We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stafford London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stafford London
Ranked #26 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a friendly and elegant hotel tucked away in the centre of London. We were wonderfully well looked after - the staff are delightful. The location is excellent in a peaceful street in one of the nicest areas, a short walk from all the activity in the heart of London and we warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank You for your delightful review!

As you have mentioned, we are located in London's prime location surrounded by sophistication and allure of St James's area and the tranquil settings of Green Park and Buckingham Palace, which is just a short walk away from the hotel. Our team prides itself in ensuring that our guests enjoyed every part of their stay and I am thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed our service.

We hope to welcome you back to The Stafford very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    144
    43
    16
    6
See reviews for
198
407
70
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

what do you say..kempinski is becoming a known name for luxury and consistancy ...great stay , pleasant staff. Room sizes are as expected in UK but still very comfortable......The location is wonderful

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank You very much for you kind review!

As you have noted, Kempinski is the oldest luxury hotel company in Europe, dating back to 1897, it is modern with in its ideas and established in tradition which The Stafford has encompassed with its existing elegance and history combined.

I am thrilled that you found your stay comfortable in combination with convenient location. On behalf of the Stafford team, we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had one of the most memorable nights of my life in the Stafford's cellar with a friend, Gino Nardella (a master sommelier (one of sixty in the world)), and around 16,000 bottles of wine.

Gino of course is indisputably one of the capos of the wine tasting, if not the capo di tutti cappi, and was a fantastic teacher and story teller of the three wines we sampled (French, Spanish, and South African). We spent a good two hours tasting the wine, touring the wine cellar and asking Gino an innumerable number of questions.

The hotel also offered some canapes (salmon on bread, pate on toast and tempura prawns) to help clear the palette between gulps and they were suitable, tasty and well balanced bite sizes pieces in themselves.

Finally we retired to the lounge with the rest of the wine and were served some bar snacks as well as some water by the very friendly waiting staff.

Whether you are a wine novice or expert I would say this is an experience you will enjoy and remember forever. I don't think there is anywhere this side of the Channel that can really offer such a wine experience.

From now on, every time I raise a glass I will remember Gino and the enthusiasm and inspiration that he has instilled into me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butcher89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank You very much for your kind review of the Stafford Wine Cellars!

Our wine cellar is indeed very unique not only to the St James's but to the city of London, as it is steeped in 380-years of history and has the talented Master Sommelier, Mr Gino Nardella ,who turns every glass of wine into a journey and, as you have kindly noted, creates a memorable experience for our guests.

Our Executive Chef will be thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed the canapés, as they are tailored to each and every wine tasting and I sincerely hope you will return to stay at The Stafford very soon and to experience the rest of our outlets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was my third overnight stay at the Stafford. Hopefully I'll find another excuse to stay again. The staff have mastered that wonderful combination of friendly, caring, & professional. The location is wonderfully quiet yet perfect for walking into the West End, Covent Garden, or shopping Mayfair... The interior design is warm, comfortable, & of the highest quality. A stay at The Stafford is a real treat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank You for such wonderful review!

We are delighted that you have been returning to the Stafford and I am very pleased to know that you have enjoyed the personal approach of our team! We do indeed have a very central location, yet the hotel is very tranquil and allows our guests to escape the hustle and bustle of the city.

I sincerely hope you will find another excuse to enjoy our warm atmosphere at The Stafford very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight in this really delightful hotel! Very friendly welcome, pretty room with every conceivable extra, luxurious bed and linen and toiletries. Delicious breakfast. Tremendous attention to detail and super location. Will definitely return as soon as we can! Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sparkler666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank You for your kind review!

Our Executive Housekeeper prides herself with sourcing only the best possible British toiletries and linen and we are delighted that you have appreciated their quality. Our Food and Beverage team strives to deliver only the best of service, and we believe one of the most important aspects of luxury service is to be detail orientated, as you have kindly stated in your review.

We hope it will not be too long until you return to The Stafford as we are thrilled to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Stafford in April of last year for a long weekend. We had a fabulous stay from the moment we arrived until check-out. We stayed in a carriage house which had a lot of character and looked absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast was delivered to our room every morning on time and presentation was always lovely.

we look forward to staying at the stafford again and again!

Thank you to the whole team for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelstyle060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review!

it is delightful to learn that you have appreciated the quality of our service and enjoyed your stay in our unique Carriage House rooms. Our Executive Housekeeper will be thrilled to learn that you liked the design and our Room Service team is very happy that your breakfast was enjoyable!

We sincerely hope you to welcome you back to the Stafford for many more long weekends to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Stafford London is a wonderful hotel. From entry we were made to feel welcome, all staff are friendly and accommodating! The room was also lovely! Location is great as this hotel is pretty central you can mainly walk everywhere or a tube is just around the corner too. I found no faults with this hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xlbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your brilliant feedback!

As you have mentioned, we are very lucky being in the heart of St James's, adjacent to Green Park, and our team is thrilled by your comments as they pride themselves in ensuring that our guests are always exceeded.

We very much hope to welcome you back 'home' to The Stafford very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#87 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#124 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#29 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#24 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#22 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Property: The Stafford London
Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in London
#25 Family Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
#52 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stafford London is a leading five star hotel in London and defines all that is quintessentially British. Located in the historical neighbourhood of St James's, it is set in a discreet and prestigious location beside the Royal Green Park. Opened as a hotel in 1912 and rich in history since the 1700s, it offers luxurious rooms and dining with an award winning, personalised guest service. The famous American Bar with floor to ceiling memorabilia and 380-year-old wine cellars are a sight to behold. Make sure to ask for a tour of the cellars and the in-house museum; the wine cellars doubled as a bomb shelter during WWII. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stafford London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing