We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Stafford London
Ranked #29 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We went to London to relax and enjoy the sights and sounds of London Town. We surely picked the right place to stay. This is a luxury hotel at the top of its game. We stayed over Christmas and the carriage house was decked to the nines. The food is superb, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. My wife and I enjoyed ourselves tremendously. We liked the fact that The Stafford is in central London, but it is hidden away- so you truly get the feeling of being in the country when you walk through the courtyard. I would highly recommend THE STAFFORD!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnskylar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotel, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Johnskylar,

Thank for telling us about your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely yours,

Christine Hodder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    151
    46
    19
    6
See reviews for
221
446
74
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
352 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a small traditional boutique hotel. The hotel is really very good, well maintained and very clean. Lots of staff. Attracts an older clientele. Food good but expensive. Hotel accommodation is also expensive. . Plumbing an ongoing negative issue. The rooms are very well appointed. Great position and location. Close to busy tube station. Concierge alwaysommewhat snobbish.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manunited45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotel over the Christmas period. The room was a little on the small side but adequate. Staff really friendly yet professional. I love that this hotel is a little secret hideaway in central London on a quiet street. The food though is fabulous. They have a new chef, and it's a vast improvement on the previous incumbent. Beautifully presented and top-end quality; I will be returning to dine when not staying in the hotel, for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel itself is nice with polite staff. But the rooms are tiny & overpriced. We had a room on the 6th floor with no view to speak of. The bathroom drains smelled terribly whenever taps were opened. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotel, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Chanch,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback and while we are delighted to hear your positive comments about the staff, we are sorry that you also had some disappointing comments to make. We very much appreciate you being our guest and I am truly concerned to hear about your experience during the visit. Please accept our sincere apologies. Rest assured we have taken your comments on board and I would like to get in touch to discuss this further with you, if you are able to send your contact details to my assistant on sarah.pendrigh@kempinski.com . I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy a guest experience that truly reflects the service we provide.

Sincerely yours,

Christine Hodder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
186 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on business mid-week and found it to be a very good hotel right by St James' Park.

I didn't have too much interaction with the staff but what I did have was very good both at check-in and at breakfast (continental breakfast was fine but the choice wasn't astonishing) where the service was very good.

I also sat in the bar for a while which was pleasant and, again, service is very good although it was pretty pricey and it was very busy and I'm not sure whether the clientele were guests or just well-heeled locals - everyone seemed to be suited and booted.

I was also a little surprised at how many bar tables had 'reserved' signs on them. I didn't know people reserved tables in a hotel bar.

My room was excellent, decent size for a London room and well appointed - nothing I could complain about there.

The only thing that I can't comment on is the price as someone else picked up the tab for me but I suspect it's pricey based on where it is and that might be the only thing that might stop me staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Outstanding location but the intransigence and arrogance of the hotel management ruins it. Mostly obnoxious yanks stay at this hotel. Stay away. Rooms are tiny, food mediocre, service is lousy and way, way over priced

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank azeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Azeemer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate you being our guest and I am truly concerned to hear about your experience during the visit. Please accept our sincere apologies. Rest assured we have taken your comments on board and I would like to get in touch to discuss this further with you, if you are able to send your contact details to my assistant on sarah.pendrigh@kempinski.com . I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy a guest experience that truly reflects the service we provide.

Sincerely yours,

Christine Hodder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framlingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I can't fault this hotel (well only that they modernised the American bar so it lost its atmosphere. This bar has many memories for me.) I have been coming here for decades and it continues to be pure pleasure. It is small, superbly located, with personal attention from the staff and luxurious rooms (on the small side by international standards). I always have smoked haddock and poached egg for breakfast and this time was better than ever. I got a better room rate this time than the last occasion a couple of years back and for the standard of the hotel it really wasn't expensive. I was cautious about the "Kempinski" name which it has gained since I was last there but I needn't have worried.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#85 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#126 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Property: The Stafford London
Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in London
#25 Family Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
#52 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of historic St James’s, and just minutes from London’s iconic landmarks and vibrant West End, The Stafford London is one of the finest luxury hotels in the Capital. Luxuriate in the stunning individually designed rooms and suites, dine in cool sophistication in The Game Bird and relax with a cocktail in the renowned American Bar. Our stylish rooms and suites are guaranteed to help you relax. The Main House, is a blend of Victorian grandeur and modern comfort, while the Carriage House offers a unique, countryside ambiance in the heart of London. The Mews Suites and Penthouse offer classic, contemporary elegance and the comfort and discretion of your own private residence at one of London’s most prestigious addresses. The Game Bird restaurant is a contemporary tale about relaxed dining at any time of the day. A place to eat, drink and socialise, the focus is on modern British comfort cooking executed with style and panache, all wrapped in a seductive ambience that oozes cool sophistication. For a more relaxed atmosphere, visit The American Bar, where every available wall and surface is crammed with an intriguing collection of artefacts, knick-knacks and signed celebrity photographs donated by patrons and guests over the years. Open daily from 8am, enjoy a casual breakfast or lunch or simply soak up the history and relax with one of our speciality cocktails. There is even a private cobbled courtyard so you can enjoy outdoor dining at any time of day. Experience unrivalled luxury in one of London’s most historic and quintessentially English five-star hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stafford London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing