We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, London
Ranked #50 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel this month and had a wonderful time.
We stayed in one of the club rooms. On arrival we had priority check-in at a separate reception where we were attended to immediately, staff in the club lounge made us a coffee and gave us access to the breakfast buffet on offer. We were shown to our room, the staff carried our luggage.
We had treatments booked in the Chaun Spa in the afternoon, would recommend the Body Elements package. The therapists were very respectful, dignified and very thorough. The jacuzzi, pool and sauna is also very lovely. There is complimentary coffee/tea/juice and fruit available in the spa. Also the most amazing rainfall showers in the changing rooms!!!
In the evening we ate in the Palm Court restaurant, it was absolutely beautiful, gorgeous food, good value for money with a pianist and double bass player providing entertainment. The atmosphere was very relaxing, staff very attentive and could not fault the food. After dinner we drank in the bar in the hotel. Again staff were very attentive, there was a bit of a wait for some basil to go in my cocktail so we were given a glass of complimentary champagne whilst we waited. We were sat down in the bar shortly after by the staff and crisps and nuts were provided whilst we drank.
In the morning we enjoyed breakfast in the Roux restaurant. I had continental and then the pancakes!! The food was delicious and surroundings beautiful.
Overall after my essay we would highly recommend this hotel and definitely stay here again. Superb location and the whole experience was truly memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilettalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,223
    564
    150
    53
    32
See reviews for
597
1,188
125
602
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at the Langham and it was amazing.
The grandeur of the hotel itself was worth the money. Service throughout is wonderful, the room is clean and very comfortable. The hotel has thought of everything, the gym, sauna and spa are all fantastic. Breakfast was good as was the ambience and service at palm court.
I'd reccommend this hotel to anyone who feels like a treat!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bal_and_Amrit_Sembi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stopped at The Langham on the last leg of our Honeymoon and were not disappointed.

Truely a beautiful 5* hotel. From the moment we arrived, staff were friendly and helpful, from the bell boys, to the receptionist and cleaner.

Our room was constantly kept clean and the turn down service was always done at a suitable time.

The small touches such as the fresh roses in the lobby and the decorative mirrors in the lift all help to make this hotel.

Don't question whether you should book this hotel. Just book it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

A great hotel for a special occasion or treat for someone, especially if the recipient likes pink! The hotel when you enter has fantastic flower displays and smells incredible, we saw the florists in the morning re-doing all the vases in incredible detail. We had an executive room which was great, very peaceful, big bathroom and one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in! Had lunch in the Roux which was amazing, it takes a lot to impress me now when dining out but they did, the food and the service was some of the best we have ever had, Albert and Michael should be proud! Breakfast in the Roux was brilliant as well. I was recommended the hotel which is why I booked it and I recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel in London, close to everything, walking distance to the west end, liberty, shopping all around and the BBC building opposite where you will always spot someone you recognise from the TV or radio walking in and out. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Dropped into the Langham for a post work drink on a Friday evening and was not disappointed. The bar was very busy (to be expected) but managed to steal a seat at the bar. Unsure of what I fancied I asked the barman to recommend a cocktail, to which he asked what I fancied. He then mixed the most delicious gin based cocktail I have ever had, garnished with half a passion fruit and a glitter covered leaf. Olives and nuts were great also. The bar staff are undeniably professional and friendly - with one pouring a lit brandy into a glass from an unnerving height. The atmosphere is cosy yet vibrant, filled with media folks wearing Oliver Peoples glasses. A true pleasure.

The only downside was that one of my companions was asked to sign when paying with a card. (With one cloned card under her belt due to this happening in a very smart restaurant in London in the past, she was rather suspicious). On enquiring, the friendly red headed manageress(?) couldn't do enough to investigate - and with no unusual transactions on the card in question since, it proved to be legit!

Overall, the bar is a lovely and exciting place to go, but be aware you may not get a table! Will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ST404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Getting to hotel was quick and no messing about. Express train from Heathrow to Paddington, hop into a cab and 10pounds later you're at the amazing Langham London hotel. Staff very helpful, checks you in and gave us a map that made us realise we didn't make the wrong decision for staying here because the location is so central. Very close to Oxford Circus metro entrance, supermarkets, shopping and food. Room was the best out of all the 5star hotels we stayed in during our trip. Spacious, very clean, bathroom was fresh & functional. Please do keep offering your guests a kettle. Other 5star hotels don't seem to have this nowadays. Handy when you just need a cuppa. Best of all not even a whisper from the air conditioning when you sleep. The bed ohhhh.... the Best! I just wished we booked to stay longer.

Room Tip: Request level 4 and upwards. Outward facing. All rooms are very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank typhoon988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I love the staff's personal touches and attention to detail at The Langham. Roux at the Landau restaurant served us magnificent food and we had fun people watching in the Artisan bar for a couple of hours - indulging in their delicious cocktails. However, on this stay we unfortunately got an old mattress with a very big dip in it. I didn't notice too much when I first got into bed as housekeeping had disguised it with a feather mattress topper, but during the night as the feathers flattened I got very uncomfortable and had to resort to placing a pillow under the bottom sheet to fill-in the dip in the mattress. I can see from other reviews that some people have been given recently refurbished rooms, and so I can only draw the conclusion that we were in a room that was desperately in need of this! My tip would be to ensure that when booking you specifically ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms, as I think sleep quality is important and it will help you to get the most out of your stay at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALittleBitSpoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langham08, Manager at The Langham, London, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review The Langham, London and for contacting us directly with your feedback. I hope you have received my email and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours sincerely,
Jane Lyons – Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#55 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#52 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Marylebone
The Landmark London
The Landmark London
#43 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#65 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#45 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,199 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, London

Property: The Langham, London
Address: 1c Portland Place | Regent Street, London W1B 1JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in London
#25 Business Hotel in London
#33 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Family Hotel in London
#49 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, London 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, London has been delighting guests with gracious hospitality since it opened in 1865. Exuding a timeless elegance, this London hotel offers impeccably luxurious surroundings on Regent Street, one of the city's premier locations close to many local attractions and popular shopping destinations. Guest will be delighted with Artesian, the World's Best Bar as voted for by Drinks International, Palm Court, famed as the birthplace of afternoon tea, and Roux at The Landau with menus created in collaboration with celebrity chefs Albert and Michel Roux. Complimentary to hotel guests, enjoy use of Chuan Spa featuring a state-of-the-art gymnasium and a 16 meter swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, London Hotel London
Langham Hotel London
The Langham, London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing