet flush did not work with obvious consequences (you can immagine!). Their excuse was that the hotel is in a very old building, but common the paint was coming of the walls in the room due to humidity. They should then lower the stars and charge less. I chose a four star hotel to avoid these problems, since also travelling with my mother who is 65 years old and wants to stay comfortably. The only positive thing about the hotel is the location and the friendly staff, but still not worth the money......

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank teremr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your recent stay at Thistle Hyde Park. Whilst the age of the building is not an excuse, a contributing factor is that sometimes things happen in a hotel, of any star rating, that is beyond our control - in this case our boilers went off line resulting in a short term loss of heating. I am sincerely sorry that this affected your enjoyment of the hotel and would like to discuss this with you personally, should you wish to contact me directly. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed the service provided and the location of the hotel, positives that will be fed back to the team, thank you.

Kind regards

Andrew Byrne | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#304 of 1,076 in London
1,999 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#388 of 1,076 in London
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#406 of 1,076 in London
816 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#103 of 1,076 in London
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Address: 90 - 92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#214 Romantic Hotel in London
#272 Family Hotel in London
#286 Luxury Hotel in London
#316 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $164 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. Within walking distance of Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stations and a literal stone's throw from multiple bus stops, you'll find it easy to get from the hotel to wherever it is you wish to visit in central London. What's more, you have the luxury of two of London's finest public parks just across the road from the hotel entrance - perfect for a morning stroll, weekend picnic, or letting the kids run off all the excitement of a holiday in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London, England
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing