We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal hotel in central London... a pleasure to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Stafford London
Ranked #24 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ideal hotel in central London... a pleasure to stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

A trip to London normally means business and a multi-national corporate hotel. This time the trip was personal (Royal Opera House and shopping) so I decided to treat myself to something different.

From beginning to end, my stay at the Stafford was first class. The staff (especially the conceirge and in the American Bar) were by far the most polite and courteous I have ever experienced in a hotel and in London. The room, although slightly small, was ideal for me as a single traveller; quiet and cool it was lovely to come back to after a night at the opera. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of storage space (and hangers).

The location is ideal, only five minutes walk into the centre of London with Green Park tube station very close by. And if you need a taxi, the porters will go out to the main street to fetch one for you... even in the pouring rain!

The complimentary newspaper was also available at the weekend (how many hotels do this!). Breakfast was probably the best I have had in a hotel and had great selection available.

On checkout, I discovered that there had been a communication problem between my travel agent and the hotel regarding extras included in my booking (complimentary breakfast and a credit for food in the restaurant/bar) which resulted in a higher than expected final statement. On production of my booking confirmation sheet, the hotel agreed to honour what I had expected to pay for, which meant that they lost out financially. It wasn't a large amount of money but I wouldn't expect many hotels (especially in London) to agree so readily to do this!

Would I return to the Stafford? Most definitely.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forthill81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    148
    46
    16
    7
See reviews for
217
439
73
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

Spent 10 nights at the Stafford in July 09.
Very quiet and relaxed hotel, yet in the heart of London, with access to all of the capital, via Green Park tube. Though we walked everywhere. Visited Borough Market, Canary Wharf and all the usual sights.
When you come back to the hotel, it is with a sense of delight, that you will get peace to enjoy the rest of the evening. Free Wifi and good TV channels, all of Sky Sports channels plus the business channels. Read or sleep - all possible with peace.
What did we not like? Really there was nothing I can complain about. Anything we asked for was delivered immediately. The rooms are beautifully furnished. Some may be a bit smaller than rooms in the US or other cities. But this is London, and as far as I am concerned this is the city where it all happens. The bathroom was very large with a walk in shower and a bath. Towels were always hot and very comfy.

Been to London twice a year for the last twenty years and this is the hotel I have been looking for. Going to go back? Yes!! August 09.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank davidG2772SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

The Stafford oozes class and makes for a perfect weekend break. The moment your taxi draws up outside and a courteous doorman opens the taxi door and takes charge of your luggage you know you are staying at a hotel where guests' needs are paramount. At every turn there were helpful, professional staff and we were given an unhurried tour of the hotel before being shown to our (upgraded) room. The heating/air conditioning worked very effectively and though the room had double glazing, this was scarcely necessary to keep out the noise because there simply wasn't any. Despite being in the very heart of London (2 minutes from St James Palace, 3 minutes from Fortnum and Masons) tranquillity is guaranteed due to the fact that the Stafford sits at the end of a mews terrace. The room was beautifully appointed with a superbly comfortable bed - so wide I think the bedside tables were in different postcodes - and the bathroom was elegant marble with extremely fluffy towels and bathrobes and quality Floris toiletries. Room service was excellent, tea and coffee arriving almost instantly and served from stylish pots into bone china cups. A rose in the vase on the tray is a simple touch which was noted and appreciated.

We ate in the American bar and it certainly lives up to its billing. It was convivial with excellent food but the main restaurant looked equally appealing and proved to be so because that is where we had breakfast next morning. Yes, you can get a much cheaper breakfast in the arcade round the corner but you pay for the style as well as the substance and the Stafford has both in spades. In some ways the Stafford reminds me of a scene from Miss Marple with its elegant yet homely atmospere but this is to ignore the fact that the hotel has also firmly embraced the 21st century with Bose CD players and free internet connections. There really is nothing to fault with the hotel; it is expensive but it's worth it. We will surely return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beauchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

On a whim, my partner and I stayed at the Stafford this weekend, selecting a mews suite (approx £1200 per night.)

The suite itself was of an excellent size, pleasantly furnished and well-maintained. The living room was somewhat too small for the amount of furniture and, really strangely, only one of the bathroom's two sinks was supplied with toiletries.

We were advised on arrival that the restaurant required gentlemen to wear a jacket. A pompous attitude in the 21st Century, and I noticed in passing that there were few restaurant patrons. Quite right!

Aside from a few minor oddities (DVD player in the bedroom but none in the living room; a hallway almost larger than the living room) and the most mediocre breakfast I've been served in an alleged 5-star, no major complaints. But, on the whole, the Sofitel provides superior comfort minus the attitude, and the Stafford is not somewhere I would rush back to.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

Like a country house retreat in the centre of London, so quiet you would have no idea you were so close to bustling Piccadilly, which was great as we were able to stroll to the theatre. I was only here for one night, but I found the hotel to be very welcoming and the staff friendly and helpful.
The decor is very traditional, so if you are a lover of the modern look, I wouldn't recommend it, if you prefer traditional you will absolutely love it. The room is cosy and the beds are huge and ridiculously comfortable.
But be warned - their famous martinis are absolutely lethal...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CloudPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

My wife and I decided on a weekend trip to London to celebrate our 32nd Annivesary. We saw a review on the Stafford on a TV travel show and decided to try it. From the moment we arrived when Richard the manager said "welcome home" we felt this was something special. We were fortunate to be upgraded from a queen double to a king double.. The room was light and airy with plenty of cupboard and drawer space. The public rooms are beautiful especially the American Bar where we ate on more than 1 occasion over the 3 days. We asked Richard about the wine cellar where the American and Canadian officer sheltered in the blitz during Worls War II. He offered to take us down to view this 380 year old store. A museum has been set up with items of memorbilia which were extremely interesting. no sooner had we told the receptionist that we were celebrating, a cake appeared in out room. Even the bellman offered to walk us accross the road to show us the shortcut to Green PArk. They just seemed to want to go that extra mile. I will certainly go back when I next stay in London.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JONBAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

Can't disagree with any of the glowing reviews elsewhere on the page. We were only in town for a weekend, so thought we'd treat ourselves; and the Stafford proved well worth it. Welcoming staff, extremely well-appointed room (especially after finding we'd received an unexpected upgrade) and brilliant location. Can't comment on the food, as we had dinner plans of our own on the Saturday, and had our Sunday breakfast round the corner at the Wolseley (also highly recommended). Something to look forward to next time!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopicalTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#87 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#128 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#30 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,353 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#20 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Property: The Stafford London
Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in London
#24 Luxury Hotel in London
#25 Family Hotel in London
#52 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stafford London is a leading five star hotel in London and defines all that is quintessentially British. Located in the historical neighbourhood of St James's, it is set in a discreet and prestigious location beside the Royal Green Park. Opened as a hotel in 1912 and rich in history since the 1700s, it offers luxurious rooms and dining with an award winning, personalised guest service. The famous American Bar with floor to ceiling memorabilia and 380-year-old wine cellars are a sight to behold. Make sure to ask for a tour of the cellars and the in-house museum; the wine cellars doubled as a bomb shelter during WWII. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stafford London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing