We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surpriced of the size of the room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
Ranked #362 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“surpriced of the size of the room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

So stayed at Thistle hotels in London many many times, often for budget reasons. Most stays up until now have been rather dissappointing, most often because of the room quality and especially size, but this time it was different. stayed in a deluxe twin (room 303) with a small view of Hyde Park, and I was really enjoying the room. Really good service at check in/ out

Room Tip: had a deluxe room with small view of Hyde Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your review of Thistle Hyde Park; I'm delighted you enjoyed the size of our rooms and the service you received in the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew Byrne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    370
    104
    44
    30
See reviews for
178
366
49
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Charming little hotel across the road from Hyde park and within walking distance of three different stations. The hotel isn't exactly close to any one station, it's in between two underground stations (Lancaster Gate and Queensway) so it's actually a bit of a walk to get there. Staff are charming and helping (with the exception of one very unfriendly receptionist, but only came across her once).

The room itself (Standard double), does not exactly reflect the pictures in the website. The room felt a little small due to its funny shape (but is actually quite large for London standards) but was still quite beautiful. The bed was large and comfortable and the room was very clean.

That said, the bathroom plumbing was in dire need of updating. It took ages to get hot water running from it, and the toilet didn't flush very well.

I recommend this hotel for a short stay, but only if you can get a good deal on it I wouldn't spend more than AUD$180/night here, better places to be found for cheaper.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the Hyde park view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Migzonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed in Room 226. The reception and staff were very helpful and the reception and bar are lovely as its such a beautiful old building. The bedroom however was a different story. Heavy water stains on ceiling and the chandelier was filthy and partially working. The powerpoint by the side of the bed has a massive hole in the wall and workmanship very shoddy, all been patched up. The safe was broken. The radiator not working so we had a big electric radiator with wires hanging over the dressing table. The bathroom was in a terrible state - shower screen full of mould, the marble had scruffy broken white sealant patch up and the cold water tap would not turn on. The radiator was also broken in the bathroom. Very mean with the toiletries, no body lotion supplied.

For the price we paid it was not good value for money. I don't know how they get away with it!!!

Room Tip: Don't choose room 226.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dibbla51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stay at Thistle hotels as part of or company scheme and I always find them rather uninspiring and old fashioned. I was pleasantly surprised therefore to enter my room and see high cielings, huge cupboards and a big bathroom with a huge 'cant reach the end with your toes' bath. It was all newly painted (on top of old stuff but it is a traditional hotel), the bed was a nice size and the room felt rather luxurious. (especially for the rate we paid).
My colleague was in a twin room on a lower floor, she didnt have the high cielings but had a wider room and was also pleasantly surprised. Her shower and bath failed to produce any hot water sadly.
The bar area is nice, breakfast was good and served to you at the table. Easy access from the tube and opposite hyde park. Loads of restaurants nearby too.
Most importantly for me it was quiet - no banging doors or rattling pipes. Never had a hotel this quiet in London.
Will choose this one over the Euston hotel next time, despite it being 2 tube rides away, just an altogether more pleasant experience.

Room Tip: 2nd floor upwards for high cielings and ask for a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad Pakistan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I had a bargain offer from London Park Lane, but on the advice of Pakistan Embassy I tried this hotel and have not regretted.
The location, on the edge of Hyde Park,served by bus 148 for Oxford Street and 94 for Picadilly Circus is very convenient. Lancaster Gate tube station is also close where the staff seems to be rude.
I was upgraded to a junior suite, which was commodious and clean. The main difficulty was the absence of a water mixture in the wash basin which had separate taps for hot and cold water. In the bath tube I relied on the telphone, in preference to overhead shower and found that quite satisfactory. The room was clean, though it had the minor inconvenience of split hangers in the war drobe. Here I must add a caveat : room comparisons are tricky because the stanards can very a great deal.
The staff was polite and helpful. On Sunday the breakfast service was slower than normal, but not significantly.
The hotel has reasonable space in the parking area, more than a typical 4 star facility.
I would recommend the hotel

Room Tip: ask for upgradation to a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saeedqureshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed here for one night as I had a ticket to see Les Miserables and wanted to shop in London for the day. Top tip for finding it-if you travel by tube (Central line, Lancaster Gate)-keep walking along Bayswater Road as the hotel entrance faces it rather than Lancaster Gate (myself and two other guests did the loop around the block before discovering this fact). Upon arrival reception staff were very helpful, initially I was put in a room next to the lift and when I asked to change rooms because of lift noise, they were more than accomadating-immediately moving me to a top floor room with splendid views of Hyde Park. The room was huge for London standards, tastefully decored, comfortable bed, clean and the bathroom again a great size, as were the bath towels. It's a great location for the shops and theater-Oxford St is only a few minutes down the line and I was back in my room by 1045pm after the show finished(1030pm at The Queens Theatre), so perfect for a tired soul after a long day in London. There is also a fine pub and a small convenience store/souvenir shop between the tube stop and the hotel. Checkout is at 12pm, perfect for recharging in the morning before hitting the shops again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perthgourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

After staying at such a lovely hotel in Paris (San Regis) this hotel was a let down! It needs work.. The staff was okay but they change staff every other day! They do not clean up outside the facility! Dog poop remained for 4 days!! We stayed 6 nights and our bed was turned down 2x. The coffee for guests at breakfast was horrible! If you wanted the "better" coffee they charged you 2.50 lbs per cup! You had to pay for wifi.. No doorman! When guests arrived they could literraly walk in and come upstairs.. No security at all! And the biggest issue we had was when receiving our bill the rates were random. When I questioned them they said the price depended on how busy the were! Have you ever?? The rates fluctuated from 180 lbs to 290 lbs!! Ver upsetting since this hotel was booked far in advance. The only bright side was Marina and Andrea who worked the dining area! They were just lovely girls! I would not return!

Room Tip: I would just not stay there unless you find a 2star acceptable when it's supposed to be 4star
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lecsegue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#291 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#435 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#397 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#120 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Property: Thistle Hyde Park
Address: 90 - 92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#214 Romantic Hotel in London
#256 Luxury Hotel in London
#272 Family Hotel in London
#316 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. Within walking distance of Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stations and a literal stone's throw from multiple bus stops, you'll find it easy to get from the hotel to wherever it is you wish to visit in central London. What's more, you have the luxury of two of London's finest public parks just across the road from the hotel entrance - perfect for a morning stroll, weekend picnic, or letting the kids run off all the excitement of a holiday in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London, England
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing