We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional, quality, London hotel done well!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stafford London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stafford London
Ranked #24 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Traditional, quality, London hotel done well!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel, in a traditional style.

All of the elements of service, etc that you expect from a 5* hotel, on a smaller scale with a feeling of exclusivety.

Lovely rooms with space and plenty of storage - small niggle would be size of shower cubicle.

Very good service. Great breakfast. American bar is a London tradition for those in the know.

A great alternative to the big name establishments in London, in a great location.

Enjoyed the 4 night stay very much.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DB_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    147
    46
    16
    6
See reviews for
210
434
71
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

From the moment you sit down to check in until the moment you leave, this was just perfect. Quick service, quick room service, a cup of tea, yes it's not expensive or much, but arriving in pouring rain, a bit early, ten minutes waiting with a cup of tea is just what you need, before getting your room. The doorman could be a little bit lighter on his feet, and that is the absolutely only thing, and that is if I'm really picky. Excellent stay. Perfect location for shopping as well. Hope to be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBC6246ZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

we stayed here for 6 nights recently. From the moment we arrived we enjoyed superb service and attention from ALL the staff there - not just certain individuals. Our room was wonderful. Lots of storage space and surfaces - which we needed as we were shopping madly in the week before Christmas! The hotel was decorated beautifully for Christmas - so cosy and twinkly with trees and fir cones galore. We enjoyed 2 nights at the American Bar - great cocktails, lots of memorabilia and a great ambience. Breakfast was really good too. And we really enjoyed the location - close to Bond Street and Piccadilly.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for something traditional, homely, friendly and convenient. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for in London. It's location was perfect, convienent to just about everything. We could walk most anywhere to shop or eat in minutes. The rooms were luxurious and comfortable. Very old world and yet with all of the contemporary amenities.
Staff was superb and we more than accommodating! Breakfast and dinner was very good.
We will return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fashionperspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Situated in a quiet enclave off St James Park this is a gem of a hotel. We stayed one night in a deluxe room. The room was very nice with a large and extremely comfortable bed. The staff in all areas of the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The lady who freshened our room after we left for the evening deserves special mention for her attention to detail. Breakfast was very good with an extensive choice and attentive service. It was a delightful place to stay and I would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamsfamily22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Stafford has long been one of the smartest hotels in London. Very well located in St James, it has a wonderful setting and ambiance. Great welcome. Very comfortable rooms and one of the finest bars in London. It is not cheap. That said, it is surprising, perhaps, that there are no tea or coffee facilities in the room, no trouser press and the lighting in the room was very poor for someone with bad eyesight. No doubt, management would argue that all we had to do was to ring for whatever we wanted - and I am sure that that would have been the case, but there are times when one just wants some privacy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had a very short, but very sweet stay at The Stafford last week, and I am sure that it won't be the last.

From start to finish all the staff seemed to want to go that 'extra mile' in delivering the high quality of service that you would expect from a hotel at this level - and they did it in such an unassuming way that it made us feel as if we were regular guests, even though this was our first visit.

The hotel - public areas and bedrooms are superb, and could not be faulted at all.

The consistency and the attention to detail were spot on, whether in the breakfast room, the lounge or the American Bar and they were even flying the Stars and Stripes on Thanksgiving Day!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#94 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#125 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#30 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#22 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,293 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#11 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Property: The Stafford London
Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in London
#24 Luxury Hotel in London
#25 Family Hotel in London
#52 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stafford London is a leading five star hotel in London and defines all that is quintessentially British. Located in the historical neighbourhood of St James's, it is set in a discreet and prestigious location beside the Royal Green Park. Opened as a hotel in 1912 and rich in history since the 1700s, it offers luxurious rooms and dining with an award winning, personalised guest service. The famous American Bar with floor to ceiling memorabilia and 380-year-old wine cellars are a sight to behold. Make sure to ask for a tour of the cellars and the in-house museum; the wine cellars doubled as a bomb shelter during WWII. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stafford London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing